Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B.C.

Historic

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Lots of history happened in this building. Pretty cool to see such a well preserved landmark. Killer location downtown, close to lots of shopping and even the convention center. The restaurant at the Columbia Club is one of the finest I've eaten in awhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Historical Hotel in downtown Indy

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Just about everything. Room size, appointments, and location.
Cons: na
Location: downtown Indianapolis, around the corner from Nicky Blains.
The interior decor of the hotel takes your breath away. You feel like you have gone back in time, however the amenities meet today's standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an upgrade

Posted Feb 8, 2015
We were put in an "upgraded" room. While the bathroom was nice, the rest of the room needs a big update. The mattresses are very hard and uncomfortable and the bed sheets could also use an refresher.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NW Indiana

Unaccommodating, overrated hotel.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: That they were open when we arrived.
Cons: Parking was expensive, charged me for the newspaper. I have never been charged for a morning paper.
Location: Great location
We arrived late and tired, valet was slow, and it seemed like no one wanted to check us in. It just took too long. Staff seemed cold and uninviting. After showering, there was a noise coming from the ceiling in the shower. It was a steady clicking. It was an inconvenience. A repairman looked at it, left, returned, disconnected whatever unit, and the noise disappeared. He said that he would repair it later, but he seemed disinterested. You would think that a high end place like this, the hotel management would have been made aware of our discomforting situation, and they would have at least offered an apology.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Enjoyed my stay. I like the atmosphere of the older hotels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location city wise, dress code for hotel bar was a little off-putting. Couldve done better for what I paid for it. I wouldn't recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Coast

Great location, but some issues

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Lovely hotel, great location kind staff, nice, clean rooms, all great. However, there are some issues associated with this hotel that people should be aware of before booking. Make sure you check the events schedule for Indianapolis generally and Monument Circle specifically. If you're going to partake in the fun it will be fine for you, but if you're not and have to get up early in the morning, bring ear plugs because it can be very noisy outside your window when there's a big event in the Circle. No outside food or drink is allowed in your room. So no sipping a glass of wine at the end of the day unless you got it in the bar. The restaurant is very expensive; a chicken sandwich and fries was $20. Not including liquor, but including tip, which is added automatically for a party of 1. Again, no problem at all if you don't plan to eat there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your time

Posted Sep 23, 2014
After check-in everything went downhill. The hotel facilities were in desperate need of an update. Staff was poorly trained of policies an procedures and could not answer questions or help. The wake-up call was even 30 minutes late. The chauvinistic and condescending nature of the door boys was the huge turn off. They were rude beyond belief. They enforced strange rules that were not published in any found literature, or the hotel website. I never was restricted from bringing food into a hotel room. I was surprised to see the one vending and one ice machine still worked, they looked ancient. I travel to this area for work quite often, and despite the desirable location, I rather pay twice the amount not to stay at this stuffy hotel. I couldn't wait to leave.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Billfrom Indiana

Misinforming and rude.

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I called ahead of my arrival and asked to have a mini fridge in my room so that I could keep a few drinks in it. The lady on the phone assured me they would do everything they could to make sure I got one. When I arrived however I was handed a paper to sign stating I understood that I could not have any outside food or drinks in my room. I questioned the man at the desk about this and explained I had called about a mini fridge and was told it wouldn't bd a problem. I was then basically told sorry about your luck. I would never have booked this hotel if they had been upfront with me from the beginning.