Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Clean with incredible service!

Posted Jun 7, 2015
These people make you feel right at home. Very clean. across the street from the lake. Simple and rustic. I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarion, IA

Awesome hotel near the lake

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: I love how they've decorated....the vintage look is awesome. The staff is incredibly friendly. Best motel experience I've had.
Location: The motel is close to everything. There's a boat launch just across the street and all the local attractions are within 1-3 miles from the motel.
I can't say enough good things about Vintage Block Inn and Suites. The owner, Misty, is amazing. From the moment we walked into the office, we were made to feel at home. She upgraded our room, drew us maps to all the fun locations in town...and made us feel like family. The rooms are great, the motel is close to all the local attractions and is a great place to stay with family. We can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
AWWWWWWWWWWW GINNY! We OH SO LOVED having you stay with us! Your excitement at our little slice of paradise was contagious...so BIG...FAT....Thank you ! I hope it isn't too long before we get to see you guys again! Until then, please take good care and enjoy our beautiful weather! Kindly, with super bursts of gratitude! Misty & the VB Crew
4 out of 5
Recommended
by southbound from AZ

above and beyond

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Very surprised to find we were the only guests, they were just closing for the season. Pleased that they honored the hotels.com reservation. Upgraded our room but we're unable to provide breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yvonne & Jerod from Evansdale, IA

Don't go to a national chain! Go here instead!

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
This was a wonderful place to stay for a few days of relaxation. We had the hotel practically to ourselves as it was the end of the season (start of Fall). Unfortunately, the weather wasn't great for what we had planned, but the hotel made up for that. It has nice décor and a homey feel. The owners called us immediately after we booked and let us know not much was going on it town but they would be there if we needed anything. I can tell if we were there during the busy summer, we would have had lots of fun with their extras they offer their customers. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
Whoo-hoo!! OH geez did you just make my day! THANK YOU for such an awesome review! We do hope you will come back in the summer season as it is a fun experience as well. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your time and loving us up on line! That JUST ROCKS! Have an awesome fall and New Year and I hope to see you next season...busy or slow! Kindly, with a BIG...FAT....Smile! Misty & the VB Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
It was okay, has to call to have a heater brought to our room for it was cold and are room had no heater in it. The room has 2 chairs but no table. We enjoyed the breakfast, for it was very good. We thought the price we had to pay was a little high for the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We know we need to step our King rooms up a bit! We are going to add a table and 2 chairs to each one. We do have rooms that have more seating, kitchenettes, desks, etc. We did not plan for that early of cold weather and most of our kings only had the window a/c so a portable heater was needed. Shoot! We plan on improving each year, but most likely won't change over to PTAC units until we do a complete rebuild of those back rooms. Because we have two and a half month's to make our money for the entire year, our area does have higher rates during our high demand season. However, we feel that our rates are competitive with our market. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope that you will come back and try us again. There is one promise I can make and that is each year we will get better and better. We have four new owners (local) and we are crazy proud of our place and have high standards. It won't happen all in one year, but the growth will be strong and steady. All the best! Misty and the VB Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Phil from Iowa

Great for the price

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Cheap, convenient and clean. Met our needs without complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
YES! We love to read this! Thank you Phil! Please know we will continue to grow and improve so please do keep coming back! Have an awesome fall! Kindly, Misty
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Wonderful staff. It was a little cold the night we stayed, but the bed was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
OH, we love hearing you think we are wonderful! Cause we think you are wonderful to take the time to go on line!! Serious, we love fluffing our team's feathers so they get pumped up to fluff our guests! Kindness goes a long way and feeling good while you on property is what our main goal is! We had a bit of a cold spell that we weren't fully prepared for! I hope we provided a space heater for you. Please do come back and see us next year!! We are excited to show you our changes! Kindly, Misty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Harley

Good Value

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
Our family stayed here with our two young kids. The staff was nice and helpful, there are fire pits and firewood to start a fire and grills to cook on. Complimentary breakfast was nice the hotel is right off Hwy 71 providing good access. Overall the hotel is a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
We are doing the 5 star dance! WHEEEEEEEEEE! We LOVE 5 stars! We think you are a SUPERSTAR for giving us that rockstar score! Thank you for your business, for going home and loving us up on line and for recognizing we are a great little spot to hang with your kids! At a reasonable price! We will keep improving and adding each year, so please come back and see us next season! Thanks again and have a super fall! Kindly, Misty and the Rockstar Crew of VB
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Vintage but has its benefits

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The outdoor areas! the relaxed environment.
Cons: Having the walls sanded and repainted would really add to the quality of the room space.
Location: Very close to an Okoboji lake boat ramp.
The hotel is an old single story motel that has been remodeled. The hotel is definitely dated but the room furniture is fully updated and gave my family a great place to spend the night. Each room has an outdoor porch area complete with chairs and a table. In the evening it was a great place for the family to spend the evening with family and friends, an option not readily available at most hotels/motels. Enough parking for a family traveling with a boat. The staff is great and very friendly and accommodating to your needs. the breakfast is okay but could use more selections, especially if someone is wanting a not meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Misty, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving such an awesome review Mark!! We are so pleased your family enjoyed your time here. We like to think of our little place as stepping back in time, unplugging and enjoying the fire, games, cards, etc. We will continue to add more things that the kids and adults will enjoy. Please do come back and see us again and let me see what we can do to improve our breakfast for you. We appreciate your business and your time! Have an awesome fall! Kindly, Misty and the VB Crew