Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fake picture on website

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: proximity to nicer hotels
Cons: Management
I arrived at their hotel very late. I had to wait 20 minutes for them to find the reservation. Once I got to my room, it was clearly not what was pictured on the website. I went downstairs and complained. The staff said they didn't care. Then they admitted that the pictures on the website were doctored! This was not a problem with English. The person at the front desk repeated the statement many times. Then they tried to charge me 50 Euro to have my wife stay in the room, despite the fact that there was a sign in the lobby clearly states that the fee should be 50 TL. This fee wasn't for an extra bed or a different room - the room had a queen bed. This was simply the fee to have my wife breath in the same room. They were not fully booked or at max occupancy. I got the manager involved and they said that the 50 Euro price was doing me a favor. They also refused to call Expedia and straighten it out. I was so upset that I left after 30 minutes. There are MUCH nicer places within a block for almost half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like thank you for your comments, which are extremely important to assist us in evaluating how we can better serve valued guests and in identifying concerning areas where additional efforts should be directed. We would like to start with apologizing misunderstandings that you have faced in our hotel. We are a part of Richmond International Group hotels and guest satisfaction is one of the most important brand core values. We looked over your comments at the above. As you might see at your Expedia hotel confirmation we have received your reservation as a single occupancy room with single occupancy room rate. We also believe that there was a misunderstanding with our room types and the photographs on the Expedia too. Our Superior rooms are land and street view rooms and there is a special supplement for Bosporus View rooms. After your comments, in order to avoid any future misguidance we have checked our information on the Expedia with photographs and we have not detected any misinformation or guidance about our rooms. We are sorry that these misunderstandings cause you to wait at the check in process. Our guest service clerk offered you a discounted fee per day for the supplements, which is according to our hotel policy. I would much appreciate to make your personal acquaintance next time you visit Istanbul in our hotel. Rest assured we will do everything in our hands to make your stay as enjoyable as you expect it from us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards, Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roman from Kuwait

Bad walls

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think the hotel it is nice .. But what make it bad and I will not booked it again , the walls you can hear the ppl in next room , And ofcourse they can hear you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Richmond İstanbul. On the other hand we will consider your negative comments about the walls as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
2 out of 5
by Milena

centrally located in Beyoglu

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The central location mostly, and not much else in either service, comfort, or look to actually recommend it to other friends.
Cons: accessing hotel, level of communication in English, more fresh fruit at breakfast, room cleaning more promptly, complementary basket/water at check-in
Location: Istiklal street is central and has many good food venues of all kinds. It's close to Galata tower and a whole interesting district.
From the start it was an irritating experience. The hotel is located on a street with no car circulation at most hours of the day, thus taxis leave you at another hotel which is anything but close if you have luggage, or hurriedly at the corner of the nearest intersecting street, with all vehicles behind hurrying the unloading and nobody to help you from the hotel, although you have called the reception in advance. Once at the entrance, you discover there is a steep flight of stairs up to the lobby with no elevator and, again, nobody right there to help you up. Another source of irritation, was that booking through Expedia and choosing to pay in $, I was confronted with a different figure in Turkish Lira with an equivalent in Euros that was higher than the $ figure... an upsetting inconsistence. One of the porters was particularly attentive to my needs and seemed willing to help out, but he was often off duty or elsewhere in the hotel when required. At the reception most employees did not speak even a passable English and often the conversation had to be carried out with 4 or 5 people who talked among each other in Turkish and rarely got back with a response to my inquiry in English. The room, the breakfast buffet and the general upkeep and look of the hotel was a far cry from the standard of the Richmond Nua Wellness hotel in Sapanca where I'd just spent a week and was mistakenly expecting the same level in Istanbul.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. Feedback is such a valuable source of information, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and enables us to continually strive to improve our standards.I want to inform that we are giving full concierge services no matter how far the guests away from the hotel by foot distance if they need any help to carry their luggage. On the other hand our hotel is located on the İstiklal Street and we are maximum 10 meters near to the open gate which is used for all vehicles for 24 Hours. We are also arranging a special transfer or taxi services for our guest which is all vehicles available to come in front of the hotel. Regarding your comments about the payment procedure of the bill, all of our guests are most welcome to pay their bill if the cards which is provide have an option to pay as Euro or Dolar.On the other hand, we will consider your comment about the services of staff and the level of English. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards, Ulustan Muhluoglu General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mrs s k from k

