Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from Leicester

Great Find!

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was fabulous, a very friendly Reception and we were upgraded to a superior room which was lovely! Would definitely use again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Bit of a time warp

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Staff and a beautiful building - with huge potential. Good location. Management probably excellent.
Cons: Sorry to say but a general update to the current "vogue". Swags 'n' Tails and silk flowers were great at the time but have had their day.
Location: Betty's Tea Rooms!
Let me start by saying that, considering that Ilkley is very "smart" there is a surprising lack of hotels to choose from. Bearing in mind that York and Harrogate are not far away and have a wide choice, this was a bit of a surprise. Ilkley has great restaurants so can't help thinking that a stylish boutique hotel would attract a younger crowd and make a packet! Back to Rombalds .... we were only staying one night as part of a business trip and arrived early evening. The place was deserted apart from one lady on reception who was pleasant and helpful telling us that we had been "upgraded" to a suite (the Bronte Suite). This was fine (basically two interconnecting rooms). The "sitting room" might have been better with a sofa rather than two "armless" arm chairs but it was fine with tea/coffee (some herbal tea would have been nice) and a TV. The bathroom was small and a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean (towels a bit old and scratchy). The hotel restaurant wasn't open but the lady on reception recommended a few places in town to go to (there's a good choice). With an early meeting we opted not to have breakfast - there are plenty of coffee shops in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North of England

A Hotel with character

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Difficult to find fault, staff very obliging; room extremely well presented and well equipped. A hotel with genuine character!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ellen E from Kathmandu

Not a business hotel, lovely people, facilities

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely stay near Ilkley Moor. Unfortunately, I was there on business so would have actually preferred a more typical, dime-a-dozen business hotel. The internet was excellent. I informed the management that they might want to invest in some new pillows as I felt theirs, considering the quality of the hotel, left something to be desired. Don't forget to give some love to Milo the dog who "tends" reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Friendly, clean and a comfortable bed

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, easy to find, friendly staff, good service. I liked that there were extra teabags and fruit on the landing.
Cons: Breakfast was expensive. Advertised a "continental" breakfast but it was basically cereals and fruit with an excellent selection of cooked food.
Location: Ilkley is a lovely old market town with quirky shops and Betty's tearoom (of course) A good base for exploring Ilkley Moor and the surrounding area.
Only stayed for one night and didn't have chance to eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was good - lots of variety and pleasant waitresses. Not a slick, corporate hotel - it had a homely feel and it was lovely to meet Milo the house dog. Warm reception from staff. Our room (number 19) was well equiped - bathrobes were a nice touch and the bed was comfortable. View from the room was not very scenic - we looked over the flat roof and extractor fans but that wasn't a problem as we were only sleeping there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay - again!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Lovely room, food, staff and location.
Location: Beautiful countryside and interesting boutique shopping in ilkley
Have stayed at Rombalds Hotel a number of times and am never disappointed. Lovely hotel and welcoming staff. Look forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by henry

Enjoyed my stay.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Very good hotel but room a bit small for two people and the bed needs a new mattress as springs noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from London

Lovely hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Lovely decor
Excellent location, very near to Ilkley Moor and close to the town centre. Decor in the bedroom and bathroom was lovely. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pickering, North Yorkshire

A Night to Remember

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the welcome, the staff, the comfort, the delicious Dinner and tasty Breakfast.
Cons: A lift for folk like me would be wonderful but in such a building it's not possible. The climb is worth it. Very comfortable with nice touches.
Location: The hotel sits near the edge of Ilkley Moor so good walking country. The town centre is very close and has excellent shops, cafés and so on.
Attended a fantastic private tasting of Vintage Red Burgundy served with an excellent dinner in a charming private room. The menu complimented the wines and began with an individual plate of Canapés . The starter was Jambon Persillie followed by delicious Boeuf Bourguignon served with Silky Mash and Seasonal Vegetables, We then enjoyed a small Cheesebord each, shaped like an artists palette and featuring Epoisse de Bourgogne, Chaource and Langres, each one a point and eaten with French Bread, Celery and Grapes. What a wonderful evening! I slept extremely well in The Bronte Suite and enjoyed a tasty plate of bacon, egg, mushrooms and savoury black pudding before being helped to my car by the owner (I am not too good on my pins!) and waved away after a first class visit. Thank you Expedia! Deirdre Buchanan (Hotelier retired);