Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super sketchy area. Lobby smells like chemicals

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Lobby smelled like smoke and chemicals. Sketchiest area. The room was nice once you get there. The shuttle was good. Okay for a lay over
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from raleigh

needs renovation, cleaning.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: near newwark.
Cons: cleaning and customer service.
Location: shop.nice location.
they lost my wash cloth. no one seems to help at the front desk.they did not make the bed.house keeping needs to clean better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience.I'm extremely sorry the we do not meet your standard.I'm sorry the your wash clothes was lost and the our staff did not help.I'm surprise the our cleaning was not appropriate for you when our everyday work is to maintain our cleaning up to our customer standard and we make sure before that any of our valuable customer, before they check inn into their room meet the standards.Thank you once again for choosing our property and hope in the future you can gave us another opportunity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Only good for a overnight layover

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Had to get a hotel for an overnight layover. We had to call the shuttle three times to come pick us up at the airport And the hotel is not in the best part of town. Room was clean and pleasant but did not feel very safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm glad that we could meet your standard.I'm sorry the you have to wait to long to get a shuttle service.I would like you to know the I verbally warned them.I'm sorry that you did feel safe in our neighborhood but they are friendly.Thank you once again for choosing our property and hope in the future you can gave us another chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share4 your experience with us.I'm glad that we could meet your standard of the room.I'm sorry to hear that you have to call our service shuttle three time.I would like you to know that I verbally warned them not to happen this kind of incident again.Thank you once again for choosing our property and Hoping that you would gave us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from exeter, pa

Horrible hotel and location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We got the room to stay just a few hours. I booked on expedia and the pictures looked nice and clean. When we got there it was in a terrible neighborhood and we were a little afraid to get out since it was almost midnight. The guy that checked us in was behind glass but I couldn't understand a word he was saying due to his mumbling and barely speaking English. The place was a dump and we went up to the room. We had booked a king size bed but they gave us two full beds. It wasn't very clean either and we just left and didn't even stay. We had to drive almost three hours home and lost our 70 bucks from the room but it was better than having our truck vandalized or worse!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm extremely sorry for meeting your expectation.My most sincere apologies the you did not find our room appropriate. I'm really surprise that our room is not clean when our everyday works is up to our cleaning standard. I'm sorry that you feel unsafe and did not like our surrounding areas.I would like you to know the our parking is safe and we never have any problems before.Thank you once again for choosing our property and hope in the future you gave us another opportunity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Ok

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Room was comfortable and clean. My only complaint was I reserved a smoking room which was not available upon my arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm glad that we meet your standard.My apology for not providing the smoking room upon request.Sorry for the misunderstanding of your reservation it wouldn't happen again.Thank you once again for choosing our property and hope in the future you gave us another chance to serve you better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Didn't feel safe in the area

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Hotel was ok for money but area seemed a bit dodgy . People at hotel were friendly though and shuttle service added bonus
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm glad to know the we meet your standard and the our value friendly staff was there to help you.Not forgetting our shuttle service was there right on time at your service.I'm sorry the you didn't like our surrounding areas but our neighbors are friendly.Thank you once again for choosing our property and I would love to invite you back next time you're in Jersey!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm glad the we could meet your standard.I'm sorry the you did not feel safe in the area.Hope in the future you can gave us another chance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk england

Nice hotel in run down area

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nice and quiet
Cons: Reception staff who can understand, and speak english
Location: Only stayed for two nights,and it rained.But a very good diner about a seven minute walk, on Lincoln.
I booked the hotel before we left for the USA, due to its nearness to Newark Airport, and it has a shuttle bus to Newark. Whilst on holiday, we realised, we would need an extra night, which I booked. On arrival, I explained what we had done about booking the hotel, and the very helpful guy on reception informed me that both days were on the system, and I just needed to pay for the one night, which we did.The next day, I had to take the car back to JFK New York, so I was out of the hotel for 5hrs. My wife had gone down to reception at about 2o/c to find out when our room would be done. only to be told that we were not booked in, and the room would not be done until she paid for the room. My wife tried to explain to the woman on reception, (who didn't understand english, and could hardly speak english, and also didn't know how there booking in system worked), that we had already paid. She ended up paying again. I then got the problem sorted, when the shifts changed, and the guy who booked us in came back. This has cost us extra in exchange fees on the credit card. But why o why do these hotels employ people on the front desk, who have a very bad grasp of english, that spoils our stay, with unnessery stress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you Mick for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm extremely sorry to hear of such an unprofessional act on our front desk staff behalf.I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for the misunderstanding because the situation at hand was definitely handled poorly.I would like you to know our front desk staff has been verbally warned to prevent situation like this to repeat at itself in the future.I thank you once again for choosing our property and I would love to invite you back to better serve you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Spent one night before my flight from newark. It was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.I'm extremely happy to know the we meet your expectation.Thank you once again for choosing our property and I definitely would love to invite you back next time you're visit Jersey!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very practical and close to the airport.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Very practical and close to the airport. Large rooms, complementary breakfast, and airport shuttle service that runs 24/7.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm extremely happy to know with exceeded your expectation.And that you found our value friendly hotel a great place to stay. Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.I'm extremely happy to know we exceeded your expectation and the you found our value friendly hotel a great place to stay.Thank you once again for choosing our property.Hope to see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable in bad neighborhood.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Expedia claimed it was 2 miles from the Newark airport, but it was more like 15 min ($26 cab ride).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you went through and that you miss our complimentary shuttle service.Our hotel have a complimentary shuttle service 24hrsa day and 7days a week.Thank you once again and hope in the future you can gave us another opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.I'm sorry to know the you have to take a taxi when we have a complimentary shuttle for every customer that arrive at a Newark Airport.Our schedule is flexible and it run 24hrs and 7 day a week.Sorry that the information the Expedia provide was wrong.Hope in the future you can gave us another chance to serve you better.