Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Chicago

Close to everything in the old city

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: marble floors, modern amenities, the view from the terrace.
Cons: noise reduction.
Location: the hamam is right across the street, blue mosque/aya sophia/basilica citern 2 blocks away. grand bazaar 4 blocks away
Very clean hotel, very nice staff. room was a bit small, but the bed was very comfortable. walls are paper thin, you can hear everything in the hallway. facilities were very clean. would recommend for a single traveller, or a couple
4 out of 5
by JW from Edinburgh

Small but perfectly located

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: How can you overbook a hotel with 11 rooms?
Having made our booking more than 5 months before arrival we were utterly disappointed to find the hotel overbooked for the first night of our 6 night stay. We were taken to a very poor hotel around the corner and told to take our complaints up with the manager on Monday. So, after a pretty unsatisfactory start the rest of our stay was pretty average. The Agora is a nice, small hotel that really wins thanks to its proximity to all the major tourist sites. Our room was fairly small but was kept clean and tidy by housekeeping. Breakfast featured a wide selection of (mostly Turkish) items but was kept well stocked. When we spoke to the manager about our sub standard first night he offered a free transfer to the airport and a bottle of wine and promised to come back to us about compensation-we're still waiting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dilip from Los Angeles

Hotel is very good nice location.

Posted Sep 28, 2013
We had a wonderful time visiting Istanbul. This hotel contributed greatly to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hotel management and staff was very helpful and courteous. Location is perfect close to all the Historic monuments including Blue Mosque,Topkapi Palace,Hoya Sofia ,Grand Bazar all in walking distance. Priced very reasonable. We recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Wonderful Oasis in the Old City

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed twice at the Agora Life and each stay has been lovely. Although the suite we had booked and paid for wasn't available the day we arrived and we had to stay one night of the six we had booked in another room, they made up for the inconvenience by arranging free transport to the airport the day we left. The location can't be faulted, close to everything you will want to see and the view from the rooftop terrace is superb. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast omelets the best we had in a month's trip in Turkey. The front desk is very helpful in every way and the other hotel staff are charming and warm and efficient.
1 out of 5
by David from Australia

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Proximity to sights in Sultanahamet
Location: Close to Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, trams.
Overall my stay at the Agora Life Hotel was very disappointing. The room on the first night had the air conditioning blowing directly on my neck, then I was moved to a different room which had the air con in a better position. However, the electricity kept cutting out, and then the following morning there was no water for over half an hour - not great when you're in the middle of shampooing your hair! The location is ok if you are wishing to stay in Sultanahamet, however there are much nicer places to stay. Particularly in summer when you really need the cooling waters of a swimming pool after a long hot day of sightseeing - not an offering of this hotel. Additionally the security of the rooms is quite poor - there is no way to lock the door from the inside apart from the button in the handle, so there is nothing stopping someone if they really wanted to pick the lock while you are sleeping. Overall, not a great experience - I would recommend somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Great view from roof top terrace. Great location Excellent breakfast Helpful staff
Location: Blue mosque, Ayia Sofia and Topkapi palace very close. Also within walking distance of geand bazaar.
Lovely small hotel close to all main sights, but down a quiet lane so nice and peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cliff from NJ

Good value

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was satisfactory.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JW from USA

Good location, friendly staff, but only ok.

Posted Aug 1, 2013
It was my first time in istanbul. The location was wonderful and the staff were very friendly. When we first arrived the front desk went over the city and sites with us for 15 minutes. And they continued to be very helpful in answering questions throughout out our stay. The room was definitely on the small side and had very thin walls. The bathrooms were newly renovated, but I thought the bed and sheets were a joke they were so bad. I would probably look elsewhere if I were going back to istanbul. By no means though would I say this hotel was a bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jorge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

istanbul hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2013
The hotels location was great - walking distance to all of the sights in the area. The reviews I read on the Agora Life hotel were great and therefore my expectations were high. It was not at all what I expected or had in mind after reading the rave reviews. Our room faced the back alley & the AC unit, we shared a balcony with the room next door & the rooftop view was beautiful but not a place to hangout as there were no services available upstairs( you could request at the front desk coffee, tea etc to be brought up but not convenient ). There were many other hotels in the price range that I would consider before going back to Agora Life.