Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wilmette, IL

Pleasant but pricey, not for families

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Being semi-secluded, it's low on traffic noise. But it's easy to get to.
Cons: More for the younger set, including a free breakfast.
Location: Route 250 to the west is a reasonably quick drive. It's the main drag to Cedar Point and chock full of fast food restaurants.
While the fake wilderness lodge decor is reminiscent of Great Wilderness Lodge, there's no indoor waterpark, no arcade, no hot tub, and no free breakfast. The Sawmill's target audience appears to be retired adults, not families. They offer tennis, golfing, a pool, a ping pong table, and a game room with a billiard table but no arcade. There's a pricey restaurant but for more kid-friendly fare you need to head to a few miles to Rte 250. When pricing, remember to add the daily resort tax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean resort hotel with pool and golf course

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great hotel w great access to all amenities in Huron and Sandusky.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
stayed in the Ottawa room #1413, very outdated, wet carpet, smelled terrible, slept under the sheets with the air conditioning and window open!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Toledo, Oh

Nice hotel by the beach.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice. Breakfast buffet was awesome! Night entertainment in small tavern connected was good.
Cons: Rooms could definitely be updated.
Location: Pretty location next to Lake Erie so lake type activities. It is a ferry ride away from Put-in-Bay. Cedar Point Amusement Park and antiques +shops.
We stayed 1 night for a wedding. Accommodations are good for a short stay.
3 out of 5
by Notgonna from Columbus Ohio

Not exactly a "resort"

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful. The ability to have multiple dining options within walking distance, and a golf course made the weekend enjoyable.
Cons: The air conditioner was extremely loud. The room layout was horrible - we had to move the bed to watch the TV.
We booked Sawmill Creek for a last-minute weekend getaway to the lake. The pictures online looked good and the reviews were pretty positive, but it certainly didn't live up to our expectations. Despite booking the "deluxe executive" room, it was small and minimal. It felt more like a motel room than a resort room. The amenities (pool, etc.) were fine. The staff was friendly and attentive. The trip to the beach is nothing to be taken lightly - we made the mistake of walking it, and wished we hadn't. I have to believe there are better lodging options in the area for the money.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from Chicago suburbs

Nice place but, oww, my back aches

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Replace the mattresses. If possible, double rooms should be two queens.
Location: My wife said the on location shop had some nice, reasonably priced jewelry. I didn't try it but the golf course looked like a good time.
My wife and daughter and I needed a place to hang out before the Oberlin College graduation and this looked fun. Indeed, it has great amenities--a beach on Lake Erie, two nice pools, nicely maintained grounds. The restaurant was fine and the people who worked there are friendly. There's a ping pong table and a pool table, too. The price was right. The room itself seemed recently re-done and was very clean. So what's the problem? There's something wrong with the mattresses. I woke up in the middle of the night in serious pain, as did my wife. The quality, I suspect, is terrible and the double beds themselves seem undersized. I ended up sleeping in the floor from about 3 a.m. on. Too bad. Saw Creek really has a lot going for it. But who would return to a hotel where you can't sleep...?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Wonderful time with my wife and great seraray gjtivgojhugdghgjgth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from WV

Very clean..beautiful public areas with fireplaces

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Food on sight----live music on Saturday night. Very pleasant staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Nice rooms. Clean, good breakfast

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Quick overnight stay. Would recommend over a Super 8 any day of the week.