Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND

HOTEL AMBER - IN THE OLD PART OF CITY

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: QUIET,FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE ABLE TO HANDLE MY PARTY OF THREE PERSONS IN A FAMILY ROOM WITH VERY GOOD AIR CONDITIONING AND EXCELLENT BATHROOMS.
Cons: THE T.V. IN OUR ROOM COULD ONLY RECEIVE ONE CHANNEL WHICH WAS IN TURKISH. A T.V IN THE RECEPTION WAS OK.
Location: LOCATED IN THE OLD TOWN THE HOTEL IS ONLY A 10 MINUTE WALK TO THE SEA . IT IS A TWENTY MINUTE WALK MAINLY UPHILL TO GET TO THE CENTRE OF THE CITY.
THE HOTEL IS PLEASANTLY LOCATED ON A COBBLED ROAD, WHICH RUNS EAST WEST THROUGH THE CITY. IT IS LOCATED IN THE DISTRICT FAMOUS FOR ITS FISH RESTAURANTS. THE HOTEL IS QUIET AND HAS A SMALL BREAKFAST ROOM ON THE ROOF WHERE BREAKFAST IS TAKEN. NO LUNCH MEALS OR DINNER ARE AVAILABLE. THE STAFF ARE EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND MAKE YOU VERY WELCOME. TRIPS CAN BE ARRANGED AT RECEPTION AND A LIST OF VARIOUS OPPORTUNITIES ARE AVAILABLE BY BUS OR BY BOAT TO THE RIVERS OR NEIGHBORING ISLANDS. TAXI SERVICES CAN ALSO BE ARRANGED AT THE HOTEL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Australia

Friendly, spostless, very convenient location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: so conveniently situated, we walked to most places. Staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: The safe shoukd be secured... anyone could walk away with it! A few haning hooks in the bathroom?
Location: Kumkapi's famous restaurants 100 m away, The great Mosques 15 minutes of pleasant stroll, the Grand Bazaar just up the hill. Just perfect.
Lovely welcome, help when needed, excellent breakfast on terrasse with view. Everything was clean and decoration beautifully clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Heart of the Action

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel with courteous staff, very accomodating! The only watch out: the Beyazit Metro Stop is at the top of a fairly steep hill which can be difficult with luggage. Great value for the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, location could be better.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Staff was very helpful and inviting. nice clean room and washroom with all facilities and utilities. Just the walk to the main city center was like 10 mins uphill. other than that everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gopal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Melanie from Texas

Should not be open to guests while being renovated

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The staff, manager and owner were doing their best to make guests feel welcome despite an uninhabitable environment.
Cons: Right now, close the doors for business until the facility is really ready for guests.
Location: You can walk to cafes and shops but would need a vehicle to get to the Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, etc. in the old part of the city.
We arrived to find the lift does not always operate, the air conditioning was broken (and had been for several days), workmen were all over the place so there were plaster dust, paint fumes and broken glass as windows were being replaced. Had I not prepaid, I would not have stayed in those conditions. That said, the staff was very courteous and did not charge us for several meals. A lovely plate of fresh fruit was brought to our room after the air conditioning was finally working. All the food was excellent and we were within easy walking distance of cafes and a wonderful Turkish bathhouse. Once all the renovations are complete, it should be a lovely facility. European hotel hair dryers are the worst! This one overheated frequently and cut out, plus the on switch has to be continually depressed so it is difficult to use. The mini fridge in the room was not cool, let alone cold. Ice is hard to come by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Tokyo

Must Stay

Posted Dec 17, 2012
It is very nice location for tourists to go anywhere in Istanbul. It is only 10 minute walk to Sultan Mohamed Mosque. There are reasonable local restaurant around the hotels which is cheaper than tourist area. I recommend you to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edwin from Miami, Fl

Best Value and Service

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Location Location Location and Staff #1
Cons: It was a bit hard to open the doors of the armour because it was right in front of the bed. I had to be sitting on the bed in order to open it.
Location: Great Location. Walking Distance (if you are into walking up a hill) to most main attractions. Grand and spice bazaars, restaurants, Money Exch. etc
We got late to the hotel and it was overbooked. After 1000 apologies by the front desk manager Nesim we were taken to another hotel right across the street that was very nice as well. The following day in the morning there was our room waiting for us. Once again there was Nesim to greet us with a very nice smile and eager to help. The room was as we requested. Very well lit and clean. The staff was always eager to help. From the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant. The breakfast buffette was very complete. It had a bit for everyone. Great view of the bay from the restaurant. We also had dinner one night and the food was also excellent. We requested the help of our always there Nesim (front desk) to schedule a last minute trip and we had a travel agent in the hotel that very same night who made all the arrengements. This is a hotel that I would recommend anyone. It is very close to a restaurant area which is very popular and within walking distance of all main attractions.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by MS

WORST HOTEL EVER

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
ITS A SHAME TO STAY IN A HOTEL LIKE THIS