Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Close to tram station

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I stayed in this hotel for one night. 26-27 June. When I booked this room, room fare was 27 Eiro. but when checked in, they charged me 30 Euro. My room was in the 5th floor and there was no lift and stare was dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Wash DC

Affordable, Convenien But...

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: convenience and price
Cons: Staying in the hotel rather than in another building
Location: Train station, tram stops, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Galata Bridge
There are at least two other buildings where Esen Hotel guests can stay. While one is located directed across from the hotel proper and has comparable rooms I stayed my first night in a nondescript building several twisting blocks from the hotel proper in what was essentially a furnished apartment with satellite tv but no phone, shower curtain or toilet paper, at least initially. It was an anxious evening not spent in a hotel room with great concern over whether I could even find the hotel in the morning for breakfast. After complaining and being told repeatedly "It's ok," I got a room in the hotel for the remainder of my stay. As long as you insist on staying in the hotel or possibly across the street then I recommend this hotel for its convenience, cleanliness and price but I would recommend making this very clear when booking your reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Portsmouth

Comfortable hotel Close to town

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Stayed here for 3 nights, the location of the hotel is fantastic right next to Sirkici tram line on which you can hope straight into Grand Bazaar, blue mosque etc, I personally just walked into town by following the tram line so it was impossible to get lost! Staff extremely friendly and the free coffee and water machine is a nice touch. Room is a fair size, but could do with a safe- although I trusted the staff it would have been nice for price of mind to leave valuables securely locked. The water was a tad temperamental at peak hours but for £20 a night you can't complain. Breakfast was as expected in Turkey, if you do not like Cheese,Olives, Bread or Eggs then you best get to like them! Would highly recommend this hotel for the price to anyone looking for a comfortable place to sleep at night and see the attractions during the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA, France

At least the location is great!

Posted Jun 30, 2012
Pros: Very nice staff
Cons: They are very unprofessional in how they run the place and many things are broken
Location: Amazing location, not too noisy either
If you decide to stay here, keep an open mind and expect not everything will go as planned. When we arrived, the staff informed us the triple room we booked was not available, so they put us in a partner hotel down the street for one night. This didn't bother us and they assured us the hotel was 4 stars and was more expensive than theirs. There is no way this is true, but it wasn't any worse, so it was fine. The next day we went back to Esen and they said our triple room had a problem with the water so they put us in a double and a single. Again, not a problem, it was even better. But then the next day, they wanted us to pay extra for the double and single room! Not the full price, but still 15 euro extra per night. We refused to pay, and eventually they accepted. So overall the stay was actually fine, but you WILL run into some issues here. Also, the TV didn't work and the shower drain was totally blocked, but I didn't even want to bring that up. Thankfully the staff is ultra nice in that typical Turkish way. They let our friends eat at the hotel for no charge. If you have an open mind and take a moment to get to know the staff your stay will be acceptable, but just don't count on everything going smoothly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
they need to be cleaning the room everyday,in my own case my room was not tidy everyday comparing to nigeria hotel which they will be cleaning
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Would stay again due to location close to most sights and if very low rate. Else, it's not worth the value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
OMG No way again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bulgaria

Posted Oct 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
Our initial room wasn't clean, but after we notice that - they change it. All rooms that are 101, 201, 301 .... 601 are extremely small, but for this price - you get very good location. Our friends were in room 602 - much better one with very very nice view, so if you can choose room - choose this one. Notice that there is no elevator in the hotel so you have to be ready to climb stairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Oct 12, 2011
small room , no elevator , no free transportation as thy show in their advertisement , however it is clean and situated near to the old city where most of history remains is present , the service persons are friendly .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2011 on Hotels.com