Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LucySteel from Manchester

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely little hotel , close to the centre of Chinon and with free parking right opposite (except on Thursdays, market day).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bridgend UK

Plantagenet Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Superb hotel. Right in the heart of town. Friendly staff. Lovely clean rooms. Not suitable for disabled persons as there is no lift, just a fantastic old spiral staircase. Definitely advise staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Caz from Isle of Man

What a Gem!

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay here, very comfortable, clean and friendly hotel, nothing too much trouble. Great breakfast albeit a bit pricey..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nell from Scotland

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Quiet and in a good central location.
Cons: Easier access to rooms, especially for people with poor mobility.
Location: The location would be excellent for clycling and sightseeing.
We were looking for a hotel that would be near the local cafes and restaurants and was near the river which it was. It was just right for us after travelling from Calais to the Charente region where we could have a pleasant break from travelling. It was great to be just across the road from the river and enjoy some of delights of the the Loire. Although we would have preferred not to have to carry our cases up two floors we were pleased with our room, although small, was clean and bright.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Portland

Good for bike touring.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: The shuttle to the train station in a London-style taxi (complete with right-hand side steering-wheel). Courtyard. Location near river.
Cons: Breakfast (10 euros) overpriced. Front-desk staff often absent.
Location: Fortress of Chinon, Caves Plozeau (wine-tasting), medieval Chinon.
We stayed here at the end of a bike tour of the Loire Valley. The hotel is clearly set up to host bike travelers, with secure bike parking & arrangements with tour operators. Overall the hotel was pleasant, with a nice courtyard for having a drink or hanging out. The room was nice & at least one staff member is a native English speaker, in case that matters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from California, USA

Great location to see Amboise Fortress.

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Location is great
Cons: breakfast buffet a bit pricey (10 Euro's)
Location: Right near the Canal and walking distance to everything
Great location, value and very traditional tourist level hotel. It was very quiet. Great market right outside on Fridays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Craig from Chicago

Nice place

Posted Mar 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice simple place with friendly staff. A bit small, but that's normal in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Free parking across the road in the public carpark, nice big room, comfortable bed, nice shower, tea and coffee was free - just outside your room, and right in the centre of town. Very happy with this place. Staff spoke a bit of English too which was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2012
good location, friendy and helpful owner. cozy and free car park nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels.com