Ratings based on 864 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris Kincaid from Lexington, KY

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, but hotel needs updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John W from Chicago

Average at Best

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and in great downtown location. However, dated rooms, gym was terrible, no room service, uncomfortable bed. Charming because it's old but would stay at a newer or updated hotel next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from Oberlin, OH

Wish we could have stayed longer...

Posted Dec 15, 2013
We booked this hotel for a business trip. We attended PRI trade show and now we wish we would have booked an extra night. The hotel had so much to offer and so close to everything. We plan of coming back again just for fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DMay from Mount Vernon, IN

Some hammering and drilling going on...

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: We do love the location, walking distance to everything we like to do.
Location: We like to walk two blocks down to Tastings, and of course you can't go wrong with St. Elmo's or Harry and Izzy's. :)
We have always had a nice stay, but this time... was just OK. There was some sort of project going on underneath our room I do believe with hammering and drilling starting early in the morning. Also, the elevators and general lobby facilities seemed less cared for, less polished. Just OK this time. :/
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RB from Washington DC

Cosy historical experience.

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff is extremely professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Great Location

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Canterbury. It was in a great location in the middle of downtown near the mall, stadiums, restaraunts and bars. So much to do and everything was within walking distance. The only negatives on the hotel were the lack of a fridge and some peeling paint / cracks in the walls. With the age of the hotel I guess I should expect the cracks and bubbling paint, but it still took away from the otherwise elegant decor of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seldom travelor from Chicago

Alright if you are into a hotel with "character"

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Location. Front office staff. Proximity to mall.
Cons: Cleanliness.
+: Front staff was great, valet (pay per day, in and out privileges), connected to mall, awesome location. Free WIFI. -: No room service. No water/beverage provided (was told to go across the street for vending machine). Rooms were out of date (Understand that this is a historic building; but fixtures were unfavorable (ie. rusting, developing white build up). Bed sheets and pillows were disgusting with presentation of stains. I believe they were not changed out from last stay. Housekeeping disturbed despite "Do not disturb" signage. Only one elevator worked. Overall sense that hotel was not clean; floors, walls, furniture, etc.