Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff not helpful with booking queries!

Posted Jun 4, 2012
booked a room with 2 beds, and was given a room with a double bed, ...the most disappointing thing was that th estaff were not willing to help at all, using excuses like they were fully booked, only then to find out that they gave another resident a twin bed room that same day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn & Richard from CC, NSW, Australia

Gulhane Park Hotel, Istanbul

Posted May 6, 2012
Location: Handy to almost everything except airport.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. Great location pleasant staff. Very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chatham, ON

Gulhane Park Hotel in Istanbul

Posted Oct 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Although the location was excellent (close to all major sites and trams) there were some drawbacks to this hotel. The AC and TV did not work and they did not supply us with two single beds as requested in our booking although there were empty rooms available with two single beds.Booking was made 4 months prior.Breakfast was fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Istanbul

Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very good location for railway station & ferrys. Lovely hotel, nice staff. Only regret is not finding out about the delightful roof top bar until the last night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great little hotel near all the sights

Posted Jul 22, 2011
This was a nice, clean hotel with very courteous staff. The breakfast buffet was nice and we had a great view from the terrace. Our room was small but clean and had everything we needed. My husband works out and we booked this hotel since it offered a small workout facility. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a basic hotel that is clean and near enough to the center of the city to walk but off the beaten path so it's in also in a quieter area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good location, bad management!

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location is great and the rooms are not bad at all -- BUT when we returned to sleep, our room was hot because the AC was not working. We told the receptionist and he said that they don't have vacancies and that maintenance can not be done at night.. we opened the window and tried to sleep.. in the morning, we tried to get to the manager but he was not there and when we asked that our issue get resolved the staff started acting all weird saying that the AC is working and that we are trying to get money!!! Very sad.. a good property with very bad management, -1 for customer service!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Baku, Azerbaijan

I will come back again

Posted Apr 15, 2011
I would definitely recommend this hotel, just one remark; the closest tram stop is Gulhane not Sirkechi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

i will never go back

Posted Apr 10, 2011
the location is so bad, all was written about this hotel is fake; the location is just in front of a parking area was awful view, i wonder where is that wonderfull garden view i saw on the web site...nothing was true...the room was sooo small, lots of noise at the early morning and the stuff is not friendly at ALL. the breakfast was very poor. i will never ever think of staying there again in my life.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york city

terrible service

Posted Sep 1, 2010
The location was poor and the taxi could not find the hotel without asking for directions, The room was spartan and the TV did not work. In addition, the air conditioner was weak and very noisy. When they tried to fix it, they made the problem worse. Finally, we needed to leave for the airport at 5:30 AM and prepaid a taxi thru the hotel and it did not show, increasing our stress level 10-fold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

Gulhane is Great

Posted Jul 18, 2010
The hotel is in a perfect locale for those wanting to see the Sultanahmet neighborhood. 2 minutes to tram station, 5 minutes to the sprawling and beautiful Gulhane Park, which can be viewed from the rooftop terrace at breakfast. 10 minutes' pleasant walk to Eminonu to catch a ferry. Staff was courteous and helpful, except the breakfast crew, who insisted on playing very loud rap music on the big-screen TV. When we asked to change the channel, they only muted the sound. Sea gulls will greet you at breakfast time as you see the magnificent views of Sultanahmet and the Bosphorous. Buffet breakfast yummy, but the coffee machine was really lacking (instant Nescafe but not even tasty). Only complaint re: the rooms was a leaky shower and fridge that did not cool, but the bathroom was kept very clean and beds and bedding were very comfy. We have four children and they were quite happy at this hotel. Truly an excellent location.