Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Malaysia

Nice affordable hotel near the old city

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: the room was cleaned well and thoroughly everyday.
Cons: the breakfast buffet is nice but the food choices are quite the same everyday. A little diversification would be great.
Location: location wise the hotel is near the Istanbul old city. The tram service is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
A good and recommendable budget hotel that is near the Istanbul old city. It is near the Istanbul University and all other popular tourist spots that are well connected via the tram service. The room is quite small but who cares about room size in Istanbul where you will spend most of your time outside. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. After dark, the area around the hotel may be quite uncomfortable due to the number of vagrants and homeless people there, but do not be intimidated, they pose no harm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aisha from Malaysia

hotel is clean and strategic

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: room cleanness.
Cons: Provide iron (on request) and welcome drinks. Also provide at least a kettle/thermos to boil/keep hot water. Wifi should be continuously on.
Location: close to istanbul university and tram station. Have shops and restaurant nearby that open early in the morning and close late at night.
Arrival is welcomed and bags/luggage were brought to the room by the hotel staff. Breakfast for 5 days were ok although similar menu with slight changes in 2-3 types of foods. Room was cleaned daily. Security was wonderful. Nothing was lost during my stay at the hotel. Taxi is available easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 7, 2013
Very good location and nice rooms but a bit noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for family holiday

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Everything great. Lots of choice of breakfast .We all enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jimmy from Tirana,Albania

Great hotel for the business trip.

Posted Dec 1, 2012
The location of the hotel is good. If you are going for the business trip ,I will suggest this hotel. This hotel is near the Laleli, Beyazit and Mercan. The room are small but are cleaning and comfort. I think ,for the money that you pay this hotel is okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Denny

Good 'old city' location

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 4 nights-party of 4 males. Found the Hotel more than met our overall expectations. It is is a good central location on the European side/Old City. Near to transport-bus/tram links. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Rooms were smallish but this was expected for 3 *. Staff @ reception were very helpful indeed booking transfers/restaurants etc. Personally I found the breakfast buffet a bit poor but my companions didn't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location good hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: staff
Cons: bedding was too starched
Location: great!
great location could walk everywhere, that is if you dont mind walking around 30-40min to get to blue mosque and 15min to get to the grand bazaar. Tram line very close by too. Hotel was good, no complaints, food was ok-ish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Turkish Delighted

A good, no frills, hotel for "history" tourists

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The cost of this hotel was at the lower end of the scale, and thus my expectations weren't too high. The Barin is VERY tired and dated, the rooms are small and internal rooms have almost no natural light. If you spend much time in your room or your hotel, this is not the hotel for you! However, if you use a hotel room for a comfortable bed and a shower and want to save on the cost to spend your money elesewhere, this is a good choice. The staff are really helpful and knowledgeable. It is in the fashion/wholesale district of the old town, next to the historic bazaar, the viaduct and 2 beautiful mosques. Thus the area is bussling and down at heel, but charming for it. It is a 5 minite walk to the T1 tram "Laleli" stop with easy access to the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque (SultanAhmet), Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Galatas Bridge (for Bosphorus cruises and Ferries), etc. If you want to immerse yourself in the feeling of history and feel surrounded by the real people, this is the area for you. If you prefer a more westerized experience, head to the modern areas of Istanbul across the Golden Horn. (post script: the T1 also takes you to Istanbul Modern Art with connections for the modern shopping areas like Nisantasi / Beyoglu / Taksim)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very well, near the Ole city, possible to well to the most families turist attractions, god normative from the Hotell straff, and what I liker the most is your space om the Rolf of the hotell, this acess is valuabe.... I would Very well comfermed back.......