Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Scrambled. Eggs where not very good. Very dry and tasteless. Other selections were fine. Area was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice stay

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Very nice staff and very accomedating. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

You're fine to stay here

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Overall great stay. The doors were locked when we tried to enter at midnight, quick ring of the available phone phone and we were checking in. Breakfast was better than average and included. My only gripe, as a smoker the side door where we go in and out didn't lock, anybody could walk right in, great for me upsetting to those that look for more security. Overall 4 out of 5 for this type of place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time ever disappointed by HIE

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Very little. The lobby and exterior looked nice but that was it.
We've stayed at countless Holiday Inn Expresses as they are always nice, clean, and up to date. This is the first time we have ever stayed at one and been disappointed. The exterior of the building looked immaculate, but this is clearly a remodeled hotel. The check-in took much longer than it should have because their system hadn't been updated with what rooms were clean, and the first room we were given had not been made up yet. Not to mention that, it reeked of cigarette smoke. The second room we were given was made up properly, however there was a musty odor to the room. Given the hassle we had checking in, we just stayed in this room because we were only there for a couple of days. Not only was the room musty smelling, but the room almost seemed like it had been converted from a storage room into a hotel room. The ceiling was VERY tall and the room narrow which created a terrible echo. It was right next to the stairwell also which made for nice loud noises throughout the night. The swimming pool was OK although there was a lot of sand and dirt in the water which I would not expect from a properly maintained pool, especially an indoor one. Breakfast was just terrible, the eggs and bacon were over cooked and the rolls terribly dry. They were also doing landscaping so we were awoken to the lovely sound of a small backhoe right outside our window the first morning. Rarely do I make a point to review a hotel, but this was just lousy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stopover - wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Very pleasant stay- very clean & comfortable stay. Staff were awesome too! Would definitely stay again. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.F., Iowa

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
This hotel is very close to the B-52 resterant, (voted best buger) & Old World Pizza. (4 star rated). Quick drive to Mall of America/ikea. Or Airport. This hotel location is Quite enough we were able to leave window open (June night). Hotel pool, and hot tub 5* the breakfast bar was very good. Though it was strange that staff was getting food at the same place hotel guest were eatting. Other wise great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from MD

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
I thought I smelled smoke in one non-smoking room. Not sure if this was the case or simply the A/C was stuffy. Hotel staff gave $ credit due to being fully booked. Over all I was very well satisfied with the 3 rooms I rented at one time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from Colorado

Posted Jun 10, 2014
The staff was friendly. The hotel could have been a little cleaner, but my biggest complaint is the bed was HARD!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from MN

Great for price & location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Staff was really helpful, even opened breakfast early for me and family to grab a few items before checking out. Great location too!
Cons: The air/heater in the room made weird noises so it made hard to sleep in a really warm room. Elevator was acting up but was told recently fixed.
Location: There is a movie theater, restaurant, gas station, and more literally next door.
Compared to the cost of staying downtown St. Paul and only being 10 minutes away, this HIE is a great value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Poor plumbing in bath.

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Good room
Cons: Check and attend to the plumbing.
Location: Nothing much nearby, was close to my business visit.
Standing in 3 inches of water while having a shower is not my idea of a nice overnight stay. Otherwise this place will get 5 out of 5.