Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by asmostofi from Manchester, UK

Unforgetable stay in a very good location!

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a good hotel at reasonable prices in a good location to stay on our short stop in Istanbul. Having read the previous reviews, we chose Romance Hotel and we are extremely satisfied with our choice. It is close to all local historic places in the old city within walking distance and with tram stop just outside hotel, it's convenient to access other parts of the city very easily. City Sightseeing tour buses are within 10 minutes walk from the hotel near the Aya-Sofia and the hotel location is close to places for dining out and shopping. We've enjoyed our stay in full and will return to this hotel in the future for visiting Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by r raju from usa

Near to historic sights

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
good location .old hotel but convenient. Fair service friendly staff
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mohamed eltayeb

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gojeep from Melbourne

Walking distance of the main sites

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
They looked after us well and have a tram stop only 100 meters away which we used to the airport. Walls of the palace are 100 meters away too and a great place to have a stroll and something to eat. Blue and Aya Sofia Mosques are 5-10 minutes away as well as the Basilica Cistern. A great breakfast included with 9 types of cold meats and 5 different cheeses to choose from plus pastries and usual fare too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay, Florida

A Jewel of a Find - With or Without Romance!

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my third trip to Istanbul and I was more than delighted with my lodging at the Romance Hotel - Boutique Class. A pleasant walk from all the tourist sites, it provided more of a neighborhood feel - yet one that offered plenty of life. The hotel was clean, well appointed, and truly carried the intimacy of a boutique environment. Staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful and happy to respond to any assistance I required. Breakfast was exceptional. I thoroughly enjoyed meandering the immediate area to take advantage of many local restaurants. As a final note, I'd like to report on how safe I felt while staying at the Romance. As a single traveler, I felt perfectly at ease and at home. Highly recommended. Just ask for a brighter reading light in the room :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from UK

Good hotel - great location.

Posted Jun 5, 2013
At first, when we entered, the room was smelly and it was quite small. Perhaps it is because the sewage system in Istanbul leaves a lot to be desired, but it wasn't a great first impression. But the best thing about the place is definitely the breakfast which is excellent, as there is certainly a large variety of food available (both hot and cold). We were there last week (prior to the awful riots) and it was comfortable despite it being 29C on a few days because of the air conditioning. They made our beds up every other day which was great... Overall, the stay was good because the reception staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with maps and suggestions of what to do and see. Also, if you are staying for a short while and want to see the great monuments, it is ideally located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

close to all must-see sights

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fine, except for the first night when they put us in the nosiest room in the Hotel, on the side facing road traffic. The second night, after complaining, we moved to the back side of the Hotel and it was much better for noise reduction. We could have picked an interior room, with no window, that would have been best for quietness. The shower drained slowly, as do mnay Hotel Rooms. It worked better after maintanence plungered it. The room had a sewer smell at time (even in our hallway on the third floor and the room we had on the fifth/top floor the first night. We thought something was in the shower drain that was causing it in our rooms at first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lizhee from New Zealand

Loved everything.

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very happy especially with the service and helpfulness the staff provided. I will come back again one day and I will recommend this place to evryone. The breakfast was one of the best I had in Turkey in three weeks. Room charming, location perfect to see the major sights. Rates fantastic. Yes it was an older type hotel but very charming.