Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by stephenson

Shut down after 2 nights

Posted Jan 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The quality and condition of the hotel was ok and it was located in a good area for all the sights. However on the 2 morning we woke up there, there was no electricity or hot water and after 2 nights the hotel was actually closed down and we were moved to a different hotel. The reason is still unknown as to why the hotel had to close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David

Friendly and Convenient Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall an enjoyable experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nearby to major tourist sites. The first room we had was too small and had no room safe, but the staff graciously gave us a bigger room with a better view. The free breakfast was nice. Internet was sometimes not working. The motion sensor lighting in the stairway could be hazardous when it didn't turn on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francinefrom Melbourne, Australia

Short walk to the Blue Mosque

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Cons: The road it was on.
The proximity to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, etc is excellent. You can walk to all of these. However, the road that this hotel is on is a little disappointing until you realize that it is only a short walk to the busy tourist centre. Our room, while clean, was very small and cramped for two people. If you spend plenty of time sightseeing and not too much in the room that shouldn't be too much of an issue. The TV reception was not too good and we could not find an English language station anyway. With wifi and our own laptops we used the internet for entertainment and keeping up with the news. The other problem we had was the drain odour that we had. To solve that we bought some air freshener. Breakfast was ok but it is best to get down there before 9 because that seems to be when it gets crowded in the small room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mihai

Good location, average hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
It's located in the heart of the old Istanbul, one tram stop away from the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia or the Blue Mosque (you can walk to either of them, it's in most cases under 1km away). Unfortunatelly, the room in which we staid was very small, bed occupied most of the space, and the window was just leading to a kind of shaft, thus we had no light in our room. Oh, and the address we got from the printed resevration was wrong, luckily the phone number was correct so the cab driver could find it after speaking with somebody from the reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shabbirfrom Bradford, UK

Daddy's and kids holiday

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Staff helpful
Cons: TV problems
Location: Five min from sultan Ahmed
We had a three bed room, very comfortable and value for money, great staff and helpful. Staff responded to small niggles fast. Great will go again. My kids and me found it great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great reception staff

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Location: about 10 minute stroll from the blue mosque.
The reception staff were particularly helpful. When we first arrived they gave us a map and directions to the tourist hotspots. We were first put in a room with no window, but when we asked to change to one with a window they did this with no complaints. Definately planning on staying here again when I return to Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce

clean and good!

Posted Jun 2, 2012
Pros: Staff were very warm, welcoming and helpful.
Cons: The room size was a little cozy, but it is a budget hotel.
Location: Off the main street, so it's quiet and in a less touristy, more realistic, Istanbul location. It is very close to the Blue Mosque and Sultanamet area.
The California is a cheap and cheerful experience. It is in a very convenient location near the tourist centre of Istanbul. If you can put up with somewhat limited space, it's all good. It's newly renovated and very clean. The breakfast is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. For the price this is a great hotel.