Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN USA

Fabulous trip to paradise

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Location: Horse back riding, Zip lining, surfing/boogie boarding, swimming, sunning, hiking, walking on the beach, visiting a local town, kayaking, etc
Be prepared to be enchanted! The rough road leads to an amazing hotel with even more amazing people. This was a family vacation with our two older teenage children. From the beginning until the end, it was a vacation of a lifetime. We were greeted in the parking lot by a friendly face who turned out to be our concierge - this was a wonderful surprise! After our long journey, he recognized that we were hungry, and so he escorted us to the restaurant for a relaxing lunch and complimentary drink - oh, by the way, he checked us in as we gazed over the beautiful ocean view. The next trip was to our 3 bedroom villa that I can only say was amazing. The kids wondered if we had become rock stars since we left the States... yes, it was that amazing. The 1st night we thought we heard a gorilla... turned out to be a howler monkey - a veryLOUD howler monkey. By the end of our 1st day, our teenage son declared that he would have to stop saying everything was amazing because, well, everything was amazing! Our trip was filled with encounters with a truly caring and courteous hotel staff, first class food and accommodations, views to die for, wildlife sights and sounds from National Geographic, and did I mention the amazing people? We would return to Punta Islita in a heartbeat, and we actually discussed the need to start playing the lottery with the hope of returning to beautiful Costa Rica sooner vs. later. It is truly PURA VIDA!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave

Great Getaway Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Cons: The air conditioners in the room could be a little better for the humid nights there.
Overall, we had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The staff was incredibly nice and the rooms were very nice.
Comment from
Jan 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to post your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pricey for what you get

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Cons: Deluxe rooms design poor, not up to the price.
Location: Need 4X4, visit Coyote beach
Spent 2 nights in the deluxe room, not up to the price paid, very basic, impossible to take a nice shower as the water change temperature every time somebody else use the water in other rooms. Little ocean view, awesome location but noisy as the main road run in the valley below and you can hear every ATV or car that is driving past. The restaurant service is good and not too expensive, dinner for 2 no wine run around 60-70$. Very nice view from it and from the infinity view pool, macaws are common to see and if you are lucky and in the right season can see humpback whales jumping in the ocean. Friendly staff, would go back but not for almost 400$ p/n with only breakfast included.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita and for taking the time to pen a review. I am thrilled that you had opportunity to enjoy our surroundings, view, hospitality, and wildlife! That said, I am troubled that your experience with accommodations was not ideal. We certainly want to ensure that our rooms excel in their comfort and value. Your feedback will certainly allow us to guide our efforts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by angie from ridgewood, nj

A hotel Beyond any imaginable expectations

Posted Feb 1, 2014
It's almost impossible to describe in words what our experience was like at the Hotel Punta Islita. It's where Costa Rica's insane natural beauty and abundant wildlife and plant life comes together with the charm and open hearted nature of its local people to create the most perfect slice of heaven on Earth. A perfect honeymoon! On the beach, private, unbelievable customer service and pura vida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice resort with amazing ecological benefits.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
It takes a lot of travel time to get to Punta Islita. Once you are there, it is the best. Staff are over the top friendly and accommodating. Peaceful. You see giant sea turtles, exotic butterflies, monkeys, and other hard to see species. The SPA is fantastic. It's a romantic resort with many BENEFITS. We did our honeymoon there. It was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donna from Georgia-USA

Beautiful surroundings with wonderful wildlife

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was such a pristine area to stay with lovely flora and fauna all along the premises. It was so much fun to get up every morning to see what types of creatures we may see while walking down the stairs that lead to the beach. A wonderful adventure that we were fortunae to be on.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Thanks Donna! Enjoying an adventure is one of the most exciting elements of a Costa Rica vacation. Thanks for letting us showcase our pristine nature!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynch from OH

Excellent hotel and service

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful location and excellent service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel has zip lining and surfing on-site. The spa was very relaxing.
We had a fantastic time, the staff were always friendly and attentive and the service was outstanding. The room/view was beautiful. Would recommend to anyone and we will definitely stay there again next time we come back to Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chip from Florida

This Place Blew Us Away!!

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Great Food! Great drinks! Free wifi! The on site zip lining was super fun! The beach was absolutely beautiful!
From beginning to end, our stay was an incredible experience. The staff was extremely welcoming and were super attentive to our every need. The room was spacious, comfortable and had an incredible view! The grounds were beautifully maintained. The beach club pool and restaurant and the 1492 restaurant serve an outstanding variety of foods and every meal was superb! This is a perfect place to get away from it all and enjoy the beautiful Pacific coast of Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OHack from Pasadena

Great staff, beautiful environment

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved this resort. Fabulous view from our room, the grounds of the hotel are well maintained and offer many different flora and fauna to see on walks down to the ocean. Good food in the 1492 restaurant, excellent bartenders at the pool bars. Marvin, our concierge, was most helpful. We also appreciated Edgar who works in the restaurant. There are many excursions to take nearby the hotel that can be enjoyed. Note: They charge you for the shuttle from the 'airport' at Punta Islita to the hotel, which I thought inappropriate considering how much you are spending to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine M from Palo Alto CA

World Class 5 star hotel in Islita

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was one of the finest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The staff were amazing - service A+, the views so breathtaking we did not want to leave after 4 luxurious, relaxing days in a beautiful villa with incredible views, superb activities (we witnessed a sea turtle laying its eggs on a storm on a remote beach one evening, macaw wildlife reserve, kayaking down Ora River to the ocean.. ) . The restaurant food was first rate and the prices were exceptionally reasonable considering the remoteness of the resort. We would return in an instant. A must for the bucket list. We even had a band of howler monkeys visit our villa backyard one evening as we swam in our own lap pool.. the hotel pool (next to the restaurant - has to be seen to be believed... the views.... GO GO GO ...