Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Wonderful boutique hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, beautiful location and rooms, breakfast and activities included.
Cons: There was some construction around the hotel but it was not a deal breaker. Should be completed soon
Location: Snorkeling, private beaches, Mayan ruins, nightlife, shopping are all within a quick trip on the golf cart or a short inexpensive cab ride.
We had a wonderful experience. A full breakfast and activities such as snorkeling, kayaking and other water activities are included in the room price which ended up being the best of both worlds since we were not confined to an all-inclusive resort, but we had many of the amenities that go along with this type of package. The end of our stay summed up what had already been a perfect week. We came back to our room which was one of the economy villas (this was lovely and had an ocean view). There is not a bad room in the hotel. There was a slight leak in the bathroom which the very helpful staff immediately worked to fix. During this time (approximately 5-10 minutes after we discovered it), the owner came out and said we'd like to move you to the Presidential Suite for the inconvenience. It was an incredible and unexpected way to spend the last night of our vacation and sums up high focus on service at Casa de los Seunos . Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Stunning views at this peaceful retreat

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Views, attention to details, cleanliness
Cons: Construction was going on during our stay, we would've loved if it was complete so we could enjoy the swim up bar that is being added!
Location: Very close to Punta Sur, most beautiful scenery on the island. Town/piers/beach are 15 minutes by golf cart but very safe to travel, even at night
We stayed at Casa Los Suneos 2/27/2015- 3/4/2015. This was our first time staying in a "boutique" hotel, we are accustomed to larger more well-known hotels. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend. The staff did not miss any of the small amenities that you find in a larger hotel such as: a complimentary welcome drink, bicycles, paddle boards, kayaks and snorkel gear available for use, robes, hairdryers and spa quality toiletries and turn down service. The hotel also had additional perks such as coffee & oj outside of your door every morning and a full breakfast (ordered from menu) included with your stay. The atmosphere was beautiful and while the hotel was at full capacity (10 rooms - all ocean view) we hardly ever saw other guests. It was like we had the whole place to ourselves. Other friends were staying on the island & we had dinner at the restaurant on our last night, the view/atmosphere was breathtaking and the meal was wonderful. The only down side to our trip was that our friends stayed in town and it was 15 minute golf cart ride to get back to Casa. When we spent the day at the beach we ended up having dinner in our beach gear because we didn't want to spend the time to go back to Casa to shower and then head back to town. Luckily the island is pretty casual so we fit right in! While the distance did put us at a disadvantage under those circumstances, it was nice to "escape" to our little private retreat each night. Total serenity!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Trouble in paradise

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: This is a beautiful place with clean rooms and incredible scenery- just sad we used the last 2 days of our trip concerned about showers and safety.
Cons: Hot water is a must and patrons need to feel safe and secure to rest.
We booked the Presidential Suite at Casa De Los Suenos to enjoy the last 2 days of our vacation while celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. This property is beautiful and well maintained, but we were not thrilled with the staff response to some of our concerns. The first night, at about 11:00 pm, we were awakened by pounding on our door and lights that mysteriously switched on in the bedroom. When answering the door it was a staff member who was surprised to see my husband in the room and quickly apologized laughing that she had made a 'mistake'. Then, wide awake we investigated and found that the suite (which adjoins to several other rooms and seating areas) actually has 6 doors; 3 of which were not locked. The light in the bedroom we theorized could have been double switched into one of these other spaces- we were very uneasy and felt unsafe in the space. When we questioned the front desk staff in the morning we were told it was a simple mistake made by a maid. The second night, we were once again awakened by lights coming on in the bedroom. Meanwhile, during the 2 days we were never able to take showers as there was no hot water available. We reported the lack of hot water the first day, were told it was fixed, but it never was. Upon check out, we inquired about any refund considerations given the circumstances of our stay and were told by the staff member we spoke with that because we booked through Expedia, they had no control over refunds and could not assist us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Beatiful facilities and great staff

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Internet search
Cons: only downside of our stay was an ongoing construction project (they are building additional pools) that added quite a bit of noise during the day...
Location: Away from the noisy downtown but close enough for a 10 minute ride to all the shops and restaurants there.
This is what a small luxury boutique hotel should all about: quality rather than quantity. Elegantly appointed rooms with incredible views. The included breakfast was excellent and the hotels restaurant was very good as well, albeit a bit pricey. What in our minds sets Casa de Los Suenos apart is the staff...and "Capu" the taxi driver associated with the hotel that makes getting around the island at all times of the day and night very safe and convenient...and even much cheaper than renting a golf cart. Also, they have free bicycles which are great to ride in this more remote part of the island. No beach (although you can use Maria Konkin's just 50 yards away) but they do have a very sunbathing deck and a nice dock with plenty of water sport equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Great overall experience

