Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Small and No Windows

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The hotel is bearable for short stay (1-2 days) but I don't recommend for longer stay. Our group had 3 rooms reserved none of the rooms had any windows which makes it very depressing. One of the rooms was the size of a closet 10 feet x 10 feet space and no windows. We didn't even have space to put our luggage. Breakfast was good. It served some hot foods in addition to your traditional turkish breakfast of cold cucumber, tomatoes, and cheese. The location was good as everything was within walking distance. I wouldn't go here again even if i was a 1 day traveller on the go, because you can find those places for much less in the big city of Istanbul. I should have stayed at Erboy next door for a little more because I had good experience there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Location is good, nothing to write home about

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was ok but more variety would be nice
Location: Middle of Sultan Ahmet so all tourist sites are nearby
Staff and service was OK, not so good nor bad. Location is really good. Room size is small but still bigger than most hotels in the area. There is no view in the rooms, basically facing a wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good basic hotel in a terrific location.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything, really. Not a luxury hotel, but terrific value. Very good transportation options nearby.
Cons: Rooms could be bigger, but perhaps some of them are larger than the one I rented.
Location: Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, major museums. Tram literally around the corner takes you to Eminonu and Beyoglu in minutes.
The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful, with excellent English-language skills.. Location is very good, near Sultanahmet attractions on a street with several good restaurants. Rooms a bit small but well equipped and spotlessly maintained. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel - we will certainly be back!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Evsen and it's entire staff made our trip incredibly enjoyable! The hotel was elegant and hospitable. Our room was beautifully designed and very comfortable including all amenities we had hoped for - clean, large enough bathroom, closet space, sofa bed in addition to a queen sized bed, mini fridge, hair dryer and much much more. The concierge saw that we had 4 bags and upgraded us to a larger room free of charge. Tarun at the front desk was incredibly helpful - pointing out things we should do to see the true Istanbul, how to get everywhere, when to go. The concierge even went the extra mile to call and make dinner reservations for us and arrange all of our excursions. THe hotel's location was ideal - a five minute walk from all the sights and on a beautiful pedestrian only street filled with restaurants and cafes. Breakfast at this hotel is amazing! Very delicious and a wide variety of food to choose from - not to mention the excellent views on the 6th floor hotel restaurant! Overall, we highly recommend Hotel Evsen to all travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by L & B from Canada

A very good choice!

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first stay at this hotel and we stayed for 8 nights. This hotel is located in the heart of old Istanbul, within walking distance of the major attractions, on a pedestrian street with several shops and good restaurants, and a tram station for those who wish to visit attractions away from the centre of town. The friendly and helpful multi-lingual staff provided us with accurate and valuable advice on attraction opening and closing times and arranged all of our tour bookings with great efficiency. We truly appreciated the advice and the quality of the tour packages they recommended. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast buffet with the option of having a fresh omelette made just for you. Our room was not luxurious however it was very clean and all of the furnishings were in good condition. Our room was a standard room; we expected the room to be small based on the reviews posted on Hotels.com by previous guests so we were not surprised or disappointed when we saw that our was indeed quite small. Travellers who need space should select another type of room. The hotel provides a small street level sitting area for guests who wish to enjoy the outdoors and kindly allowed us to use the glassed-in top floor terrace when we wanted some peace and quiet during the afternoon. This is a very well managed hotel with friendly and helpful staff, we would not hesitate to recommend it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Silas from Visalia, CA

No windows in my room

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were really disappointed with our room. We paid a decent amount ahead of time and they put us in a first floor room with no windows. It felt very stuffy and my wife felt claustrophibic. I would not reserve there in advance unless you can be guaranteed a room with a window. The positive was that the breakfast was very good and the location was convenient. Fortunately we were only there one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it's ok

Posted Jan 29, 2014
but too small rooms
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Tohid from Detroit

Nothing good but lobby

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I didn't like this hotel at all. the photos of standard rooms are completely different from the real ones. There is not even a bottle of water in the fridge. There is no phone available even to inside Istanbul. Stuff were not friendly at all, At the check out they had problem with charging hotels.com and they ask me for cash!! Although I showed them my payment confirmation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Western Australia

Value for money

Posted Nov 23, 2013
My friend and I recently visited istanbul on a 5 day trip. Hotel evsen was in a good location- only a short walk to ayasofia and blue mosque and many restaurants and shops on the street surrounding the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and even carried our bags to the hotel after our taxi driver had called them to notify them of our arrival (the hotel is on a pedestrian only street). The hotels decor is upto date, the only downside would be the room size, this wasn't much of a problem for my friend and I as we were traveling with hand luggage sized suitcases and were only in the room to sleep. Overall our experience with this hotel and staff was a pleasant one and made for a fabulous time in the amazing istanbul.