Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel & Nice People

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Our family had wonderful time at the Golden Horn Hotel. We could overlook the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia from the room, also the proximity to the historical places gave us some advantages during our stay in the beautiful city of Istanbul. and I like to thank especially Mr. Nuri for his kindness and humor..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melb ,aust

Great location for all major attractions

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: All good
Cons: No liquor perhaps of Ramadan
Location: Blue mosque,bazaar both within 5 mins walk
Was a great experience would recommend to all ,singles and families
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Unprofessional Unwelcoming

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The lobby is beautifully decorated and the location is practical.
Cons: Staff manners, professionalism. channel filtering and real non smoker rooms since our room smelled as if somebody was smoking in it
Location: it is surrounded with restaurants, shops and places to visit (Sultan Ahmet Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia,...)
The staff was overall unprofessional, sometimes when we would ask a question they wouldn't answer us, as if they didn't hear us. A friend visited us in the hotel for 1 hour 2 consecutive days, they didn't even say "good evening" or "welcome" but they looked at us very badly and then they called us in our room the second day to tell us that we cant have a guest . According to them, we were supposed to present ourselves to the reception with the guest even if they saw us coming in (the receptionist and the security staff) and nobody stopped us. They were impolite, they insulted our friend and a member of staff told us " I will not let him enter the hotel" for no reason other than his personal pleasure. we asked did our friend damaged the hotel or insulted anybody previously and they said no. They shouted and dismissed our complaint. Naturally, we asked to see the manager, they told us that he wasn't available and that we could write him a letter. Also, the hotel describes itself as a family hotel, but the TV had no filter system and watching a world cup football match without encountering porn was a challenge. These are just few examples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by aminah

Lovely hotel close to main attractions

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Realt enjoyed the stay here ! Very quiet and peaceful hotel. Free water bottles in rooms too!! Very clean and eleborate decoration. Definately recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TonyM from Cambridge

No bar!

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very surprised and cannot believe for a 4 star hotel, that there was no bar! With a top floor restaurant and amazing views it would have been fantastic to have an evening drink and share the days adventures with fellow guests. This holiday benefit was denied. We therefore cannot recommend this otherwise good quality hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John and Celia from Somerset

Perfect location

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Only minutes away from major heritage sites and tram stop.
Cons: Evening dinner choice and availability
Location: Major heritage sites and the tram stop only minutes walk away.
Ideally located in the heritage area, only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haggia Sophia, Basillica Cistern, the Grand Bazaar, and the tram stop. The hotel staff were very helpful, and the excellent breakfast buffet on the roof terrace with magnificent open views gave a great start to the day. The only negatives were the room was not very big, and anyone above average size and not very mobile would find the en suite difficult, but otherwise highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from London

A solid choice in Sultanahmet

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
A well located hotel, only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Ayasofia. Rooms are relatively small, but clean and more than adequate - the decor is rather unusual too. Service is fantastic, the staff really do everything they can to ensure a great stay. Only downside of this hotel is the poor WiFi speed (mobile data was faster) and the lack of a bar / any alcoholic beverages in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location (Sultanahmet old town)

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Basic, no frills hotel in brilliant location. Breakfast or evening meal overlooking Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Short walk to trams and hippodrome. Really enjoyed our 4 day stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from London

Very nice, central hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Amazing roof terrace with fabulous view. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M & M's from CARLISLE, UK

Good Hotel with fab view close to main attractions

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The location & views
Cons: Room 512 & the late night receptionist (on 17 April 14)!
Overall a very good hotel, with amazing views from the restaurant. Worth getting a deluxe room, which are on 4th floor up, but avoid room 512 which was cramped & def not deluxe. The staff were great, except for the one at reception on the night we arrived, who was not at all welcoming & most unhelpful.