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Small with just 10 rooms.
Cons: It is most appealing to couples of any age, although lots of steps everywhere.
Location: Many areas to walk to. Bikes and kayaks free for guests. Taxis readily available
Everything was wonderful! We have always stayed on the beach in the past and at first glance thought we would miss the sand between our toes and walking into the water from the shore. That was not the case. The deck and pier at and over the water left nothing to be desired. We snorkeled to our hearts content and saw squid, starfish, blue, yellow, stripped and silver fish of varying shapes and sizes. The staff and owners were very friendly and genuine. The location makes it an easy walk to the South Beach and Turtle farm as well as walks along the more rugged windward side of the island. We enjoyed spectacular sunsets as we sipped exotic beverages from the infinity pool. Fellow guests added to the enjoyment of the trip. The 10 rooms varied in sizes and views so check out the one you want. The restaurant had many seafood offerings which were delicious. The island offers many excellent places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

The perfect relaxing getaway

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Only little things - a chair in the room to be able to put my shoes on easier and rugs on both sides of the bed to wipe sand of my feet.
Location: On the southwest end of the island, away from larger hotels and crowds. The shops and white sand beach of the north side is a 5 min. cab ride away.
This hotel was wonderful. The staff was very friendly, attentive and willing to go out of their way to help in any way they could - even going so far as to take the pillows off of their own bed so that I would be more comfortable in mine! If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, far from hustle and bustle, but with all the comforts from home and the tropics combined, this is your place to stay. The lobby has a television and many different games to play (boards games, cards, etc.), the infinity pool with bar is great in the afternoon, and the sundeck and pier facing the sunset are amazing in the evening. The newly renovated restaurant below the hotel has great ambiance and food, and is open to those not staying at the hotel as well, so make sure to check it out (it also overlooks the pier). The hotel provides beach bikes, kayaks and snorkeling gear, which are perfect for leisurely afternoons - we road around the island one day and stopped at local restaurants, and kayaked and snorkeled on the reef just off the deck on another day. The waiters from the restaurant also service the deck, so when we were done in the water we were able to enjoy the sunset on the deck with refreshments. The room was very comfortable - it had daily cleaning and turn-down service daily (providing ice and chocolate mints) - and had a nice patio from which we could see the reef and the sunset. They also arrange SCUBA trips through Squalo Adventures - the diving is great off the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Like staying at a friends beach side villa!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Everything. From reception to checkout, everything was pretty close to perfect!
Cons: The one thing I would have liked in my room (Luna) is some sort of entertainment center where i can plug in an Ipod and hear some music.
Location: Isla Mujures is charming and sedate compared to Cancun. Plenty of things to do and see and some fine resturants, but be sure to make reservations!
Lovely boutiqe hotel, friendly staff, including the resident cats. Everything about this hotel was warm and welcoming, at times I felt like I was staying at my very rich friends private villa, such was the vibe. There was some construction noise near the beach where workers were working on landscaping working towards installing additional pools and a water slide(or so I was told on inquiry). Once that happens, I can imagine this place being more attractive to families with children which is something i would not enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Gorgeous ocean-view, unbeatable amenities

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: View, amenity, exclusivity.
Location: garrafon reef park, punta sur.
If you long for a seclusive and relaxing vacation, this is where you want to stay. We split our trip between the Cancun hotel zone and Isla Muheres, and the latter was a much more enjoyable experience. We stayed at the King suite of Casa de los Suenos located near the south tip of the island. The location is very close to the garrafon reef park where you zipline or snorkel and punta sur (the south end), a popular sunrise vantage. We fell in love with the hotel's seclusive environment and fabulous view almost instantly. As soon as you walk in, there is the pool and the ocean in front of you. The hotel restaurant is right above the deck and you enjoy a gorgeous view while you breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Our room was on the second floor and had a huge balcony with a coffee table and beach chairs overlooking the Caribbean. The amenities are also amazing - we had access to free kayaking, biking, and snorkeling, right off the deck of the hotel. If you prefer, you don't have to ever venture out of Casa de los Suenos for your favorite water activities. Of course, if you have to check your emails the hotel provides free wifi as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - they helped us make restaurant reservations and even lent us their laptop for a work emergency. The hotel has a higher price point and is worth every bit of it. Consider all the free amenities offered and the exclusivity, it is a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Best romantic hotel to stay on Isla!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Views, interior design, restaurant, food, staff - everything is great.
Just came back today, stayed 3 nights in Serenidad (jacuzzi) suite for romantic getaway. The hotel is pricey, but you really get what you pay for. Everything was just perfect! Amazing views - both from the room and from the restaurant. The design of the room and all of the hotel is great. It is not just "nice" - it is real DESIGN. Every little thing - starting from the doors and furniture to the beaded lizard sculptures in the bathroom - great. My husband travels a lot, he always pays attention to beds in the hotels: he was really impressed with the bed - kind of softy, but very supportive. Great restaurant too: delicious food, nice setting, perfect music. Also I'd have to mention the stuff - always there, always helpful. Especially reception desk: very intelligent service, knowledgeable advice, help with everything you possibly need - just the way it should be. Great experience! Six stars from me :)))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Lovely Oasis

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff made us feel at home as soon as we got there. We pre-arranged our transportation through them which was super easy. Every morning we had coffee and juice waiting outside our door. The room was spacious and the view was to die for. The food at the hotel was the best that we had on the island. The service was excellent! We will definitely go back!