Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TomT from Brooklyn, NY

My favorite hotel in Istanbul

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is my fourth time staying at the Celal Sultan. In a short time it has become my "home" in Istanbul. The staff is very friendly and courteous, the location is wonderful and I love the breakfast. Looking forward to my next visit to Istanbul--I know where I have a room waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Leszek from CA, USA

great hotel on a budget

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is a great hotel with friendlyband helpful staff in an amazing location. Breakfast was nice, sufficient, but dont expect food from a fancy restaurant. I liked it a lot, but the person I traveled with was not as impressed as me. The only thing that Inwasnt happy about was size of the room. I didn't expect room as one would find in Tokyo! My closet at home is bigger than that room. But I only slept there. Since I wasn't spending much time in the room I didnt mind its size so much in the end. Was too busy smoking water pipes and eating great food at restaurants in the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E. from Bucharest

Exactly what I had hoped for!

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, room size and cleanliness, proximity to everything I wanted to see.
Cons: Perhaps the front desk staff could know a little more about some of the tourist locations, but the hotel itself was really what I was looking for.
Location: Close to the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace, the grand bazaar, food and shopping streets and only a 15 min walk away from the spice market!
This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. Perfectly located, well-staffed, clean, cozy, and great little extras like tea and goodies at 4pm after spending the day touring the city. I brought friends and was so happy to see that everyone was pleased. Would recommend it highly and I plan to book there the next time I visit Istambul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nURUDDIN from cYPRESS, tx usa

XCELLENT

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
very GOOD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tom from Brooklyn, NY

Close to it all in Istanbul

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Celal Sultan is a wonderful small hotel right around the corner from the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia in the Sultanahmet neighborhood of Istanbul. It is a perfect location for sightseeing, eating good food, shopping at the Grand Bazaar and soaking up the fabulousness of the city. The hotel is very clean, with a friendly and professional staff. I enjoyed my stay here immensely. The breakfast buffet is wonderful too with all sorts of delicious things to choose from like the various cheeses, olives, simit, jams, fresh yoghurt, and much more. I can't imagine anyone not liking this lovely little hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlos from Argentina

Very good hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasant stay in the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Very nice - we will be back!

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Staff so pleasant and helpful! location, perfect. Right in the heart of the old city, but very quiet. Lovely general facilities with home feeling. Great breakfast selection. Rooms are comfortable, though need more attention for thorough cleaning as well as better maintenance. We are thankful for them accommodating our toy dog.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for visiting old Istanbul

Posted May 15, 2013
The Celal Sultan is a well located independent hotel, large enough to have all the facilities, but small enough to provide personal service. We rated the staff and their service very highly. Everything worked, but they would do well to embark on a progressive refurb programme since the original materials and decor are starting to look tired in places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas U.S.A.

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Me and my wife liked everything at the Hotel and if one day we can go back to istanbul we would like to stay in the same Hotel.