Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Quirky room, excellent breakfast & great staff

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The character bedrooms make it quirky and different to the standard big chain hotel stay. Breakfasts were fabulous and staff very attentive.
Cons: Air Conditioning needed!!!
Location: Beautiful walking - Bolton Abbey recommended. Ilkley worth a visit too.
A lovely stay in a quirky hotel, lovely village too. Rooms were nice, we stayed in the De Havilland which was spacious and worth the extra money for 2 nights as we have friends who stayed in the Heathcliffe and room was rather small. The bath in the bedroom is a nice feature. Lovely homemade shortbread in room too! Breakfast was fabulous and the hotel staff cannot do enough for you. However the downside is that it was really hot weather and the room has no air conditioning and only tiny top openers in window, we did get a fan but didn't really help much. All-in-all would recommend this accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helen dain from Wombourne

Expensive breakfast

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was immaculate however I was on a business trip and there was no room to work in the room due to all the decorations. Breakfast was not included - it was tasty and a good choice but expensive .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by TonyB from Cheshire

Craven Heifer

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast was fabulous...service very good.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Grantham

Themed rooms may sacrifice comfort

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: It was convenient for our business in Yorkshire.
Cons: The comfort of the room- remove the aeroplane wing from over the bed. Place net curtains at the window as the bath is in front of the window.
Location: Addingham is a delightful village and convenient to visit other parts of Yorkshire.
The staff provided a basic politeness but showed no enthusiasm in carrying out their duties. The room was satisfactory but the focus seemed to be on the theme rather than the provision of comfort. For example we found the aeroplane wing over the bed head unnerving and the bedside lamps, in keeping with the theme, were like bright inspection lamps. The window which faced the street lacked blinds or net so we were either in the dark with the heavy curtains closed or exposed to the outside with them open. Also, the bath was sited at the end of the bed and in front of the window. Also the room full length mirror had a themed table in front of it which made viewing oneself impossible. The bedside lamps, in keeping with the theme, were like bright inspection lamps. There were no hangers to hang up clothes on the rail. The provision of toiletries was delightful but we were surprised that there were no tissues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sadly dissapointed

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently stayed in the Cabaret room and whilst on first impressions the room looks amazing, you soon start to see all the small - and some large - problems. The main one being the bathroom, I don't expect a sani-flow system in a four star hotel bathroom! We had to not flush the toilet on a night time so that we didn't wake the other one up, and leave the sink plugged as well so that it didn't process the water making a horrendous noise. The TV was also situated in a very strange position - up by the head of the bed! The pillows weren't comfy either and you could hear the noise from the bar coming up through them when we went to bed - at 11:00pm! All in all, we won't be staying again and think that for the price they are charging they could sort out a proper plumbing system and provide better quality bedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mrs Pain from Leicester

very pleasant stay

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I use this hotel when in the area on business because it is very welcoming and friendly, great service and value for money, and will continue to use on a regular basis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jerry from Lincoln

Compact but comfortable room, great breakfast.

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good night's sleep in a comfy bed and nicely furnished room, although I think ours was one of the smaller ones. Excellent breakfast, do try the porridge with whisky and honey! Do let them know if you plan to arrive late though!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small Hotel, Big Heart!!

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Food. Car parking
Cons: Double glazing. Spare pillows - though the pillows were comfortable, they needed to be a little plumper.
Location: Bolton Abbey and the walks along the river Wharfe were just beautiful, and the local tearoom provided lovely fresh food.Skipton Castle worth visiting.
We received a friendly and helpful welcome and was able to learn a little from the staff on the area in which we were staying together with a couple of suggestions for sightseeing. Our room was on the small side, and though reasonably comfortable, we found it to be somewhat noisy from the road traffic from a fairly busy road alongside the hotel. A big plus however, was the very competent chef, Mark, and his inspired dishes. He was very obliging with my gluten-free dietary requirement; breakfasts were a feast for the eye and certainly set one up for a day''s walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great time had

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We went to celebrate a birthday and had a great time. The food was out of this world, the rooms quirky. Well done Craven Heifer