Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great location, cosy rooms, brilliant staff!!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The brothers that run this hotel are what makes the experience so great! They are extremely welcoming, kind, warm and at your service.
Location: Main attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Aya Sofya and Topkapi Palace within walking distance. Great restaurants and shops nearby.
On my first trip to Istanbul, my experience with Basileus Hotel was absolutely amazing! We were a family of three adults who stayed here for five nights from the 31st of July to the 5th of August. From booking the hotel earlier in the year right through to checking out at the end of our trip, we did not have any issues or difficulties. I received quick responses through email from Omar and Selim (two of the brothers that own the hotel) before my trip regarding transport from the airport, hotel payment and confirmation of my booking. They were just as friendly and welcoming in person as they were through email. The hotel is in a great location in the Old City surrounded by restaurants and convenience stores. The main attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Aya Sofya and Topkapi Palace were all within walking distance which meant that we did not need to take any taxis. The Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar were also a 15 - 20 minute walk away from the hotel. The reception is beautifully furnished and also nicely air conditioned which is important during the summer. When we arrived at the hotel, our suitcases were handled by Omar who then sat us down on the sofas and checked us in. We were given the WiFi password and hotel card and told about breakfast (continental buffet breakfast from 8am - 10:30am every morning, with the choice of an omelette with a variety of fillings). We were then taken to our room which was upgraded for with no extra cost. We were reassured by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel in the heart of the old city.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Cons: Housekeeping still being carried out at 3pm (3 days straight) when we wanted access to our room for afternoon rest.
Location: Fantastic location close to sights and restaurants.
Easy access to Aghia Sofia and other main attractions. Close to great value restaurants. Staff were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Exceptional service

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great location, amazing staff and overall great experience. The staff goes above and beyond to accommodate guests. Location is central and within walking distance to all key attractions. Reasonably priced for location, comfort, service and amenities. I would highly recommend. We did this trip with two young children so great for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cons: building is old, needs more maintenance
This is not the fanciest hotel on earth for certain. However, the good location and more importantly how helpful the staff were will make you feel it as a home away from home in Istanbul
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great little Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location was great for walking. Owners and staff were great.
Location: Can easily walk to all the historical attractions.
This is a great little family hotel with great breakfast. Rooms typically small but newly remodeled and very clean. Owners are extremely helpful and pleasant for every request and recommendation. Area is very convenient and walking distance to everything. This area of Istanbul is extremely safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location, great staff

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Staff and location.
Location: Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia and much more.
The staff here is wonderful! Everyone at the front desk speaks English well. It was our first time to Turkey and not being familiar with much it was very helpful to have their assistance. They were happy to recommend sights and routes, help with making sure you know what taxi prices should be, the list goes on and I can't emphasize enough how much easier and pleasant they made our trip. The rooms are comfortable, wifi connection is good and the A/C works well. The hotel has a great location to many of the sites and the city's tram, all within walking distance. The neighborhood is safe and the building has someone at the front desk at all times. We ended up liking the hotel so much we extended our stay and we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Douglas

Great Location and Owners

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location, owners.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights in From June 1 -4.This is not a fancy hotel but price was great, the location is within 5-10 minutes walk to the major attractions. The three brothers who run this place were super friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcome. The breakfast had a big selection of food and drink. I highly recommend this hotel if you are not looking for a fancy luxury hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and amazing staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
We had almost a full day layover and decided to make the most of it, but to accomplish this we wanted to stay somewhere convenient to the historical sites such as the Blue Mosque. Based on the reviews we decided to give this place a chance and we couldn’t have been happier. The location was great, and the staff was amazing. At one point when we needed a cab to go to Taksim Square (a must see), we were given a ride in their private vehicle! If we are ever back in Turkey, this will be the first place I look to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You will feel warmly welcomed

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Nice place; strategically located with very nice staff who are willing to go the extra mile to hope you with anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Perth west Ausrt

Friendly family hotel in the historical centre.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Quieter street outside.
Location: Blue Mosque, Hippodrome lots of good restaurants.
We were offered a room as soon as we arrived early in the day which was in a noisy spot and we took it. Had the chance to change if we wanted to later but it was fine. Very friendly and helpful staff offered tips on places to eat. We walked up past the Blue Mosque and Hippodrome to have a great meal at Amedros restaurant. Free tea and coffee with snacks available from late afternoon. Good included Wifi. We would certainly go back.