Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Hotel close to Taksim and Isteklal street

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Good location and nice breakfast
Cons: Facilities, fixing the lift and solving the electricity problem
Location: Close to Metro hence good commuting, great shopping area in Isteklal street and good restuarants.
The electricity was cut offf a number of times and generator support was not effective as we stayed hours with no electricity. The lift does not work well and you call it for long the door is stuck at a number of levels and hence you recert to the stairs. The AC had a big problem in the whole hotel we stayed half day with no AC which is bad in a hot and humid weather and when fixed not all the rooms was working for an over night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by George from cairo

Good hotel- terrible staff

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a very good location. But it has the most terrible staff you will ever meet. This following situation that happened with me I believe is one of a kind and one of those worst situations ever. On my first night at this hotel, at 3.30 a.m. I receive a call at the hotel telephone (i was sleeping of course)...i woke up terrified and the call goes as follows: -Someone: sir, can you please come down now. - Me: what happened? What's wrong? -Someone: it's the reception. I want to talk to you. There's a big problem. Me: I don't even know you. What do u want now? -Receptionist: you have been charged twice for your room. Me: can we solve that tomorrow morning? Receptionist: no it has to be done now. After some negotiations, I decided to go down. Second, when I first arrived the hotel at 9 a.m the receptionist wanted me to wait for 6 hours to check me in. After long negotiations and discussions he checked me in an hour. Third, the reception asked me to pay for the room while it was paid already through hotels.com. I kept explaining to him but he insisted that I pay to him. Later, the very above situation happened. Fourth, getting a smile or even a polite reply from any of the hotel staff is a luxury that you will never have in this hotel. I will never stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yve from Lebanon

Nice experience

Posted May 28, 2014
Cons: Add tissues, some bottles of water and electric sockets next to the beds...
Location: Perfect location: 2 mn away from Taksim Sqare, the metro station and Istiklal street. It's also very close to pubs in some amazing streets.
The hotel is very easy to find and it's very well located. It has a very spacious lobby and. even the budget rooms are kind of spacious. The staff is nice but isn't very helpful when it comes to giving advice about "the best things to do in Istanbul". On the other hand, they let us check-in before 2 p.m which was very comfortable. The lobby was under renovation so we couldn't sit there because it was very noisy. The breakfast buffet is generous. Would go there again!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by All over Europe from Istanbul

If I could give the hotel a "0" rating I would

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Please be aware from now until what I would assume would be the end of June this hotel is basically a construction zone. Front desk is a card table, dust, debris, workers everywhere. The hotel staff and management could absolutely care less about satisfying guests. Construction noise starts at 6:00 am and well into night. Wifi does not work well in rooms and you basically can't go sit in the lobby (as I am now accustomed to doing in many European hotels) as there is no lobby, unless you care to sit on a cement mixer or table saw. HIGHY DO NOT RECOMMEND.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter

Frightful entrance lobby under construction

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Only that nhaviung stayed there perhaps fifty times since 1991 I tend to feel at home there.
Cons: The management.
Location: It is about 100 yards from Taksim Square and from Istikal Caddesi which is the great shopping thoroughfare of Istanbul and throngs with life and youth
I like this hotel very much as I have stayed there dozens of times over 23 years but when I arrived and for the time I was there the entrance lobby and steps down to the restaurant were covered with plaster board and were a frightful sight. The welcoming staff compensated for this but I felt I should have been warned and even offered a discount. The Gordons gin and tonic I ordered in the awful half-closed bar tasted of nothing, and it was difficult to get any flow of hot water from the washbasin tap, although the shower was excellent. Also,it took ages to find any English speaking TV station - there was no guide. But I slepted like a baby and the friendly staff made me feel happy. The price has crept up over the years but it is not bad for the position and I shall certainly book to stay there again because I justify the deficiencies in term of it being Turkish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alexa from new york

Good location close to everywhere

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The entrance under construction looks bad but the rooms and restaurant is pretty good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by khan from London

Hotel situated within Taksim

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: good size rooms
Location: be aware of some cheeps wondering around
generally good, hotel lobby was under renovation so obviously some dust but rooms were clean and good condition
1 out of 5
by matthew from washington dc

The lobby was a construction site.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Loud renovation noise . Dusty lobby in renovation . No bar and the pool , fitness and massage was old and poorly managed.
1 out of 5
by TJ from Detroit Michigan

Bad Choice For Staying

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Loads of things - The hotel should be first renovated and should not be open to public. Also they should employ new staff which can speak english
Location: Taksim square
The hotel was being renovated and that was not stated. It is not a 4 star hotel. Also the staff is very unfriendly. Not in the best neighbourhood. Not recommended to anyone!
3 out of 5
by Paul from London

If only

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: View from the room
Cons: Staff could be more professional , communication.
Location: Location was fantastic. I didn't need a car walked everywhere. And a lot to do.
For 4 star hotel I was very disappointed. Because they were building a new outside , new lobby , new bar , new rest area. So you can imagine the noise and dust . Staff wasn't understanding and helpful .I found them RUDE . Unfortunately they really didn't care . View from the room was lovely but you couldn't stay in there because of the noise. And pillows stunk of dirt and ripped bed sheets. But we had comfortable beds and lovely shower.