Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful base for a weeklong holiday

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the room which looked over the most attractive atrium, with its jungle, ponds and waterfalls, and goldfish. The public rooms looked over a lovely view out to sea. A big bedroom and bathroom, with a very comfortable bed. Being right on the promenade, it was very handly for views, public transport (horse tram and buses). The room was a little too warm, but we found the fan kept it reasonably cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alanfrom Isle of Man

Fantastic service

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exceptional service throughout the hotel. Room excellent and located in the heart of Douglas. Breakfast superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robertfrom Edinburgh

Great Hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on business for two nights. The breakfast and the service was good. Having your own balcony overlooking the atrium gives the hotel a medeteranian feel no matter what the weather is like outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mefrom Manchester

Hotel was near the town centre

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: friendly staff & clean
Cons: none
Location: Laxy wheel is only 30mins from the hotel 0n public transport & peel the same
Local are very frendly & public transport was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a nice hotel and the rooms were spacious.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
The only issue we had was with the lighting as it was not possible to have just a bed side lamp on, which means it is not possible for someone to stay up late and read if their partner wants to sleep!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Traditional hotel on the seafront

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel. I had a newly refurbished room overlooking the winter garden. It was well appointed with reasonably fast wifi. I really liked the balcony with armchairs - a pleasant place to sit with the sound of the fountains. Breakfast was nice but some of the hotel is still obviously in need of refurbishment. the only thing I did not like was that the beautiful bathroom was spoiled by thick black mould on the shower - horrible and I did not use it. Strange when the rest of the room was so nice and clearly new
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by howardballard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hmm

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Interior decor
Hotel was rated as 4 star but not of that quality. We complained about the room we started with which was dark and had a window that looked into a small light well. It also had plaster board walls so no sound proofing. The hotel upgraded us to a better room which at least looked into the central court yard. However the sofa and much of the furniture and carpets were quite old. This hotel is a bit tired inside and in need of a makeover.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Paphos, Cyprus

Sad

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Position
Cons: Staff training
Location: Excellent
The Sefton is somewhat of an anathema! It has a great position in Douglas. It has a pleasant bar and restaurant. It has wi-fi in all rooms (though when I stayed there in August 2013, it worked for half of the week only. The hotel blamed Manx Telecom - I am not sure... The indoor swimming pool is now closed; permanently as far as I could see. Recession is obviously hurting. What was most evident though (and I have an enormous experience of hotels both as a guest and as a Director of them) is that the staff, from the manager downwards are little more than amateurs. They give glib answers to problematic questions and generally blame others. I would be most surprised if any of them have ever been to an hotel school in Switzerland or elsewhere (outside IOM). I was running a week long course there. Not once did the "events manager" show his/herself and ask if everything was OK (which it often was not). I asked my group who were local residents if their perception was the same as mine. The overwhelming response was that the hotel is tired, full of tired and undertrained staff, but guess what? It is still probably the best hotel in the Isle of Man! IOM tourism chief, take note! John August 2013