Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lovetravelling from uk

Budget hotel away from tourists

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Good value if you just need a room to stay in.
Cons: A safe
Location: A little threatening with few facilities nearby
Very good value no frills hotel. Comfy beds, clean bathroom, spacious room. But area not very secure and quite a distance from good restaurants, night life, tourist attractions etc. Not ideal for families or older travellers, pavements very narrow and sometimes missing. Road quite busy and noisy until late at night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to all the sights

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Hotel was clean & comfortable Good value for the money
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rodrigo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa, CA.

Nice Hotel, Great Service....but the hotel is in need of maintenance.

Posted Nov 24, 2011
I really like this hotel. It is in a old neighborhood that comes to life around 10:00 pm. Very nicely decorated and the staff was great. We were in Europe for three weeks and used this place as a home base. Stayed in three different rooms, two out of the three had some maintenance issues. Shower would not drain in one and the other the toilet would not stop flushing. Bedding is really nice but you can sometimes hear the factory next store. It is a up hill walk to the main tourist sites, so I do not recommend if you have trouble walking up hill. My husband and I loved it! We needed to work off all that wonderful food we had been eating. We did not pay a lot for the room, I might of been more upset with the maintenance issues if we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA - USA

Would go back. Excellent location!

Posted Oct 6, 2011
Cute and clean little hotel. Walking distance to all major touristic attractions and great restaurants right around the corner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid,avoid,avoid...barely has 1 star...

Posted Aug 20, 2011
Avoid this hotel at all costs. I have no idea how this hotel is rated at 4 stars; it barely has even 1 star. First, the location of the hotel is rather poor and unpleasant; Amber Suits is a very small hotel (9 or 10 rooms at most) and it is terrible. Upon our arrival, we were presented with a extremely small 2 bedroom suit with a very small bed placed in the hallway while the reservation was made for a quadruple room with 4 beds. With some very unpleasant discussion with the receptionist we were given a room with 4 bed in another close by hotel and were moved back to Amber Suits the next day. The room and the bathroom is very small. Bathrooms smell slightly and there is always the noise of water running through the pipes. Breakfast is no t very good; very limited choice. Dishes, cups and tables are not very clean and the area is very small. If you are traveling to Istanbul I strongly recommend you to get a hotel around Taksim SQ which is much nicer, but avoid this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Rubbish Place stay away from it

Posted Aug 3, 2011
IT IS A DISASTEROUS PLACE / HOTEL BY ALL MEANS. UNWORTHY OF ANY TRY EVEN IF IT IS FOR FREE. THIS PLACE CANNOT BE CONSIDERED AS A HOTEL AT ANY STANDARD. LOCATION: Very bad in Komkapi area, which is very low quality and full of house factories, even a shoe factory is located adjacent wall to wall to this hotel, creating unberable noises from 7am to 10pm. Also should not be surprised if you are welcomed by a RAT passing by the main entrance. HOTEL: Very bad staff, especially the manager OSMAN as he is unamiable, unhelpfull at all, unprofessional and useless by all means. Staff are not appropriate for a hotel and does not speak other than turkish. ROOM: Very noisy unberable. Aircondition does not provide cooling at all, constant problems with the bathroom, no views at all facing old shabby smelly neighberhoud of houses & factories, very poor quality of housekeeping and not regular. Indeed the rooms are not suites type as the name misslead. SERVICES: Falce and untrue infos in all webs about this hotel - No Free Parking. No Restaurant. No Business Center. Very bad Breakfast area and quality. Very dirty, unclean and unhealthy. GENERAL: This hotel must be removed from all listings, as it is very unqualified and disapointing. This place is a total monkey business in every aspect. RECOMMENDATION: Never book / stay at this place, as you will definitly end up with a disaster experience as we did by making a fully prepaid booking through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Seattle, WA

up hill to tram

Posted Apr 25, 2011
up hill about 8 blocks to tram
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by G. from Vienna, Virginia, USA

Great value

Posted Apr 21, 2011
It was located in a normal neighborhood which enabled us to experience a slice of daily life in Istanbul. The staff was very friendly and courteous. It was well worth the price. We'll be back.