Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Penetanguishene, Ontario

Garden oasis in centre of action

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The location made it very easy to access both the active tourist area as well as more local, residential areas to experience both sides of Istanbul.
Cons: We think this hotel has achieved the right balance between western comfort requirements and local flavour.
Location: Ideal location to visit most sites. Near tram and metro system. Blue Mosque is visible from patio. Tourist shopping markets within minutes of hotel.
Hotel location is ideal for walking to many of the main attractions. Quaint décor with the curios mix of east and west that defines Istanbul. Roof top patio provides fantastic views. Most appealing for us is the main level stone walled garden. It provides an oasis hidden from the street with ambiance both day and night. The adjoining breakfast room has pleasant décor with easy access to the garden. Very friendly and helpful staff available 24 hours a day. Note that this hotel does not have an elevator/lift so it could prove challenging for someone with mobility issues to try and navigate the winding stair case. However, staff will gladly assist with bags. Another note, room 303 has a VERY tiny shower so if you are tall or claustrophobic you might want to request a larger shower area. Airport Shuttle can be pre-booked and paid for at the hotel which makes for easy arrangements. All the staff we encountered could speak excellent English and made us feel very welcome. The hotel facilities lived up to the expectations we had from visiting Expedia for room comfort and location before we booked. We would return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

EXCELLENT HOTEL, قمة الروعة

Posted Sep 8, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Global Travelerfrom USA

superb location, stay if you get a good price!

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall, satisfied. great location. rooms typically small as in all 2-3 star hotels, istanbul. breakfast just average, not great. staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price and location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was fairly comfortable too and they put out a wonderful spread for breakfast. My only complaints would be that occassionally there was a horrible smell in the bathroom and the spiral stairway to the guest rooms can be tricky if you are elderly or someone, like myself, who has a difficult time with stairs due to knee or foot injuries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great service, adorable outdoor space

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at hotel Sphendon was made great by the service, proximity to all we wanted to see in Istanbul, and the beautiful outdoor space where we had our complimentary breakfast. We were only there one night but would book again should we need a place to stay in Istanbul. The room was a bit small and needed some TLC, but all that was mentioned before more than made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HFfrom London

Walk Distance to Major Sites in Istanbul

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Close to major touristic spots in Old Town
Cons: Bed mattress was bit hard for us.
Location: Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and other attractions are just within a stone distance.
We decided to stay at Hotel Sphendon based on the customer reviews and they were right. Staff were helpful and cheerful and rooms were clean and provided all we needed. Breakfast buffet was ample and fresh. We had hearty food before setting out to some sightseeing. It could be a personal preference but we thought the mattress was bit hard for 5 nights. It could be okay for a short stay though. Anyway, well recommended hotel in Istanbul. We shall return if we are going back to Istanbul in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Calgaryfrom Calgary, AB, Canada

A great stay

Posted May 22, 2013
Great boutique hotel, well located to major sites, and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emily Jane

A gem

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Except for the thin walls and hard mattresses, Sphendon was a delight. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the lobby welcoming after a long day of walking around in that brutal sun. Our room's A/C was efficient to the point of cold: we wore long sleeves to bed during our July stay. The breakfast spread was vast, with yummy, fresh [fried] treats appearing through the back door every now and then. The neighborhood is funky--a mix of boutique hotels, little shops, a tiny mosque and several very modest apartments. The traffic on such tiny, windy streets made walking an adventure. But that's Istanbul, far from our orderly Midwestern suburb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Good location, OK hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Walking distance to the major sites on a quiet street, the decor was not to my tastes but there were no major complaints about the hotel or the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne, England

A Thoroughly Satisfactory Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2011
We were most satisfied with our stay at Hotel Sphendon. The staff were very pleasant and more than helpful with our luggage and in answering all manner of questions. The room, including the bathroom, were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent with some delicious variety from day to day. We would be very happy to return.