Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gary, IN

Hotel experience

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about the hotel.
Cons: The mildew smell in the bathroom/sink area.
Location: There are several things to do in the area. Is in a beautiful location downtown.
My experience at the Courtyard Marriott was great. The staff was great. The hotel was really nice. The food their was good. Everyone was very pleasant. The only thing that I have an complaint about is that there was a mildew smell in the bathroom/sink area very stinky smell. Don't know where that was coming from but other than that I had a good time staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Jamie Hopwood, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us online. The staff loves to take care of our guest and we are glad you stayed with us to experience some down home Hoosier Hospitality. If you could please take a moment and contact me directly so we may be able to better understand the bathroom issue you mentioned briefly. Thank you again for your time and feedback, we hope to see you soon. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Virginia

Convenient

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Convenience; inside temps comfortable, neither too hot nor too cold (I'm usually cold); beds comfortable
Cons: There were three of us and we stayed three days, but housekeeping never left enough towels and wash cloths nor replenished the soaps.
Location: In addition to what I said above, itf you are up to walking, the center of the city and the War Memorial Circle is only a few blocks away.
We stayed at this hotel because it was just down the street from our son's apartment, so it was very convenient for us. However, it would be very convenient to others if you want something near the Convention Center, the canal, some of the museums. We took a lovely walk along the canal and could have walked to the convention center for our son's graduation. We would definitely stay here again. If I had a car, I would not appreciate the $29 daily fee to park my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was within walking distance of downtown.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The staff was fantastic and very helpful. They even set up taxi service for us to get to the airport on time. They provided us with local establishments and always greeted us with a smile.
3 out of 5
by tony from Indianapolis

Charging $250 for a room was rediculous

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Staff nice. charging $250 for a room because a sporting event was in town is rediculous its not the crown plaza its a normal hotel room
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2014
Tony, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Expedia.com. I am sorry to hear that the room rate that was booked did not meet your expectations. I certainly hope that during your visit you did enjoy our hotel. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free and give us a call and I would be more than happy to assist. If your future travels bring you back to Indianapolis I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Warmest Regards, Annie Moskol
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

many unexpected expenses

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The location was very beneficial and easy to find.
Cons: Please include all potential expenses on the web site.
Location: We attended the state championship meet for boys swimming and diving. There are many fine resturants available.
The hotel was very nice, but there were many unexpected expenses aside from the parking fee. I was renting the rooms for high school state participants and had to pay for the room with a check from the school. Having these unexpected additional charges was frustrating as I am now waiting for reimbursement from my school. Knowing all expenses up front would have been beneficial. We also dealt with extremely discourteous guests on all sides. They were running around, screaming and fighting until three in the morning. Unfortunately, the stay was rather unpleasant.
1 out of 5
by The Mad Four from Indianapolis, IN

Room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The lady at the desk was very professional. You can tell she really cares and that it hurts her when this is done to people who have reservations.
Cons: DON'T OVERBOOK. If it does happen try and make it right.
Location: The place that we ate was the highlight of the night, Bourbon Bar & grill.
I had a reserved room but when I arrived they didn't have it. They said that Expedia overbooked. I've booked many rooms on Expedia and never had this trouble. We had 4 people and they gave us a king with fold out. The fold out was so bad that the floor was better. We couldn't even move in the room. There was no parking which I was charged $19. The person checking me in said that I could have a suite but it was taken from under me by the other person checking people in. The Manager asked if there was anything he could do and I said give me the room I reserved. He petty much said it was my fault for using Expedia. I'm sure Expedia has helped you book rooms. You made four people very unhappy for not keeping your reservations. It makes me wonder how many other reservations are broken, this is not a way to run a business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Jamie Hopwood, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us at the Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol . We are very sorry that the issue was not solved to your satisfaction. We understand your frustration and hope to have another chance to show you how much we value each and every guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, definitely inexpensive for a reason!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The double beds are small, the pool should be open linger and the drinks/food are pricey. The stay was nice & quite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Damon from Columbia city indiana

Not bad at all ,, but,,,

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place ,, within good walking distance from down town activities ,, Only complaint ,, no - family friendly - reasturants around ,, most cant afford a $10 salad for 6 folks in our party ,, in the motel reasturant , Upon arival saturday night ,, the tv didnt work ,, instead of just bringing a different tv ( only a 32 inch flat screen ) moved rooms at midnight ,, sigghhhh Pool was nice ! Hot tub was worthless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall, nice.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Overall, the hotel was nice. I think parking charges are ridiculous. The front desk was helpful and pleasant except one man. He didn't want to give any info on Indy unless it was about the hotel and if asked he rolled his eyes and acted bothered. Regardless, the room was nice and we had a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TekBuf from Valparaiso, IN

Great service and staff!

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Landed at this hotel after pulling off of I-65 during a 2014 snow storm. Made accommodations from hotels.com app in the parking lot. Walked in and was warmly greeted by staff. I had two bikes that had to be hauled in during the snow storm - no problem. Nice little bistro - with drinks - right off the lobby so we did not have to go out for food or bevs. Room was very nice, warm and clean. We were snuggled in and drinking red wine 30 minutes after check-in. There were a gazillion kids there for some kind of downtown event. My room was on the first floor (requested) and right off the lobby. Didn't hear a thing outside our door. Highly recommended.