Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel less than a minute from the promenade.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Staff were very friendly happy to chat when your in the restaurant when not busy, hotel less than a minute from the promenade and casino/movies and a 5-10 min walk to the town centre. Hotel is clean enough the room i was in was a small single with shower room but separate toilet down hall not the end of the world only problem which was not to bad for me as but may be for older people etc was the 4 or 5 flights of stairs. Overall 4 out of 5 and i would recommend for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hi,

Great hotel and our room had a wonderful sea view.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location, recently renovated and upgraded rooms. Angie and Chris (the two folks in charge of the place) were great. Breakfast was very good.
Location: Easy walk along the waterfront to the heart of town. We took the public bus around 3/4 of the island for a cost of 7 pounds each. Great!
We enjoyed everything about the Mereside, but must tell you that our room was not cleaned for the first night of our stay. Management was most apologetic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four days of disappointment

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: the pudding!
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to the water front, central location good access.
I stayed for four days for a business trip on the Isle of Man. This is not run like a hotel, everything is run through the bar. So there is no central hotel desk. The room was quirky and weired, not a great job done with the fit out, someone had wonky eyesight! The bathroom was very small. The room had not been cleaned the entire time I was there, cobwebs in the bathroom remained there the entire time I stayed, a dirty coffee cup was not collected until after three days. Have stayed at better hotels. Food not particularly great, but a great sticky toffee pudding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

isle of man

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: the room was great and the service good
had a great stay in a lovely hotel where the staff were friendly and very helpful would reccommend it to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice but cold if you didn't arrive as soon as it was put out.
Cons: Front of house staff, being allocated the hotel you book, attention to detail. Correct breakfast times as they finished earlier on the Saturday witho
Location: Well any one going to the Isle of Man will not be disappointed. We were based in Douglas near to the Grandstand(manx grand Prix) week, near the town
I booked the Mereside as the write up and photos made the rooms look lovely and with sea views it was just what i needed for my holiday. The sitting area made the rooms sound spacious. However on arrival I was told I as in a hotel " doors down the road and had to come back to the Mereside each morning for my breakfast. There isn't any reception you have to book in at the restaurant/public bar area. The hotel we were guided to was like an empty house, no meet and greet, the room was the smallest I have ever stayed in and my 'sea view' was a brick wall and roof view. 1bath and 1 hand towel for 2 adults I had to go back down the roar to the pub to ask for another set!! Tea and coffee supplies were not replenished every day and I had to leave a note requesting a light bulb to be replaced..as no front of house staff available. It was a cold environment and not enjoyable at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Excellent location for TT fans

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the food, the fantastic room were we given, the staff, really friendly
Cons: Our visit went fine, nothing comes to mind that would have made it better!
Location: The hotels location is brilliant for TT visitors as it is very close to the TT start, the villa Marina and the town centre, lots of eatery's near by
This was a late booking arranged as a birthday surprise to visit the IoM for the Classic TT and MGP, and the dates were dictated by available ferry crossings. Overall, we had a brilliant time, the weather didn't interfere too much with proceedings and we managed to fit in lots of sight seeing as well as watching the racing. It's the first time I've stayed in Douglas and the hotel was located fairly central between the town centre and the TT Grandstand, just back from the promenade and surrounded by lots of other hotels, guest houses and apartments. We did try the hotel restaurant on two occasions and found it to be excellent, serving quality local sourced seafood and meat, breakfasts were phenomenal and the staff very friendly and attentive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly service

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Breakfast did not match the other meals - ok but could be better. Especially, the coffee was not the same as that provided in the evening.
Location: A great location, close to the promenade and the to the horse tram stop. An easy walk to the high street.
A very friendly hotel, excellent comfie rooms and great pub evening meals. Very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SB from London

Good Location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff and management, great food, comfortable and clean room and it's location made it easy to travel anywhere on the island. Would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient for my elderly mother

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Relaxed friendly helpful staff. Very clean room.
Cons: Could do with a lounge.
Staff extremely helpful. Room facilities excellent for my elderly mother. would be nice if the hotel had a lounge to sit in only thing missing.