Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
we often stay in this hotel as it's cheap, clean, comfortable (but rather small) and nicely located. Try! Hope you'll enjoy if you like simple accommodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hassan from Washington DC

Reasonable

Posted Nov 2, 2013
By the internce you will be welcomed by a nice staff who helps you moving your bags and relocate in your room. However, standard single rooms are poor and tight, they can hardly fit more than one bag. Closet is also tight yet doable. The begged issue would be the shower and the bath room. Great location but you near topkapi museam, tram station, sultan ahmet square, grand Bazar, ayasofia and the posfurous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Salim from London, UK

Small room but OK

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Size of room and no view
Location: Very good.
I went to Istanbul in April 2013 and stayed at the Erbil Hotel. My first impression of the room was that it was very small. Probably the smallest i've stayed in. It did have a double bed but there wasn't much room to move about and at night it got a bit stuffy so i had to sleep with the AC on. there was no view from the window as it looked over what looked like a lift shaft with no lift so i kept the curtains drawn. The room however was clean and the bed was comfortable. I stayed for 8 nights and the room was serviced every day. Best thing is the location. You come out and if you follow the tram line it will take you to the Topkapi palace and the Blue Mosque, which was about 10 minute walk away. Lots of restaurants nearby and one right on the doorstep of the hotel with outside tables does good food and is open until very late. Hotel Staff are friendly and the continental breakfast on the roof terrace room is good. If I went to Istanbul again I probably would pay more and stay in a slightly higher standard room, just so i could have a bit more space and a view, but if your on a budget and don't intend to spend much time in the room then this place does the job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from England, UK

Good hotel for the location.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Thin walls mean you can hear people moving around the other rooms
Location: Good for getting to most locations
Good location to be able to get to where you want to with ease by walking, tram, or one of the many ferries. There is very little noise from the road, but the walls are thin enough that you can hear the general movement of people in other rooms above, below, and to the side. The breakfast room is on the top floor and has a reasonable view over the city. Don't touch this hotel if you have any difficulty getting around. The lift is tiny, there is not a lot of room to move around the room, and you have to use the stairs to get to the breakfast room. A good hotel if you want that bit more than a B&B, but if you want a top hotel then look else where.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SJ from Reno, Nevada

Great Hotel for a Single Female Traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: the service at the front desk
Cons: that the posting of the airport shuttle price was not in both Turkish lira and euros
Location: very close to the tram stop, Sirkeci, and within walking distance of Topkapi Palace
I was very happy and pleased with the concierges who helped me plan my travel from Istanbul to Ephesus. They even sent an attendant with me to negotiate my travel itinerary with the agency! The room was very comfortable with the a/c unit, the cozy size, and the window view of the street and restaurants outside. Sunday night was extra loud with the night club music blasting until midnight. The mattress was not firm enough for me, and my back and hips hurt a bit the following morning. The tv worked well, there was a hair dryer, and shampoos and conditioners available. Internet access was available too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Erbil Hotel Review

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Good location.
Cons: The shower room is very small, too small for a fat person.
Location: Very good
Rooms are very small. The shower room is very tiny, no room to move, very hard for a fat person and if you have to enter the shower you have to go sideways. Not a very good choice for breakfast, same old breakfast everyday. AC doesn't work in the room. Yet, the location is very good. Next time I would try another hotel than this one. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a fat person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Will from Bristol, United Kingdom

Not a bad little place

Posted Oct 16, 2011
Don't be put off by the fact that Expedia have rated this as a two-star hotel. For basic requirements, the Erbil a decent hotel. My room came with all the same mod-cons that some of the three and even four star hotels I've stayed at came with. There was a double bed, a private bathroom, a television (jn Turkish only, mind), and continental breakfast all included in the price. The location couldn't be much better either. Only five minutes away from the mosques in Sultanahmet and the ferry terminal in EminönĂ¼ as well as Sirkeci Station. For what I expected, I can't think of any major drawbacks to this hotel. The variety of the breakfast was very limited, an extra plug socket in my room would have been useful, and Sirkeci isn't a particularly nice part of Istanbul at night, but that's about it really.