Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to important sight scenes.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
The staff is very friendly. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. The food is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt and Lottie from UK

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location, room, Hotel facilities, WiFi and superb breakfast.
Cons: Water pressure in the shower was a little up and down at times, but maybe because we were on the third floor.
Location: Very central on the main shopping street. 15 min walk to the Grand Bazaar and 10 min tram ride to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia etc.
We arrived back in the UK on Thursday 13 March 2014, having stayed for four nights at the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City. On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by friendly porters and reception staff. We were given an upgrade from a standard double room to a suite – an unexpected surprise and a great start to our holiday. Staff from all departments of the hotel were pleasant and courteous. Our room was immaculately clean with nice little touches such as complimentary toiletries, water, tea/coffee making facilities and WiFi. At breakfast there was a great variety of food to choose from and catered for all tastes. The bar in the lobby was well stocked and the bar food was good too. On the whole, this is an impressive hotel with beautiful decor, and was nothing short of excellent – well worth the five stars. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by omar from jeddah, saudi arabia

nice hotel close to down town

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: the cleanliness of the room
Location: it's near the restaurants, cafes of old city. also the grand bazar an the tram station is close by.
the location is not bad. the staff was excellent. the daily cleaning was not that good and there was no view at all from the windows
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jarral

Nice hotel, closed to all beautiful and historical

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Our stay at hotel was exellent, staf is very cooperative and friendly, clean and comfort, I preferred to come again, internet should be free for guests.
2 out of 5
by Rosco from Dubai

Beware a Rip Off

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Departing
Cons: The hobbit room
Location: It was OK but it is still a long walk to the main area
The rooms turned out to be only suitable for hobbits. We were given rooms built into the roof space. Had to climb up some steep stairs to get to a landing as the lift did not go there. The door was halve size with an angle cut into it to match the roof line. The room was just big enough for the bed and the ceiling was just above your head with a few odd angles to match the roof. The photo of the room on Expedia is not correct. On departing I was told that Expedia had not charged me so they charged by credit card again. On returning home I checked my statement to find I had paid twice. The hotel agreed that I had been charged twice but are being very unhelpful about refunding my money. I cannot believe the Crowne Plaza could be this bad. Keep well away from this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shahram

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by Mark from Brighton

Its at the heart of the action

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Not a great deal
Cons: Free WiFi Beds that give when you sit on them A concierge that is actually helpful Staff who make you feel they are happy to serve you
Location: The hotel was located in the centre of one of the City's busiest commercial areas and the pavements and public transport can be very congested at pea
Istanbul is a fantastic City with a huge number of choices, from the chaos of the Grand Bazar to the tranquility of the properties along the Bosphorous edge. An enormously varied choice of places to eat with the area nearest the palace offering perhaps the greatest selection though there are also great eateries the other side of the river. At peak times tourist destinations such as the Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace can become over congested with very long queues. If you dont like queueing in the sun choose your holiday time carefully.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LMM from Houston, Texas

Should have been better

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
There were lots of nice things about this hotel, but they were overshadowed by the way the Reception and Management handled issues with our room and a very late airport pick-up. We had a substantial shower leak in our room. It took 2 days to get it "repaired" only to be told it could not be repaired. After much back and forth. We were offered a lesser-quality room for one night because there was suddenly no rooms available and we would have to move again the following night. No apology or compensation was made for the room situation and very late pick up from the airport. The hotel seems to be in poor repair. Enough attention is not spent by the cleaning staff in cleaning the showers (mold in showers and towels not replaced). The front desk staff had a very callous attitude towards the guests. The Cafe was nice, but getting salt and pepper seemed to be perplexing to the wait-staff. Our reasons for choosing this hotel were: it is part of the IHG and we are Priority Club members, it should have Western standards as far as service and amenities and the location was good. The good things were the Spa Staff was very good and the Concierge gave great recommendations for restaurants. Overall, a disappointing stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is at excellent location for Tourist and business person. Me and my wife enjoyed thoroughly our stay in Crown Plaza. One problem is that, hotel should make wi fi connection free only for the clients who stay in this hotel. Otherwise, everything was good and our stay were a pleasant one. No complain. We love to come back this hotel in near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing and lovely hotel i ever stayed in

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing really
Location: amazing location !!! you can go to all the beautiful parts of istanbul !!!
amazing staff beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms ! evrything was as beautiful as turkey and istanbul was ! you would find beautiful details evrywhere !! every inch of the hotel is very beautiful !! staff is super sweet and the pizza and all the food i had yummmmy !!! and the strawberry tart is OH MY GOD yummmm