Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Central to town and opposite the beach/promenade!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The room was just a tad small!
Location: Horse drawn tram, town centre, beach, electric railway, steam railway!
A very welcoming hotel. The breakfast is outstanding and we really enjoyed sitting looking out to see in the breakfast room. Friendly, central and very clean, we will definitely stay here again, nowhere else on the island compares!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Celizabe from London

Good staff, good location, room not great

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just returned from a 2 night trip; overall the hotel has good service, breakfast and location. The room (105) left a lot to be desired. We were overlooking the air conditioning vents and the bathroom was extremely out of date and dark. We had no hotel or locality information in the bedroom and we were missing sockets near mirrors. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by John T

Bad dining experience

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Nice room
Cons: Customer service in the restaurant
Checked into this hotel for a one night stay whilst on business. Check in was good with a very friendly member of staff, I was told my room had been upgraded which was nice. The room itself was a good size and very modern and clean, but it overlooked the back service entrance of hotel. I had booked a table for 6.30 for dinner, upon arrival at the restaurant I was greeted very rudely and was told to sit anywhere, then a menu and wine list were literally thrown on my table. I was left to sit for at least 10 minutes waiting to be asked if i would like a drink, nobody arrived so I left the restaurant to spend my money somewhere else. I could not find another restaurant near the hotel, so I returned starving and told the girl I would order room service. The meal was delivered by the duty manager and he apologised and said the meal was going to be no charge. I appreciated this offer, but would rather have had a nice meal originally in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent beds and customer services

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good location, comfortable beds, excellent food and helpful friendly stuff. Cons: rooms are not that clean and good for an 4 star hotel and the water pressure in the bath is unstable (it may stop completely while you taking a shower).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by alan from glasgow, scotland

Single night in December

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Good location, clean and modernised throughout.
Cons: The restaurant was a triumph of style over substance. Looked better than the food turned out to be.
Location: Near everything, right on the prom.
Good stay in a one bedroom suite. Adequate facilities and good standard overall.
3 out of 5
by RR from Tuncurry

Good location, room standard very disappointing

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: How do you improve the size of rooms?
Location: Quick access to shopping and food outlets. Right on the esplanade.
Reception, lounge and location of hotel could justify the 4 stars shown above Reception area. However, our room was very disappointing. 2 stars at most. Lift to first floor of little use with cases as after exiting lift there were 2 sets of steps and 3 heavy doors to negotiate. The room was extremely small. No room for cases, a small wardrobe that was difficult to access and the outlook from our window, dismal. The room became stuffy, large window could only be opened at certain times due to security and possible entry by nearby pigeons. Bathroom facilities were fine, including rack for drying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel well located

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Original room (102) we booked online as an upgrade from a standard room. We were disappointed with the outlook as it was rear facing looking onto the landing of the fire escape. At 6.45 am we were woken by banging and clattering of metal bins , the sound of an electric hoist and voices of the kitchen staff. We requested a move and were offered a sea view room on the 2nd floor at an additional cost of £30.00 per night. This was a very good room. It should be noted that the original room should not be offered to guests as it is not fit for purpose.