Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ed from Austin

Indy Hostel

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
There aren't really any other hostels in this kind of neighborhood in Indy.It's in a residential area, so very quiet. I had a rent car, so no trouble getting there. A short walk from trendy bars and restaurants, management very professional and courteous. I'll stay again whenever in Indianapolis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matt from Union, KY

Great People, Great Place

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The people were great and the place was very clean which is not always the case with hostels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from Columbus, IN

Cute hostel, friendly staff, where was the towel?

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Staff, building, decoration, vibe
Cons: attention to detail
This the only real hostel in Indianapolis, which the live-in managers were quick to point out when we arrived. We walked in the back door and were immediately offered some baked stuffed mushrooms and asparagus. The live-in staff was extremely friendly, and we talked for several minutes. We stayed in the room with the private bathroom. Now here's the thing: if you've stayed in a hostel before, you know that the standards are different. So yes, you could hear every noise in the house through the door. Yes, you are fairly likely to run into guests rummaging through the fridge when you walk in at midnight. And that's okay. It's great, actually. If you're looking for a normal hotel experience, this isn't where you'll find it, but the house is cute as all get-out, the people are friendly, and you can put a pushpin in your hometown on a giant wall map in the check-in room. All it was missing was (inexplicably?) towels. The hand towel was surprisingly absorbent though. :) The location isn't in the best part of town, but it isn't the worst, and it's about halfway between broad ripple and downtown, which is pretty darn convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe from Brooklyn

Indy Hospitality

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at Indy Hostel was extremely hospitable, especially Doug and Courtney. There was a minor mishap causing a water leak in the basement and the situation was quickly remedied. Nearby attractions in the South Broad Ripple area include Mama Carolla's and the adjacent breakfast joint Good Morning Mama's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Glen from Salt Lake City

Surprised at how great this was

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very impressed with this hostel. Very friendly and helpful. The whole place was very clean. The night I was there was very enjoyable. This turned out to be a pleasant surprise. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jason

reviews are long

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: The girls. And new encounters with all sorts of ethnicity.
Cons: Not enough people know about it.
Location: Perfect. Close to everything
Its great, not a better place to stay in the city and lots of words being typed on this hi hihibibihibibi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dreamerbee from Vinton, Ohio

Great Intro to Hostel Life

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had never chosen a hostel before and worried about horror stories I've heard from around the world. Indy Hostel must be the best of the best. I chose the only private bath room, because I'm old and like it that way ;) and I found it to be most clean and welcoming. The host met me at the airport for a price (stated on their website) that beat the taxi price. The kitchen is spotless and well equipped for meals. They gave me information on the neighborhood and how to get around town. I would definitely stay at IndyHostel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Becky from Indiana

Broad Ripple find

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a hostel not a hotel, but our private double room was comfortable and quiet. It was a short drive to Broad Ripple for dinner and convenient to mid-town. This beats staying in overpriced downtown hotels or in the far north. If you can get the private room, this is worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Philadelphia

Best hostel experience to date!

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Location: The bus system is somewhat unreliable in Indy (buses often run 15min-20min late), but if you don't mind waiting you can catch a bus straight downtown.
I've stayed in hostels across the U.S. and in Europe. This was by far the most pleasant stay I've had yet. The atmosphere was very welcoming, and the staff were willing to go out of their way to help meet your needs. There were fresh veggies from an on-site garden available for guests to cook with, the rooms were cozy with quilts on the bed, and the location felt very safe. The hostel also provides easy access to a lovely bike trail which runs across the city. Highly recommended - I would definitely stay here again!