Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy from London

Lovely hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Menus at breakfast, a wider variety of advice on where to go!
The hotel staff were lovely, welcoming, friendly, always looking to help! The advice given on where to go/what to see was not very good, but I suppose that is a matter which is dependant on the person! The rooms were perfect, exactly as described, not fancy but clean, comfortable and kind of quaint. The breakfasts were delicious! With a lack of menu it was originally a little confusing as to what was on offer but when we worked it out it was delicious! Breads, hams, cheeses, omelates, as well as many other things! The interior was similar to the rooms, it was really lovely! The pool had thermal water so it was warm and salty which originally we did not like, but when we realised this was the case everywhere on the island and the water makes your skin soft and lovely we quickly changed our opinion! On top of everything, the wine was lovely and only 5euros for a litre!!!! The nearby town of Ischia Porto is nice, but if you walk a little further to Ischia Ponte it is much more worth it! Casamicciolo on the other side is also nice but again if you continue to Lacco Amano, it is worth it! In Lacco Amano there is a lovely restaurant called Kalinikta which is DIVINE. Also this town has the wonderful spa Negumbo. Further around the island, San. Angelou is beautiful!!! The bus goes all the way around the island, you must have a ticket which can be bought from reception but it is not necessary to stamp it giving you free travel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fiona from Beckenham, Greater London, UK

Great hotel for families with teenagers

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful.
Cons: No lunch menu displayed so not sure what was on offer.
Location: Superb location with a bus stop outside, 10 minute bus journey to the town/port.
We had a lovely relaxing holiday and spent most days around the pool which was very clean with plenty of sunbeds. We had two rooms and both were of a good size and very clean. The staff were really helpful. The location was good with a bus stop outside. This is a lovely island and a great hotel with breath-taking views and we would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sebastiano and Nisha from London

Brilliant Hotel Gemma!

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our second stay at Hotel Gemma, after our honey moon in 2011. We returned in June 2013 for our wedding anniversary and the family running the hotel is still the same, with still the same warm and nurturing atmosphere. Very enjoyable swimming pool with spa water (your skin stays so beautifully smooth). Brilliant location for local transports with bus stops at the doorsteps. And then, just outside the doors, there is the fantastic Ischia island. Very recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kari from Finland

Good one - reasonable distance to the places

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I spent one week at Hotel Gemma in the middle of May 2013. It's a nice family-run hotel between Ischia Porto and Casamicciola Terme. Staff is friendly, helpful and really dedicated to run the hotel. Room was clean, and with balcony which was nice. Nice view from the roof terrace! Breakfast was included to the price and it was very good: regular stuff from buffet (bread, butter, jam, yogurt, coffees, fruits...), other things like eggs, ham, cheese and/or tomatos comes by request. Nice dinner restaurant in the hotel, other ones within reasonable walking distance. Bus stops next to the hotel, walking distance to Ischia Porto ~2 km and to the port of Casamicciola Terme ~1 km. Please note: buses are always full - and it means f-u-l-l: principally there are no seating places available. And the island is (obviously!) quite hilly, so if your legs are not in good condition, maybe it's better to choose another hotel, closer to the center of Ischia. To me this was one of the best price/quality ratios I've ever been in western/southern Europe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carole from Ireland

lovely family run hotel

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely friendly hotel,great food,personal service. Enjoyed the thermal pool. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, RI

Review

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
This was a nice vacation away from everything. I would recommend staying that this hotel. The people are friendly, the food is good, and the location is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Excellent service great Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
The owners are a small family that work the hotel togather. They take great pride in the hotel and it shows. I haven't a bad word to say about the place. Just great all around. The swimming pool is steller. The view from our room was stellar. The service was stellar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay here. we were given a sea-side room because there was an opening. the onlything that was not ideal wasw that there was a confusion with the payment. different websites gave us different information about renting a double room for 3 people..we ended up having to pay more than we thought for the third person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hotel Gemma is a little Gem

Posted Aug 22, 2009
Really enjoyed my stay in hotel Gemma, we had requested a sea view and got one. The room was a good size and the air conditioning very quiet and effective. The staff were really friendly and attentive. They even threw a party for all the hotel guests and friends for the fiesta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

So glad we went, can't wait to go back

Posted Jul 20, 2009
Had a fantastic holiday, Franco and Rita made us so welcome, we felt like family. Nothing was too much bother. The hotel has some spectacular views from its multi terraced roof and its restaurant terrace where we spent many hours using the free broadband connection showing our friends and family the views of the bay of Naples via web cam. This is only a 3* hotel but it feels far superior with its personal service. The room was pleasantly presented, clean with en suite bathroom and plenty of socket outlets. We were treated to an evening meal while we were there, At no extra cost. Central Casamicciola is a short walk away and the bus service to all parts of the island stops outside the hotel.