Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom staffs

Excellent stay as a guest of a wedding

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Used hotel for wedding reception as a guest
Excellent location comfortable room with all facilities only downside was that I thought breakfast was included in the price of the room do think £15 is a little expense for breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Excellent hotel in a nice, country setting wit an

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Its position and its attuitude to its customers. The cuisine in The Dovecote restaurant was first class.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's within easy reach of Derby and a number of famous stately homes. We visited the steam railway at Butterley and at Swanwick Junction.Good value.
Our one-night stay was memorable for the outstanding facilities and the helpfulness of the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice standard of hotel - good standard overall.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Decor, furnishings.
Cons: Our air conditioning was fairly ineffective. Between midnight and 8am, hardly any cool air came out of the blower, so I wonder if it gets turned off.
A good hotel, that I would probably recommend overall given local alternatives. However ineffective air conditioning, meant we didn't sleep well. Breakfast order to room took 4 visits until it was correct and it meant we were over an hour late with breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hayley

Fabulous hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Friendly staff, lovely room, overall I beautiful place and we will definitely be visiting again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lord Dfrom Geneva

Relaxing weekend away

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The full English 'Derbyshire' breakfast.
Location: On the northern outskirts of Derby, the Hotel has an excellent golf course, driving range and Fitness centre.
Well appointed rooms, excellent food and all staff could not have been more charming and helpful, a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2013
beautiful room, lovely staff ... nothing you could improve on have already recommended the hotel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbarafrom Yorkshire

Superb place for a wedding.

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Leaving
Location: Set in beautiful gardens surrounded by a golf course.
Staff very helpful. We rang and asked if we could have our room early to get ready for our sons wedding at the hotel and our room was ready at 11am, wonderful. The wedding was a fantastic day, the food amazing, the whole stay superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simonfrom Middlewich, Cheshire

Great hotel and wedding venue!

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: Comfortable and pleasant atmosphere - the staff are excellent
Cons: The sink taps - but I'm very fussy
Location: It's a quiet and rural location and has a golf course around it
My sister and her husband arranged to have their wedding here, so this review covers the hotel (as I stayed overnight) and the wedding in the De Ferrers suite. Hotel first: It's quiet and comfortable, with well-furnished good quality rooms that include a useful desk and a settee. The bed is huge and the bathroom is well-fitted and clean - the only minor issue is that it doesn't have mixer taps in the sink (yes, I know I'm a bit picky!). Breakfast is expensive but good quality, and the dining room is pleasant. Hotel receptionist was especially nice - chatty and friendly. Wedding: Two connected rooms (one for the ceremony, which was quickly converted to a lounge area, and the other for dining) that gave a very cosy and comfortable feel to the event. There are some very modern (and clean) toilets attached. All the food was excellent - tasty, well-presented and served by good staff. Amazingly for a hotel they served real beer (choice of 3) and 2 of them were excellent. Prices were reasonable for such a high quality venue. After the wedding was over, we moved into the Rooster Bar which was very busy but well-staffed and comfortable. I'm beginning to sound like an advert for the place, but believe me it was a relaxing and pleasant experience, so why not?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Couples night away with a game of golf

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Stunning views
Location: Great views of the golf course
Comfortable, warm, clean and great choices for dinner and lunch at Roosters Bar. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely stay again.