Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cairo

Message to Desert Rose Hotel Management

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Nice Hotel in general, but need an action
Cons: the loyalty program has to be revisited to consider repeated guest not I have to go for 15 time to start benefit from the program
Location: the location is great, closed to the high way road to Cairo, Hurghada Airport, Safaga , Sinzo Mall, shops are directly across the street
The External area between the gate & the main building looks good, with nice shaded free of charge parking, but it need some upgrading; The Main building looks good, but not a lobby for 5 stars Hotel; The landscape and swimming pools are great; however the aqua park is not for free and this was not mentioned on the web site. WIFI is not for free as claimed EGP 30 for 30 min; Recreation & animation team are good, polite, nice, and energetic; The Hotel rooms are wide and big, but it needs some cosmetic changes to fit for 5 stars hotel; Housekeeping is very weak, you have to ask for re-fillers i.e. toilet rolls, not as extra, but the regular that to be at the paper roll dispenser, shampoo, shower gel, paper tissue, and then they can response with all or with what the housekeeping staff can afford. The restaurant is very big, food always available & variable, nice taste, only they have to ensure that the main disk meat is well cooked, but I general I liked eating at the Palm (Main restaurant); Some of the waiters are not nice and not dealing with the guest gently; The coffee quality is low, tea, and other hot drinks are OK; The beach looks fine, and clean, but I believe it need more soft sand , the sea water at the hotel is good, but I believe it might need minor control. The front office manager (Mr. Omar) gives a promise, but he didn't fulfill nor regrets that he cannot do. The Hotel manager is energetic and always walks around the hotel to inspect or comment on issues .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Amer, thank you very much for your very useful review, as we promised you over the phone we investigated all the points, we would like to ensure to you that both of our WIFI and Aqua-park services are totally free of charge and we are apologizing for any miss-communicated or unofficial information stating otherwise, we also promise you to do our best taking care of all the other points hoping to see you again at our resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

hotel stay

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: staff are friendly
Just returned back form the the resort on 9/26. Hotel is big, many swimming pools. I have to say staff were very nice, but here are some issues I didn't like, A- buffet dinner you can't find a seat, because of the Russian invasion. B- Dinner was ok, not 5 stars quality( meat like rubber). C: Club room size is ok, but nt great , TV is so small with no good reception. D- Hard to have a dinner in their other restaurant outlet, always full. guest relation couldn't help despite you can see empty seats. Overall, if you are looking for relaxing environment, this this not the resort. they cater only for Russians.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Adel, thank you for your valued review and we do promise you to do our best to change the mentioned points, hoping to see you again at our resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Egypt

not bad, close to beach, and nice aqua

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: food and room cleanliness
Cons: animation team performance
Location: Location is good and close to beach
Overall experience was not bad but there was a way more expected for what is paid for it. Besides, this hotel is not for couples at all but might be good for families. Basic facilities that should be available within the package were not for free as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Fady, thank you very much for your very useful review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ahmedfrom Cairo, Egypt

Very nice Hotel and very supportive staff

Posted May 5, 2014
I was in Honeymoon and I spent amazing time there with my wife. i hope i could travel there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ahmed, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again at our resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alfiyafrom Den Haag

Nice hotel with one minus point

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Everything was nice, the location, beach, animation team. A lot to do for adults and kids. The only minus was food. The same limited choice everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by heidi hansenfrom danmark

fantastik sted

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
desert rose er et dejligt hotel. en skam der kun kommer russer til hotellet. har absolut ingenting at klage over. minibar var inkl med 1½l vand hver dag og hver 2. to sodavand, to juice, to danskvand. personale altid flink og hjælpsom. vil helt klar anbefale det til andre.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Lovely - but definately not 5 star

Posted Jun 25, 2010
The Desert Rose is a lovely hotel but it is not 5 star, even by Egyptian standards. At best, I would give this a 3 star rating. It is very clean and the staff are friendly, however it is very basic and does not provide a 5 star level of service - instead offering plastic cups and chipped plates in the dining room and the bars serving drinks in paper cups. Most of the guests are Russian and we appeared to be the only English couple in the hotel (I think we were the only Western Europeans visitors) which proved to be a bit of a talking point with the staff who were keen to try out their English and discuss the World Cup! Whilst this was charming, it was also a little annoying being interrupted over dinner to discuss Wayne Rooney! Overall, this was a clean, basic hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing 10 days by the pool, as we were, it is value for money but if you are looking for 5 star trimmings you will need to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom istanbul

Would be super for kids

Posted Oct 1, 2008
I spent 6 nights in D.R.R with my girlfriend but the whole time I was there I dreamed about bringing my 8 year old daughter the next time. Big and clean pools, lovely beach and very kind staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom roma, italia

da evitare

Posted Aug 24, 2008
il mare fa schifo, ma solo in questa zona nel resto di hurgada e` meraviglioso. si mangia malissimo e annaffiano i giardini con acqua di fogna quindi c`e` puzza in tutto il villaggio
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom annemasse, France

avril 2007 : nous ne sommes pas fait pour le all include

Posted Apr 24, 2007
loin d'hurghada 15 kms sans navette et peu de choses à faire autour de l'hôtel. 3 piscines spendides + lagon. restauration : buffet bien fourni, mais environnement très ordinaire et boissons pas du tout à notre goût.