Great location and good hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2014
The hotel was at the opp end from Taskim square so maybe ten mins walk. There is a tram, the Tunel and the metro all walking distance. Hotel staff were excellent. The rooms were clean and a fair size. The restaurant on 6th floor had great views shame it opens after sunset as you would miss sunset. The windows do need double glazing as it is so noisy on that street even as late as 2am. Would def go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I delighted to receive a very positive comment from a valued guest. As you mentioned, Richmond Istanbul has a unique location and surrounded by shopping, business and historical areas. I also thank you for your kind appreciations about our staff. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards, Ulustan Muhluoglu General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from London UK

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 9, 2013
My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel Richmond. Not only was the location excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was a clean quiet haven away from the busy shopping street below. The breakfast was also amazing -- fresh local produce and a ready supply of coffee and tea. The in-house restaurant also served fantastic food and has an amazing view although the waiter did not make us feel very welcome initially because we turned up without reservations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us. We thank you for your high appreciation about our unique location , the quality of breakfast and hospitality standart of our staff. We are very glad to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.On the other hand we will consider your comment about the attitude of the restaurant waiters. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, it's a pleasant stay at the hotel and Istanbul. The hotel is clean with very nice breakfast service. But the front desk (probably the manager) is not friendly, having no patience to help customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hygiene of public areas of hotel as well as you had a good experience about service of breakfast. On the other hand, customer satisfaction is one of the most important philosophy for Istanbul Richmond Hotel. We are retrain our front desk staff about the specified matters and make sure to help and to make satisfied our dear guests. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards, Ulustan Muhluoglu General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alex from Montreal, Canada

not bad, but difficult to reach by taxi

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a good place to stay; I have though two concerns. One is that a taxi driver (from the airport) was unable to bring me sufficiently close to the hotel and I was obliged to walk a long distance with my luggage. the hotel is located on a street for pedestrians. Another is that the claim on the hotel webpage that rooms have 25 square m. is a bit exaggerated. On a good side, the breakfast is really very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed to stay and the quality of breakfast. I want to inform that we are giving full concierge services no matter how far the guests away from the hotel by foot distance if they need any help to carry their luggage. On the other hand our hotel is located on the İstiklal Street and we are maximum 10 meters near to the open gate which is used for all vehicles for 24 Hours. We are also arranging a special transfer or taxi services for our guest which is all vehicles available to come in front of the hotel. Your feedbacks and comments are highly appreciated and it will improve our motivations to reach the best service quality. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from London

Pretty good stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Great location, great views.
Cons: Staff's familiarity with the area.
Location: Great neighborhood. Fantastic restaurants nearby. We took a food walking tour that I highly recommend.
My initial room was on a low floor facing a very busy pedestrian street. Staff was very accomodating in moving us. Room was good. Staff not very helpful with directions to locations. Rip-off for my airport transfer. Taxi's picked up from the hotel did not seem to take direct routes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. It was a big pleasure to read your comment about the location of the hotel, rooms and services Feedback is such a valuable source of information, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and enables us to continually strive to improve our standards. I want to inform that we are providing special transfers and drivers with fair prices for our guests if they needs and we have never face to face any problems regarding these services Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mohamed from lebanon

very clean and elegant hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: breakfast variety and cleanness of the rooms
Cons: female receptionist is not available
we enjoyed our stay in richmond food was grat and the room very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. We thank you also for your high appreciation and we are very glad to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We hope that nice memories from your vacations in Turkey will help you to get over the common daily stress. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

very nice location

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing apart from my comment about the air conditioning plant.
Location: It is close to all the shops and eating places you could not ask for more.
our only criticism would be our room was at the back of the hotel, and we could hear the air condition plant from the Russian embassy quite loud, I have to say everything else was very good I have given our friends the booklet the hotel supplies they are impressed, I hope to visit again. Keep up the good work you all do at this hotel. Alex Titherington.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. My professional team and I felt really proud of your kind feedback. Our mission is to provide the best in service and personal attention to each guest and it motivates us very much when our guests inform about their opinions. Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and I am looking forward to welcoming and to having cup of Turkish coffee together with you in the very near future. Best Regards Ulustan Muhluoğlu General Manager