Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Location, location,location

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved the Sefton, very close to the main part of town and within walking distance to many tourist attractions. Really enjoyed our stay in the Isle of Man, it was everything we thought and more. We were even able to trace some ancestry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Val

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our room was spacious and clean, overlooking the Atrium. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially all the staff in the bar where we ate on most nights as the meals were great value for money. The Hotel is perfectly placed for the town centre. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a relaxing break

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Great position on the seafront overlooking the horse drawn trams and lovely prom. Breakfast choice very good. A little short staffed one morning. Comfy room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kaye

Dont stay here

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
I booked this 4* hotel and paid for an upgrade so that I would not have any hassle travelling alone. From checking in to checking out was a disappointment, sub standard room with non of the facilities in my booking allocated so had to complain to get even some of the things expected, dirty bathroom floor, towels not replaced, room not cleaned one day, no eggs for 30 minutes at breakfast one day, many staff don't speak English so put the phone down on you when you ask for something. Complaints not dealt with/ignored. Car park is tiny so don't expect to use it, local parking on street is restricted to 2 hours or you pay in an old dark multi story. All people checking out had mysterious phone charges on their bill, told it was a computer problem but beware!!! A miserable 3 nights and certainly not a hotel I would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by T.Osman

the positives outweight the negatives, just.

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pro: nice big sea view room (pays to upgrade) with separate seating area and dressing area and nice big bath room. Rooms clean. Nice full english breakfast (as part of room deal) Cons: lift didnt work, swimming pool was not working, fire alarm going off twice during night and early next morning, confused staff trying to send people back through the building from one entrance to the other. Wedding parties can make your stay disruptive if your room is in the wrong place and WORST OF ALL - NO HOT WATER on our second morning. A call to reception said someone would look at it. They may have at some point, we will never know as an hour later no one called us back and the fire alarm went off AGAIN.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Barberella

Hard to miss hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel receptionist greeted us was not very friendly, waited for room and view of the autrium was breath taking, just as in the photos. Very warm, but to be expected because of the autrium. Fan didnt work. Toilet rolls were not left in room and had to ring down to get them sent up, twice, found this very embarrassing. Also a wedding was on the saturday so the autrium was completely taken over, and the music contined until after one, and also it was hard to get served in the hotel bar because of all the wedding guests. The location was great, and easy to get to shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pretty good hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a room with a balcony over the atrium, which was a really attractive feature of this hotel. The weather was very dull and cool when we were there but we wondered how hot the room would get if the sun was shining brightly through the glass roof of the atrium, since our room had no air conditioning and its only air came from the french windows that opened onto the balcony. In quite a few public areas en route to our room there were very unpleasant "institutional cooking" type smells; also there was no active air freshening service in our bathroom, so smells there took some time to clear! The staff were mostly pleasant, although on checkout the rather surly woman on reception firstly charged me for the full cost of the stay when I'd paid in advance (just as well I had my e-mail from Hotels.com in my pocket) and then I noticed I'd been charged for someone else's bar bill! So their administrative systems could be improved. This sounds like a rather negative review but overall we were pretty happy with our stay; we just felt it could have been better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but the atrium rooms have no view

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Food
Cons: No pool, inside room,
Location: Central to Douglas good views out to sea.
The room was pleasant but did not have an outside view. It looked into an indoor atrium consequently it was dark, hot and one had no idea of the weather outside. The lift did not work. The swimming pool was not available, neither was the spa. So disappointing. If I stayed here again I would require a sea view.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by charlotte

Dated, run down, not 4* as rated, needs gutting!

Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is no where near the 4 * as listed. The pool was out of action when we were then, bed was uncomfortable, hotel is dated, tatty looking and not as described as all. Would never go back. Surrounding area not much better either!