Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, immaculate hotel with great service

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Very helpful staff, very clean hotel, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ther were so many places to visit on this Island a week wasn't enough
Owners of Hotel really lovely helpful in every way and so friendly we will be returning to this Hotel. Everything very clean and comfortable,food Excelant. We really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Telford

Perfect accommodation for a visit to Shanklin

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: As already mentioned, plus that it was for adults only
Cons: Somewhere to keep drinks such as bottled water chilled especially in hot weather.
Location: Its location is perfect, close to shops, restaurants, bus stops etc and a short walk to the beach and further restaurants.
Stayed for four nights in the Birkdale Guest House with my son. We were offered a very welcome cup of tea/coffee on arrival and felt very much at home straight away. Our twin room was immaculate and every need was provided for. Breakfast was also superb, generous and plenty of choice. It was easy to travel around the island, with a superb bus service available at the end of the road from the Birkdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hillingdon

Nice hotel in the centre of shanklin old village

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was nice and central to all the local attractions that shanklin offers. Our room was a good size and spotlessly clean
Location: there are many attractions for all ages from cream teas in thatched cottages to crazy golf or a walk through shanklin chine,
we felt at home from the moment we arrived Bill and Jackie were fabulous hosts and Bill cooks a mean breakfast. We have stayed in a few B&Bs on the island over the years and this hotel ranks one of the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann from UK

very nice guest house in Old Shanklin

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: it's position, the breakfasts and the room
Cons: the chairs for watching TV were not very comfortable - a minor thing!
Location: 10 mins walk to Shanklin beach; in the old village; lots of places to eat
immaculate and everything works! even the fan in the bathroom is beautifully quiet. the breakfasts were the best we have ever had anywhere and we are well travelled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle & Pat from Northamptonshire

A pleasure to visit!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Small, clean and excellant reviews!!
Cons: I wouldn't want them to change anything as was perfect for our needs!!
Location: The Birkdale is 10 mins from train station by foot or you can bus/taxi, there are plenty of restaurants, cafe's and tea rooms.
Bill & Jackie are the perfect hosts! The rooms are en-suite and of a nice size can't fault a thing!! There is a full range of breakfast available and "The Birkdale Breakfast" is a must for any visitor!!! I booked this as a suprise break for our 1st wedding anniversary as i wanted to do "Shanklin Chine" as i'd heard it was a nice place to visit (and it was)!! Thank you for a most welcoming stay Bill & Jackie xx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-run B&B with great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Owners were friendly and received warm welcome upon arrival. Stayed here while attending IOW festival. Had ground floor twin room, which was comfortable and had plenty of room for me as a solo traveller. Breakfast is cook to order and was delicious. Great location with bus stop around the corner and various shops/restaurants within a short walking distance. A 10 minute walk from train station depending on your pace. Had a pleasant stay and hope to return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marie from Kent

Excellent

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would highly recommend I stayed here for business and got a warm welcome from Jackir and Bill Great breakfast great location Will definately stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan Zarutskie from Wilmington, NC

Great guesthouse

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well appointed room, clean ensuite bathroom, excellent breakfasts with large choice of hot and/or cold items. Pleasant sitting room next to breakfast room. Close to a number of good restaurants. Jackie and Bill are friendly and helpful hosts. We couldn't be more pleased with our 2 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend

Posted May 9, 2014
Excellent hotel - cannot fault in any way Rooms spotless and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Owners very friendly and welcoming - would highly recommend. Good position in Shanklin with plenty of good places to eat and drink nearby