Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our wee holiday

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Everything in fact we wanted to stay there indefinitely.
Cons: More range of food for gluten free menu especially vegan & vegetarians
Location: There are 3 walks the Cuillins hill hotel recommends plus lovely driving around the Isle of Skye. The Taliskar distillery & shopping in Portree
The staff were all friendly & helpful, they went out of there way especially for my partner who has coeliac ( gluten intolerant). The room that we stayed in was very well decorated King size four poster bed & comfortable to sleep on. Also in the room when we arrived there was a dressing gown each & slippers, bowl of fruit, 500ml bottle of water each & a miniature bottle of whisky each these were replenished every day of our stay. Plus the usual tea, coffee plus galaxy hot chocolate, hair dryer, trouser press. The en-suite bathroom well we had a very large corner bath with a built in seat plus his & her sinks and a lovely toiletry gift from the Skye company to discover the contents collectively cost around £19.00 as my partner went & bought several gifts out of that shop in Portree. Downstairs there was a sitting area with a roaring fire we sat there & had our pre dinner drinks of whisky from Skye of course yes Taliskar. The evening meal was a bit expensive as it was a la carte however on saying that it was delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Le service n'est pas à la hauteur

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Nous étions un peu en avance pour le dîner. On nous a refusé l'accès au restaurant alors que plusieurs tables étaient disponibles. Nous avons décidé de prendre un verre en attendant. Il a fallu que nous apportions nous-mêmes nos verres et nos bouteilles jusqu'à la table. Je rappelle que notre réservation s'élève à plus de 380 € la nuit. J'ai commandé 6 huitres. Je ne pourrais jamais savoir si elles étaient bonnes : on les avait consciencieusement chacune arrosées de vinaigre enchaloté
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

dejligt hotel med fantastisk udsigt

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: beliggenheden og udsigten og hotellets standard
Location: Old man of Storr: 2 timers vandretur. Virkelig smuk udsigt.
Hyggeligt hotel med vidunderlig udsigt fra restauranten mod Cuillin hills og Portree havn. Personalet var venlige og hjælpsomme og vi følte os godt tilpas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

rating

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Fantastic setting!!! Fordor's Travel said the rooms were overpriced in the back of the hotel because they have no view. I agree. Make sure you get a front room and I think you will have a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ASHISHfrom SINGAPORE

Loved It

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Decor
Location: 5 min from Portree town
Scotland is a destination where you relish staying in the B&B culture. But if there is one hotel that you gotta stay in - Its this one. They have about 30 rooms and are located on top of a scenic hill just 5 min from the town centre of Portree. The view from the hotel and the lawns is breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel has been done up with a lot of grandeur and style and they have a lounge, bar, and dining area. The Dining restaurant with a view of the Lake and the harbour is popular with tourists and they have an elaborate menu. The rooms are done up tastefully and the quality of the drapery and linen is excellent. They have a well stocked bar with over 100 malts so you can sample all your favorites here. The breakfast was well laid out and the ladies in the dining section are delightful to chat with. A special mention for Donella who was very helpful when my wife injured her foot on a hiking trail. She was kind enough to have our dinner sent to our room and also arrange for ice. Book in advance and get a room facing the harbour. You gotta splurge once on your holiday and this is the place. You would enjoy sitting in the lawns and just gaping at the view...Go for it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GPfrom Paris

Great views, quiet location, friendly staff

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location, views (on the Black Cuillins:-), friendly staff
Cons: Not very modern, it looks like it was refurbished years ago.
Location: Portree, all the island is very accessible.
Close to Portree, great view, lots of space, friendly staff, good beer.Ideal location to discover Skye, as it is quite central. There aren't too many hôtels in Skye. This one is nice, but a little bit oldish. Rooms are comfortable, but not very modern. Overall a very good stay, and I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view from front rooms facing the harbor.

Posted May 22, 2014
Nice hotel with large rooms. Book one with a view on the harbor. Restaurant is just good. Ask about Scorrybrac restaurant next door this summer. Excellent! Walk the loop around the hotel, about a 45 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zenafrom UK

Countryside Hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Location: Ideal hotel if you are into walking and great point to start for touring the Isle of Skye.
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 2 nights. Excellent food and great service. This hotel did not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susiefrom Turriff, Aberdeenshire AB53, UK

Lovely hotel with wonderful views.

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The heated towel rail
Location: Set in Portree and overlooking the harbour. Great views and lots of walks to go on.
Hotel was lovely with wonderful scenery. Set in pleasant grounds. The only thing was that the heated towel rail would not switch off in bathroom. As it was very warm weather our bathroom was like a sauna. The only downside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: great corner room, clean.
Cons: Very hot at night without air conditioning - Scotland is under a heat wave right now.
Location: The hotel is a little difficult to find and you almost think you are on the wrong road before you find it. Nearby, try the Portree Hotel for dinner.
Wonderful hotel. Clean, friendly staff, good restaurant. No air conditioning which typically isn't a problem except for this summer.