Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard and Jen from Wales

Hotel Amira was more than we expected

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Perhaps the internet speed was not very good at times, but this was probably due to things outside the control of the hotel.
Location: All the things that you may wish to see in Istanbul are in close walking or short tram ride away.
The whole experience was amazing. Everyone has talked about the friendly welcome in their reviews, but this attitude contined throughout our stay. It was always a pleasure to see any and all of the staff who seemed to be focussed on providing their guests a very positive experience. The hotel, staff, food, and setting were all perfect, what more can I say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeremy from Pittsburgh

Excellent hotel, convenient location.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We spent two nights at this hotel and everything about it was great. Short walk to some of the best places to see in Istanbul (Bazaar, Blue Mosque, etc). Breakfast is acceptable, as was our room and the rooftop view was nice as well. One of the best parts of the hotel was that they lent us a free mobile Wifi device everyday, so we could use our smartphones around Istanbul to find restaurants, museums, everything, really convenient for those travelling from the US.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from England

Boutique style

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Small, cosy and very friendly
Location: Perfect situation for the Blue mosque, Hagia Sofia, etc. only a 7 minute walk from the interesting back streets by the Amira.
On arrival we were greeted very warmly by doorman, duty manager and receptionist! The atmosphere felt cosy and welcoming. The room was equipped very well with lovely big bed in a large space and en suite with shower and bath, which was a bonus. A very quiet part of the hotel, where i hardly noticed a sound. Excellent breakfast and a real treat of complimentary afternoon read, which we took on the sunroof, as the weather was so warm and sunny. Just couldn't fault a thing and have very happy memories of the Amira, it's staff and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from a

Nice hotel. Close proximity to all the sites.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
It's been pleasant and relaxing. The hotel staff was very helpful,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected

Posted Mar 16, 2014
I was hearing everyone around me and food smell inside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Liverpool UK

Great tourist hotel with superb location and staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! The Amira is ideally located in Sultanahmet being walking distance to some of the main tourist attractions and efficient tram system.
We stayed here for four nights from 3rd March and have nothing but praise for both the hotel and the fantastic staff. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful, providing valuable tourist advice and recommendations of guided tours, places to eat, shop etc that made our visit to Istanbul successful and memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I absolutely loved Istanbul and the Hotel Amira

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The Hotel was in a great location. The breakfast and tea hours were awesome. The food was delicious and very fresh.
It was my first time to Istanbul and I would definitely go back and stay here. The rooms were very clean and the staff was more than helpful. I felt very safe there and enjoyed it very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Canada

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Great location, interesting architecturally - lovely ambience; staff very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Chicago suburbs

Historic District

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The room was stocked with just about anything a traveler would need: bathrobe and slippers, bottled water, toiletries, hair dryer, a safe, coffee/tea
Cons: Softer mattress and pillows
The hotel was located within 5 min. walking to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The neighborhood had a european feel and was very safe. My only criticism was the mattress and pillow were a little on the hard side. Other than that, my stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast buffet and afternoon tea always had a variety of food and beverage items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Cons: Door doesn't close all the way on its own; need to pull it shut each time.
The hotel is a wonderful property, walking distance within the major historical attractions of Istanbul. It is literally down the street from the Blue Mosque, and from there can easily walk through the Hippodrome and over to the Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. Central location aside, the staff is extremely friendly. AJ, who seemed to work day and night, is there to make hamami accommodations, book private travel tours and make restaurant reservations -- all of which were excellent choices. If you book the private tour, I would ask for Nesha (sp?). She was wonderful, allowed us to go at our own pace and make changes on the fly -- and yes, she even helped negotiate a fine Turkish rug for us. The included breakfast and afternoon tea (if you can make it) are wonderful and of excellent quality. I highly recommend this hotel, and found it to exceed our expectations at the quoted price point.