Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

rating

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Fantastic setting!!! Fordor's Travel said the rooms were overpriced in the back of the hotel because they have no view. I agree. Make sure you get a front room and I think you will have a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ASHISH from SINGAPORE

Loved It

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Decor
Location: 5 min from Portree town
Scotland is a destination where you relish staying in the B&B culture. But if there is one hotel that you gotta stay in - Its this one. They have about 30 rooms and are located on top of a scenic hill just 5 min from the town centre of Portree. The view from the hotel and the lawns is breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel has been done up with a lot of grandeur and style and they have a lounge, bar, and dining area. The Dining restaurant with a view of the Lake and the harbour is popular with tourists and they have an elaborate menu. The rooms are done up tastefully and the quality of the drapery and linen is excellent. They have a well stocked bar with over 100 malts so you can sample all your favorites here. The breakfast was well laid out and the ladies in the dining section are delightful to chat with. A special mention for Donella who was very helpful when my wife injured her foot on a hiking trail. She was kind enough to have our dinner sent to our room and also arrange for ice. Book in advance and get a room facing the harbour. You gotta splurge once on your holiday and this is the place. You would enjoy sitting in the lawns and just gaping at the view...Go for it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view from front rooms facing the harbor.

Posted May 22, 2014
Nice hotel with large rooms. Book one with a view on the harbor. Restaurant is just good. Ask about Scorrybrac restaurant next door this summer. Excellent! Walk the loop around the hotel, about a 45 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zena from UK

Countryside Hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Location: Ideal hotel if you are into walking and great point to start for touring the Isle of Skye.
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 2 nights. Excellent food and great service. This hotel did not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susie from Turriff, Aberdeenshire AB53, UK

Lovely hotel with wonderful views.

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The heated towel rail
Location: Set in Portree and overlooking the harbour. Great views and lots of walks to go on.
Hotel was lovely with wonderful scenery. Set in pleasant grounds. The only thing was that the heated towel rail would not switch off in bathroom. As it was very warm weather our bathroom was like a sauna. The only downside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: great corner room, clean.
Cons: Very hot at night without air conditioning - Scotland is under a heat wave right now.
Location: The hotel is a little difficult to find and you almost think you are on the wrong road before you find it. Nearby, try the Portree Hotel for dinner.
Wonderful hotel. Clean, friendly staff, good restaurant. No air conditioning which typically isn't a problem except for this summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suz. from Perth

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: Decoe
Cons: None
Location: Superb
Can't say enough about this gorgeous little hotel. Wished we could stay for weeks. Superb location over looking Portree. Great food, comfortable and a joy to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Columbia, SC

Great Hotel and Beautiful Views

Posted Nov 6, 2012
Pros: Location, Views, Facilities, Staff...
Cons: No complaints.
Beautiful location and views of Portree Harbor. Excellent and accommodating staff. Rooms were comfortable. Facilities maintained and in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Leeds

Excellent place for a romantic getaway.

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Room size and standard
Location: Superb
An excellent location with great views across the bay. The room was a good size, and the bed was very comfortable. A good choice for a romantic getaway, or just for a nice stop touring the highlands. The food was also very good. Although not quite at top class level (such as at Kinloch Lodge, where we stayed the following night), where it aspired to be, it wasn't far off and is highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Beautiful View from the Hotel & great people too!

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and beautiful views.
Cons: That we had to leave eventually.
Location: Perfect for day trips and for 5 minute walk to center of town.
Great hotel to use either as a place to stay put for a few days or as a jumping off point to day-hikes, touring, etc. We went on three different hikes to some of the varied scenery on Skye and the hotel's central location made it relatively easy and quick to drive to the trailheads. The location of the hotel in relation to the town is perfect. From the restaurant and ample front lawn you have a magnificent view of both the Portree Harbor and the Black Cuillins. It is a breathtaking sight that makes it an excellent place to watch both the sunshine and the weather change each day. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town where the shops and restaurants are. The staff are excellent - similar to virtually100% of the people on Skye, everyone is friendly, accomodating and (rightfully) proud to have you visiting their island. For example, the front desk people and the handyman Tony went out of their way to help me dry out my hiking boots by packing them with newspaper and storing them in the boiler room.