Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Very close to the Ferry Terminal.
Cons: Tea making facilities.
Location: The walled city is about a mile away.
An overnight stay before the ferry back to the UK. This is the second time we have stayed here and will do again. The room was clean and comfortable with separate bathroom and toilet. It overlooked the garden in the rear section of the hotel which is in two blocks; one front and one rear. There are no tea making facilities but the TV can get BBC channels. A secure underground car park is very useful, at a cost 15 euro, with lifts to all floors. Vehicle access to the car park is at the rear of the hotel and you need to obtain a swipe card at Reception first. Street car parking is possible if you arrive late in the day but during working hours the streets are full since the beech is just across the road. Bar lounge and TV are available near reception, as is the breakfast room. A number of resautrants are just along the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel close to beach and town

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Clean near to beach and town
Location: Beach across the road able to walk to walled city with lots of restaurants and bars
Stayed one night friendly staff walking distance to town and beach
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Cheap hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach The excellent fish restaurant over the road was the other redeeming feature Good for one night- perhaps.
Cons: Staff could be a lot more animated and more friendly Breakfast could be uprated for the money.
Location: St Malo town is a short walk and is lovely with good restaurants The beach is fabulous
Cheap hotel with no real extra facilities. No tea/coffee in room We were housed in rather utilitarian block behind in a small room with no outlook. This was noisy in early am with delivery lorries Breakfast was poor value with awful coffee from a machine. We didn't go again after first experience. No ambience at all. Staff could not have been less helpful if they tried about car hire. Studied indifference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachelfrom New York, NY

Great sea view; average otherwise

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose the Escale Oceania because it had rooms with sea views, and the view did not disappoint. The rest of the room, however, was cramped and basic. It would have been difficult to stay in the room for more than one night due to the small size. We also wish the hotel staff had been more forthcoming that the breakfast was an additional cost during the check-in process, as other hotels typically are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by miriamfrom alabama

Like a Holiday Inn

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Although, it is right across from the beach which is nice, it's a 15 min walk to old St. Malo. The Hotel was like a no Frills Holiday inn. No character or charm. Room was not air- conditioned but windows opened which let in good air, but also Mosquitos. Beds were comfy and bathroom was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Ocean View

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location to ocean and city
Cons: Bigger room and definitely bigger bathroom. Free breakfast with the price of the room
Location: Ocean walks, walled city of St Malo, Le Mont St Michel, many of the WW2 sites are further away but still easy to drive to.
The hotel was nice and clean. Room was extremely small for the three of us but would be perfect for couples who like tight spaces. Bathroom was like sitting in a closet, with the shower and sink in a separate room. Shower was nice and clean. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room on the fifth floor but you need to make sure you ask for that during your booking. Parking under hotel is expensive but we had no trouble parking for free around the hotel itself. We have a big SUV so a smaller car would be easier. Breakfast was good but a little expensive for what they offer. In all it was a nice place to stay with the ocean and beach right across the street and the Beautiful city of St Malo less then a half mile walk with plenty of fine food establishments and in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very strong 3+ hotel experience. Ask for a double superior with ocean view. Rooms are of adequate size, very clean and I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location in San Malo

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, convenient, well run establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice location,clean,friendly