Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alanfrom Almondsbury

Ilkley

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant and quirky
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kennethfrom DK

Great atmosphere and dinner

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel with great atmosphere and the 3-course dinner was excellent! Thanks for a nice stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maidenhead

Not Shabby Chic, Just Shabby!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful
Cons: See above, Rooms awful
Craiglands is a wonderful old building which looks great as a building (apart from the extension which is a carbuncle) and has a rich history. However the years and a lack of investment have not been kind. When you are paying close to £100 for a room for the night without breakfast I believe you deserve a room which is better than a low tier B&B. Apart from the bed the fittings were awful from the carpet to curtains to Wardrobe space etc. There was a Radiator on full blast without any means of turning it down. We asked reception who turned it off, however then in the middle of the night it became too cold. Am I expecting too much to expect a room to have basic temperature control? The bathroom had mildew round the bath sealant and the shower head was so old that taking a shower was a joke. If you arrive in the hours of darkness finding the car park is difficult and it can't be accessed from the main entrance (off the roundabout) but from the opposite direction, however then cars coming from the main entrance block the path to it. Would not stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cambridge

One night stay was enough

Posted Nov 3, 2014
The hotel could be great, but needs major investment. Staff seemed like they didn't want to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really wonderful service and very good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilsden

Fabulous Victorian hotel close to likely moor

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Wedding breakfast was best large scale meal ever - excellent! Hotel is lovely and friendly. Rooms are constantly being updated and should be done soon from what we hear, but still very good rooms anyway. They did us proud hosting our wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Lovely service even if the hotel is a little tired

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was a great experience with friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean. The building itself is very picturesque. We were up very late so decided to take a late checkout for £10 extra (1pm instead of 11am). However, we later saw that a late check with a 3 course lunch for two could be had for only £25. Since we were checking out late anyway, it was a no brainer to add a 3 course Sunday lunch for the equivalent of an extra £7.50 each. The lunch was lovely !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hollifrom Leicester

Beautiful

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely rooms, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Crawley

Slightly dissapointed

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff. Shame they dont have more to work with. I needed help from the manager to close the window properly. The TV was poor, condition and function. Worst of all, no hot water, tepid at best, evening and morning. Cant fault the staff, the room was comfy and clean, and we had a fantastic view from the bay window on the second floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter Sfrom Manchester

Cannot understand complaints

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
In a sentence, this is a great hotel. Why? Yes, its old but its got character. The location is perfect for exploring not just Ilkley but the surrounding area. Big car park. Our room was fine. Could have been bigger but fine. The beauty of older hotels is the walls tend to be thicker but I reckon the fierce door closers could do with some attention! I hadnt booked for an early check in but needed it, as we needed to be at a wedding in the town by 2pm and the young lady on reception accomodated this for us. I recommend ghe breakfast. Very nice ! I cant understand some of the less courteous reviews of this hotel. The public areas are all in good order. I recommend it.