Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Inexpensive but lack on service

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The apartment unit does provide facility for cooking simple meals which is useful.
Location: The facility is not too far by driving from Ambois, where we visited Ch√Ęteau Royal de Ambois and Chateau of Da Vinci which we liked a lot.
This facility has large number of apartment units (30 buildings and 6-8 units per building), the rate is pretty good considering we booked pretty 2 weeks prior to the stay. The front desk staff that handled our check-in spoke very little English but we managed to get through the process ok. We had problem to lock the door completely, so we spoke to the front desk staffer on out way out, she spoke English well and she said a technician will check out the problem immediately. When we came back in the evening, we stopped at the front desk and inquired about the status of the lock, the front desk staff said she was told the technical had fixed the problem. When we got the our room, the lock was still the same, not locked completely, the door could be opened from outside by simply pushing the door with a bit of strength. We were not very happy about this, and walked all they way back to front desk in muddy road (3 minutes walk from our apartment unit), long story short, the problem appeared to be the door can only be locked completely when turning the door handle straight up, which is unfamiliar for us from outside of France. But the biggest problem was that no one appeared come to our apartment unit to check on or fix the problem even we were promised to. Other smaller issue we had was, the bathroom tissue was not restock, and we had to walked to front desk to get it ourselves (long walk in muddy road). Overall, we feel this place like a cheesy motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Roomy self catering accommodation near Amboise

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Roomy self catering accommodation near Amboise, with pool and activities for kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK CA

Great family place

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Great family place if you are staying near Amboise and travelling by car. The pool was especially appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sherri from Texas

Another Great Stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent Easter weekend at the Villa Bellagio Amboise. It was our third stay at this property. The location is great. The room amenities are quite nice. We prefer to cook our meals and always use the kitchen facilities. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean and very quiet.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by judy from LA, CA

Not Worth It

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not let you check-in before 4 pm., Must park your car in their parking lot more than a block away from the room, though there is ample room by each apartment for a car............a pain, especially at night and in the rain! Also, daily maid service means they drop off new towels and toilet paper, but do not make, beds, clean, toilets, or take used towels away, etc., even after telling them. Also, sofa is a bed and cushions will not stay in place to watch TV, etc. Restaurant not open for dinner, and not for lunch when group functions, which is very inconvenient, as there are no restaurants or eating places within a few miles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good for a stop over convenient and reasonable

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
A shame the Restaurant was closed but Breakfast was quite dull. However there is a large selection of restos in Amboise and on the outskirts.Great as a stopover to or from the ports and good position for sight seeing in the Loire Valley. Very nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by katie from usa

Good for what I needed

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
i was a nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Squiffywiffy from West Sussex, UK

Perfect for overnight

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had been to Amboise before so knew that there was quite a bit to do in and around the town. It is a lovely part of the Loire Valley.The hotel was just right for an overnight stay. It was different being in an apartment in blocks around the site. We had booked a family room but we had to set up the sofa bed. When we got into the room it looked like it was just for 2. It was clean and well furnished. I had already read reviews and so knew not to expect crockery or utensils, etc, but otherwise well equipped with hobs, microwave and a dishwasher (not that there were any plates!!) Served us well for the night!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Aussiefamily from Australia

Good location at good price

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room, beds good, linen nice, lots of towels each day, no toilet paper on arrival, missing some bowls and cutlery but enough kitchen ware to cook a meal. Swimming Pool is basic and needs more chairs for adults to sit around pool, small jumping castle at dinner time was a hit with the kids. Food and service in the restaurant was good and reasonable price, large meals! Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel grounds are barren and need gardens to improve the environment. A few more kids activities would be good - like a playground. No Laundry facilities! Amboise is a beautiful town. Comfy hotel for our family without being too expensive. Could be a great family hotel if it had more facilities.
3 out of 5
by Larry and Judy from Chicago area

Amboie Visit

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The only thing we liked was that the room had a couch
Cons: 5 minute walk from parking to room. No windows to open only doors opening to outside on ground level. No a/c
Location: Chateau to visit, river, dining
We visited the Amboise chateau, the city and the Da Vinci home. We enjoy Amboise because of the ambiance of the old downtown and good restaurants