Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Close to the Brooks golf course and we got a 10% discount on our green fees.
Cons: Cleaning standards, room quality, update the facilities.
Location: Great golf course, Brooks
Hotel was outdated and rooms need work. The best thing was the continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't complain too much

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: location, cost, availability
Cons: customer service, wifi access, exterior cleanliness
Location: its right on the main strip, not far from anything - and the golf course is immaculate (and right in their back yard)!
Price was right, location was actually excellent for not being on the lake. Service was less than I normally expect but not horrible. My biggest complaint was the lack of wifi they promised. I tried my laptop, Windows Surface and my smart phone and none of them could connect - but the desk clerk said it was working fine for them the whole time. No additional support was provided/offered. That was my biggest hangup with this place - that's what kept it from getting a better rating. Its definitely NOT a 5 star hotel. Four stars would be pushing it... if only they could just step it up a notch in customer service and facility (exterior) cleanliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Older facility that is overpriced. New resort on the water close to this hotel is one-half the price. Told pets not allowed but when we arrived saw guests with pets. Excuse was they had pest issues so decided not to allow pets ... those guests with pets must have checked in prior to us? Hotel cleaning staff used our bathroom and did not flush the toilet! Would not stay again. If only place available I would cancel my vacation plans.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was not serviced properly for our entire three night stay. No toilet paper or tissues. The restaurant was good the first night but the chief was off the next time we tried to dine there and it was so bad we ended up leaving and going to another restaurant in the area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mel from Tomball, TX

Not very clean or well maintained

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband were at the hotel one night and arrived about 10:30 at night. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. When we got settled into our room, I pulled back the comforter and the sheet was pulled back on one side of the bed. I wasn't sure if the maid service overlooked it when they made the bed or if a previous guest had occupied the bed and had just pulled the covers back over the sheet and the maid service hadn't bothered to check it. It was a creepy feeling. The tub drained very slowly and in the course of taking a shower the water got ankle deep. There were partiers traipsing down the hall rather loudly in the wee hours of the morning. The breakfast was good but not exceptional. All in all, I will find another place to stay next time we are in Okoboji.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert C. from Minnesota

Good value

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Seemed pretty nice for the price. Good size rooms. Service was pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissappointing Stay

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The restaurant.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room, the front desk booking.
The hotel lobby was great along with Minervas the Bar and Restaurant. My room on my first stay was average at best. My 2nd and 3rd stays required and upgrade in service. The bed did not get made up daily, shampoo and conditioner not replenished, never vacuumed, and my bathroom ceiling had mildew along with the bottom of the bathtub was stained from a previous matting. I would recommend staying at the Americinn or the Ramada if you have to stay in the Spirit Lake area and eat at Minervas. Also on my 2nd and 3rd stays they did not have my room booked correct. The one instance they could not find the booking at all, and the other they had me booked for 2 rooms instead of one for more nights than I had reserved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Restaurant but hotel could use some updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gayle from Huron, S.D.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: very nice facility with restaurant and bar right there.
Location: We picked a wrong time to stay. Everything shut down
IT WAS A VERY NICE STAY Swimming and also a nice continental breakfast
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danny from IL

Not very good

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
1st hotel room they put me in: leaking sink all over carpet. 2nd hotel room: opened the door and there was someone's bag already on the bed. So they moved me a third time and although the bathtub drain was clogged- I decided not to press my luck. Nice staff and service but they need to get it together.