Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Dirty disgusting hotel

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a awful experience, the hotel was disgusting. The barroom ceiling was dripping of disgusting black water right over the shower, the towels were disgusting with staines (supposedly clean), and the breakfast was a couple of supermarket cookies and 2 vegetables. Ooh and they insisted on being paid in cash and didn't take my credit cards so had to go to ATM to withdraw money therefore being charged overseas ATM fees. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hyder from USA

Good Location, Excellent View, Helpful Staff

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very close to a tram stop and just a short walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sites. It features breakfast on the rooftop, which boasts a stunning view of the Sea of Marmara. My parents and I stayed in a triple room, which was relatively cramped but clean and comfortable. Finally, even though we (thought that we) paid for the reservation ahead of time online, the hotel insisted on receiving payment in cash upon departure. This is not a terrible burden, but it could lead to some confusion and inconvenience. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Wendy from melbourne

Misleading advertising

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was noisy, dirty, unfinished and cramped. Visa credit card is not accepted here, but advertised as acceptable payment. This led to an embarrassing confrontation with management as we terminated our stay after one night. We found a much better hotel The Legend around the corner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of Old City Sultanamet hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Honour bookings!
Location: Sultanahmet is a great location - loads to see including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia etc.
We arrived at the hotel to be told our booking was not valid as we had guaranteed with a non-valid credit card. This was not the case - the card was valid and we showed confirmation from Expedia. We were told there were no rooms but they could put us up in their sister hotel, which was double the price! Needless to say we found our own hotel. Recommend Expedia to check and see if this was done before by this hotel, and if so to delist!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lee from Malaysian

integrity

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I arrived the hotel on 7 March as what I had booked, the hotel told me that they had cancelled my booking. I was shocked and really disappointed by that. They transfered me to a near by hotel which cost more than my budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ariane from Belgium

Close to must-see sights, friendly, modest

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly, especially after I tried speaking a few words in Turkish. They were also helpful at directing me towards good, cheap restaurants in the area, and organized tours. The place was kept fairly clean, though some maintenance would be required to have it look better. Excellent breakfast (included) with beautiful views over the Bosphorus river from the top of the building. The 1-person beds in my 2-person bedroom were comfortable, and the shower (no bathtub) in my private bathroom had hot water. The linens looked clean as did the towels. Everything I could possibly ask for. Great value for the price, and excellent location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2012
Even though the staff were quite accomodating, the overall condition of this hotel is not good. It is in desperate need of refurbishment and also the overall cleanliness was not satisfactory. Breakfast was not great either. However, the price is quite low and hotels in Istanbul are not cheap. As long as you are prepared for all the the above, travellers may find it OK given the price, but we would not choose to stay there again any time soon. On the positive side, the location is brilliant and the staff are very helpful. The view from the breakfast room was also wonderful. One thing they need to improve quite urgently -at least- is the level of cleanliness, we found hair on the bedsheets on the first room we were given and in general bathroom and rooms could have been cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

friendly staff, fantastic location..

Posted Nov 27, 2011
Location: very convenient location, all historical objects are in a walking distance, definetely recommend Hagia Sophia - be aware you can't take any photo/video here...also, Blue Mosque..
very convienent location, friendly staff; but breakfast - just average, food not fresh, re-served from the fridge on the other morning; there were problems with AC - heating is not working, so I wouldn't recommend to stay here during a cold season... beware to be overcharged during check-out - they've tried to charge me for a phone I've never used... do not go to cafe next door Why not - very overpriced...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Will go again

Posted Aug 4, 2011
The hotel is located near all attractions. The room was little small but we spent all the time outside. The staff are very helpful.