Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The Hotel and especially our room was exeptionally; clean and the food was the best we had ever tasted.
Location: It was close to the beech and main road which had frequent bus route to the town and other areas of the Island
This Hotel was easy to find. Very welcoming and had a family run feeling to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel less than a minute from the promenade.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Staff were very friendly happy to chat when your in the restaurant when not busy, hotel less than a minute from the promenade and casino/movies and a 5-10 min walk to the town centre. Hotel is clean enough the room i was in was a small single with shower room but separate toilet down hall not the end of the world only problem which was not to bad for me as but may be for older people etc was the 4 or 5 flights of stairs. Overall 4 out of 5 and i would recommend for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, Hi,

Great hotel and our room had a wonderful sea view.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location, recently renovated and upgraded rooms. Angie and Chris (the two folks in charge of the place) were great. Breakfast was very good.
Location: Easy walk along the waterfront to the heart of town. We took the public bus around 3/4 of the island for a cost of 7 pounds each. Great!
We enjoyed everything about the Mereside, but must tell you that our room was not cleaned for the first night of our stay. Management was most apologetic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MikeWfrom Reading

Good value single rooms

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a single traveller it's often difficult to find reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price, and I'm pleased to say The Mereside does offer that. The room I had could be sold by some other establishments as a (small) double so I was pleased with the size of it for one person. Just one or two gripes - it was described as having a sea view but only if you craned your neck out of the window! Being on the first floor it was overlooked by the restuarant and rooms of the hotel on the opposite side of the street - whose rooms had net curtains but mine didn't! The shower cubicle was very small, not good for anyone with a largish frame, and the shower head seemed to be held together with tape. The soap dish kept falling off. Breakfast was reasonable, kippers on offer as well as full cooked breakfast which sometimes was a buffet and sometimes had to be ordered. The hotel is one of three run by the same people, so they may not be around when you want to check in, as I found when I arrived at around 4.30 p.m. There's a note on the door saying you should call them, not much use if you don't happen to have a phone to hand! Location wise it's just off the promenade, about 25 minutes walk to the ferry terminal and 10-15 minutes to the Electric railway. Horse trams in the summer pass by but off season the buses are at best only every 20 minutes and in the evenings only once an hour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four days of disappointment

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: the pudding!
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to the water front, central location good access.
I stayed for four days for a business trip on the Isle of Man. This is not run like a hotel, everything is run through the bar. So there is no central hotel desk. The room was quirky and weired, not a great job done with the fit out, someone had wonky eyesight! The bathroom was very small. The room had not been cleaned the entire time I was there, cobwebs in the bathroom remained there the entire time I stayed, a dirty coffee cup was not collected until after three days. Have stayed at better hotels. Food not particularly great, but a great sticky toffee pudding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham

isle of man

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: the room was great and the service good
had a great stay in a lovely hotel where the staff were friendly and very helpful would reccommend it to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

ontbijt en dinner waren prima

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Mereside bestaat uit 3 huizen. Sliep niet in The Mereside, maar ernaast op de hoogste verdieping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice but cold if you didn't arrive as soon as it was put out.
Cons: Front of house staff, being allocated the hotel you book, attention to detail. Correct breakfast times as they finished earlier on the Saturday witho
Location: Well any one going to the Isle of Man will not be disappointed. We were based in Douglas near to the Grandstand(manx grand Prix) week, near the town
I booked the Mereside as the write up and photos made the rooms look lovely and with sea views it was just what i needed for my holiday. The sitting area made the rooms sound spacious. However on arrival I was told I as in a hotel " doors down the road and had to come back to the Mereside each morning for my breakfast. There isn't any reception you have to book in at the restaurant/public bar area. The hotel we were guided to was like an empty house, no meet and greet, the room was the smallest I have ever stayed in and my 'sea view' was a brick wall and roof view. 1bath and 1 hand towel for 2 adults I had to go back down the roar to the pub to ask for another set!! Tea and coffee supplies were not replenished every day and I had to leave a note requesting a light bulb to be replaced..as no front of house staff available. It was a cold environment and not enjoyable at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunderland

Excellent location for TT fans

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the food, the fantastic room were we given, the staff, really friendly
Cons: Our visit went fine, nothing comes to mind that would have made it better!
Location: The hotels location is brilliant for TT visitors as it is very close to the TT start, the villa Marina and the town centre, lots of eatery's near by
This was a late booking arranged as a birthday surprise to visit the IoM for the Classic TT and MGP, and the dates were dictated by available ferry crossings. Overall, we had a brilliant time, the weather didn't interfere too much with proceedings and we managed to fit in lots of sight seeing as well as watching the racing. It's the first time I've stayed in Douglas and the hotel was located fairly central between the town centre and the TT Grandstand, just back from the promenade and surrounded by lots of other hotels, guest houses and apartments. We did try the hotel restaurant on two occasions and found it to be excellent, serving quality local sourced seafood and meat, breakfasts were phenomenal and the staff very friendly and attentive