Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Bad

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Bad room out dated room was very hot service was ok need to up date rooms
2 out of 5
by KLS65 from Brookville, Indiana

Disappointing

Posted May 17, 2014
We have stayed in several historic hotels in the past 5 years. This was a disappointing stay in most aspects for us. Pros: the staff that we encountered were all very friendly, professional, and engaging. The location is great, being right downtown, within walking distance to downtown activities, restaurants, and bars. Cons: this beautiful establishment is in desperate need of updates, painting, and cleaning. The walls are very thin so you hear the folks in adjoining rooms and the hallway. The hot water situation was frustrating as it fluctuates whenever toilets (in room and elsewhere) are flushed. The cleanliness was not great but may also be due to the age of the hotel and incredible need for renovations and updates. The heating/ cooling was difficult to regulate. Our room was small and the bathroom was VERY small. There is very little shelf space to your toiletries on. It saddens me to write a negative review for an establishment in a city we love to visit several times a year.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Dear KLS65 - Thank you for your kind remarks about the Club Staff. The Club is in a really great location for our Members and guests. The Club House is 90 years old and we are celebrating 125 years of existence this year! The Club is perfectly located near all big attractions with easy access to transportation. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Here at the Club we strive for a wonderful guest experience. Being a property that is 90 years old ...there is much maintenance that is put in to be sure our members and guests are satisfied. I want to let you know that all of your concerns in regards to your "cons" are being addressed with my management team. For future reference at the Club we have 12 different room types and all of our rooms vary in size, not all of our bathrooms are as small as you experienced; however I understand this is not what we have accustomed ourselves with today...but this is what it was like 90 years ago at the Club. We are currently working on improving our property for better member and guest experience. Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. Katie - Director of Room Sales and Front Office
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from San Antonio, TX

Rooms a little small, but lots of history.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff throughout the Hotel.
Location: Best location in downtown Indy.
Thought the rooms were small, however the rest of the Hotel was amazing and we saw several pieces of American history throughout the lobby and Hotel rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you for your review of the Club. We do very much appreciate it because we are a hidden gem. Some of our rooms are smaller than others, pending on the location and room type you booked may be a factor as to what room you received. I am happy you were able to experience the rich history in the club! Come back and visit us soon, Katie - Director of Room Sales and Front Office
2 out of 5
by Cyn from Oak Park, IL

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I chose this hotel for the location despite what other reviewers had written. I should have believed what I read. The hotel is old and charming which is perfectly fine for common areas but the room was antiquated and rather nasty. For the location and the cost, I would expect much more.
2 out of 5
by Kirby from Plymouth MI

Close to action in downtown Indianapolis

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Staff and lobby area impressive, and location
Cons: Update rooms, add quality linens and towels.
Location: Tons to do, downtown Indy
Old hotel which is fine but room we stayed in was not updated in many years. bathroom was something out of the 50"s. fixtures rusted, falling off walls, towels were something out of a Motel 6, and cleanliness was poor. Definitely not worth the price too many options. Rest of hotel was impressive but rooms did not fit with overall ambiance. They are a club and not an hotel but they still rent rooms that leave much to be desired at this price point, $800 for 3 nights. Definitely would discourage anyone I know from staying there.
3 out of 5
by Jon from Fargo, ND

Way Too Expensive For What You Get

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: It has a great historical flavor. It's position in a great part of town. The service from the staff is impeccable.
Cons: The price is way off. The beds need attention, as well as the shower (no water pressure). Also, the Internet service is turtle slow.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to the convention center…though it is about a 10 minute walk. Nice little bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel was just fine for my needs. I wanted to be within walking distance of the convention center, but all of the connected hotels were booked. I will say, from a historic viewpoint, the Columbia Club is very cool. It has quaint little nuances that you would never find with a chain hotel built within the last 20 years. That being said, paying nearly $250 for a one night's stay, I have a certain level of expectations that need to be met. One - a comfortable bed. This hotel was built in the 1880s. I think the beds are from the same era. If not the bed, certainly the lumpy pillows. I'm not picky about beds normally, but I had an awful night's sleep because of it. Also, the rooms are small. I don't need a lot of room, but something about paying a premium price for a room makes me think there will be a premium product. There wasn't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"The Club" is past it's prime

Posted Feb 27, 2014
" No hats in the club, sir" is the first think I'm told when I enter this dungeon of a "hotel." Never will be back. They have signs with a dress code posted on it and it's a horrible place to take your kids. Also, the tv in the room was about a 24" flat screen that couldn't project the volume all the way to the bed..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not care for.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Too much money for the room. Paint falling off the ceiling. Out dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kendra from Ohio

great location

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel and nice rooms. The bathroom could have used some air freshners to cover up the "old" smell though. I love old buildings, but the bathroom smell was too much. Overall though, the people were great, the building was beautiful and the location was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of atmosphere, good location. Room small. No hot water in the shower and nothing was done after it was reported. Bathroom smelled of urine.