Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Spend whole night itching

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Horrible experience. ended up spending one night and that too spend itching. Not what i expected. Will highly unrecommend this hotel as it was a worst experience we had compared to all other hotels in istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nadz from Dubai

staff are amazing

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: satff were really nice and helpful
Location: excellent location
the utmost benefit of the hotel is its location, its close to all the attractions and the metro, staff were excellent and very helpful and they made our stay pleasant. breakfast was good with different varieties every day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marcelke from lobdon

Excellent location near to all tourist attractions

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Delightful staff. I moved room to bigger one with bath for small increase. Rooms were clean lovely bedlinens. Bathrooms could be tidied up around bath area. Very slight mould but minor. Nice plain but fresh breakfast- they should offer boiled eggs every day as this is a popular choice. Would recommend as very comfortable and welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Hampshire, England.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Very good position to walk into the main areas of Sultanahmet. Staff very helpful and friendly and great food from the restaurant.
Cons: Perhaps an extra maintenance check required as we had two bulbs not working in the room (but was not a problem).
Location: Brilliant location. we walked to all the main tourist sites, 10 mins to Blue Mosque, 20 mins to the palace. Close to the Bazaar and ferry terminal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Cardiff

Great place to stay in the old city

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Place and friendliness
Cons: I guess tea and decaf free in the room would help: we bought stuff including milk to tide us over. Charging for tea in the room is a bit silly.
Location: All old city stuff: Blue Mosque, Ayia Sofia and Topkapi
The hotel was convenient and friendly. We noted other peoples criticisms: noisy and charges for tea in your room. But these were insignificant really. We had a balcony looking out over the Sea of Marmara. The sun rose in front of us and the restaurants around the hotel were good especially for vegetarians like us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California,USA

Excellent location for a lovely 4 level hotel.

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The proximity to most historical areas, restaurants, convenient stores, shops, bazaars and park.
Cons: More english speaking staff.
The hotel location is excellent. It's 3 minutes away from most historical areas, such as: Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and museums. It's close proximity to restaurants, convenient stores, shops, bazaars and park made our experience a lot more pleasant and enjoyable. As soon as one step out of the hotel, you will see shops and restaurant with vibrant colors and lively ambience. There's a hop in/hop off bus terminal 3mins away from the hotel near the blue Mosque Park which stops at most important/historical landmarks for those who want to tour Istanbul at their own time. Also, you get a discount if you purchase both the green and the blue tour. The hotel have helpfull and courteous staff although communication could be challenging at times with some of the staff. The room is clean & comfortable. There's a restaurant on the top floor with a nice view to the sea. Note: Coffe & tea in the room are not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spotless, with interesting decor & views.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Spotless hotel, interesting decor, fantastic breakfasts, and convenient location. Wonderful stay. Some minor but easy fixes ... shower heads slid down and need tightening. The young men at the front desk ... some just fantastic, some needed a bit of training. But overall, fantastic stay, and would recommend to all. The upstairs restaurant was a perfect venue for a first night after lots of traveling. Excellent food and great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steeve P from Ontario, CANADA

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Avicenna. The staff was very friendly. They gave us a large room on the lower level in the back building. You could barely notice the proximity with the commuter train. Breakfast was always good. In-room coffee is NOT free, and juice during breakfast is a little pricy. There was some maintenance issues with our room, but given we didn't report them to the front desk, I can't comment on their responsiveness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David from Houston

Good Location, OK hotel.

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is centrally located in the sultanhament district. Very easy to walk to major sites. The rooms aren't as nice as big as they appear in photos. Value for money is ok.