Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient location close to Amboise

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Cons: The food could be improved. Novotel seems to have moved to a set menu for its hotel group. If you stay in a couple of Novotels, the food is limited.
Location: Chateau Chenonceaux is a must. A simple walk down by the River Loire, boating on the river or cycle the excellent cycle pathways through the area.
We stayed here to visit the surrounding Loire Valley. Brilliant location because it is right in the middle of the area. Modern, bright spacious hotel with lots of space in the rooms. Very nice pool area and due to the location of the hotel on a hill above Amboise, it has lovely views down to the chateau at Amboise with large, spacious gardens and a little mini golf course for children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Wonderful, clean modern hotel, great location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, excellent facilities, including beautiful outdoor pool and fun things for kids to do.
Cons: Don't charge guests for forgotten items like toothpaste.
Location: Great location in Amboise. Close to the Chateaus and nearby villages.
Great, clean and modern hotel, close to sights and reasonably priced. Nice Pool and restaurant. Staff helpful. Nice beds and great A/C, good free wifi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay hotel close to Amboise (if you have a car!)

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness of room
Cons: Repari of mini-golf course, more (decent) pillows in room - seems to be a consistent problem for all Novotel properties
Location: Châteaux gallore - great local restaurants. Blois a beautiful city relatively close by
Some of the facilities at the hotel were somewhat tired and in need of maintenance (mini-golf course and pool table). However the pool was in excellent condition and the lobby was well maintained. We did not access the restaurant during our visit due to the quality of local patisseries! The room size for a family of four was typical of all Novotel rooms - comfortable enough but not spacious. Rooms were cleaned to high standard every day. We were also lucky enough to have a pleasing view of the Amboise Palace and it was great to be able to open our window fully to allow for natural ventilation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good location for visiting chateaux

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The hotel is in a good location for visiting both Amboise which is a nice town with a chateau and many eating places and we also visited nearby Chenonceau. The hotel atmosphere was pleasant with facilities you expect of this kind of hotel including a pool, although it was chilly and could have been cleaner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with attitude problems

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Oh dear. How did this hotel get so many positive write-ups? Have they been gaming the review pages? The accor hotel group are good for cheap motorway stop-overs on the way through France, eg the Ibis Buget and Formula One chains. We have stayed in these many times before but this was our first experience in their posher "four star" Novotel chain. In truth the room was very similar to a budget Ibis, cheap and anonymous, with woodchip walls and a vague whiff of cleaning fluid everywhere. On our first night we ordered quite an expensive meal as room service which arrived with chips burnt to a cinder but stone cold. When I pointed this out to the guy who delivered them he shrugged as if already aware of the fact, and took them away without apology. This, we were to discover, was typical of the attitude of most of the staff (especially the more senior members) who seemed to have completely given up on any semblance of caring. Front desk staff were breathtakingly rude, treating simple, polite enquiries with churlishness, contempt and occasionally a blatant refusal to answer. Really weird. The buffet breakfast had a good range of stuff, though the eggs and bacon ran out early and the coffee came out of a vending style machine and was poor. On the plus side, the pool and gardens were well tended and attractive.The mini golf range, though crumbling away and costing 4 euros a game, was also fun. Next time we'll stick to Ibis budget, I think.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average but good staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Average hotel with tired decor, helpful staff, good breakfast, easy parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location to explore the Loire valley from

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Amboise. Room was very nice, hotel was clean, good location, restaurant was good and thought the buffet breakfast was excellent and a good start to our day. Close to many chateaus we wanted to explore in the Loire valley and we loved the village of Amboise. Quick drive to the downtown area, great Chateau inside and out, and wonderful village to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful view

Posted Jul 7, 2014
It was a clean room with a beautiful view. Restaurant was excellent with staff and food preparation. Breakfast was too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Leicestershire U.K.

Lovely hotel in beautiful town on the Loire

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly, light and airy, and very modern
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ambois chateau and Le clos Luce
Four of us only stayed one night as we were catching a plane from Tours the following evening. The day of arrival visited the Leonardo da Vinci exhibition at Le Clos Luce which was excellent and really worth a visit. The day we were leaving we drove over to Chenonceau where the chateau is magical. The Novotel was excellent. Check in was effortless and the rooms large clean, and very well equipped with coffee etc. Had dinner that night at the restaurant which was excellent and good value. The only negative point was that the hotel was a bit out from the historic part of the town and a bit too far to walk. There were several car parks near the centre, and the one by the Clos Luce is very convenient for the town centre is very large and only charges 1 euro a day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good location for seeing the loire valley

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
great hotel and central to the chateau's One needs a car, though, since it is a bit outside Amboise.