Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

if there is a gem, this is it

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: none I can think of. we have missed Turkey in general and Sura Design in particular.
Location: Steps away from Sultanamet Square, which concentrates half of Istanbul attractions. The other half can be easily accessed by tram and connection
Reading some negative reviews from the earlier comments, I had quite some apprehension when I booked this hotel. The price won me over. But what a surprise, and a truly pleasant one, that is! The hotel is on a side street steps away from Sultanamet Square, where Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque are located. It is not a quiet street but much less traffic than the main streets and the square itself, yet still extremely close to the square or the tram station. Location is only half of the attraction, the staff were so friendly and helpful that, when we left, we felt we had become long time friends already. Wife actually took a picture together with the girls so we can keep the memory long after we have come home. The guest director Asmash (hope I spelled her name correctly) is particularly helpful, and was she sweet! I noticed some comments about poor breakfast. Either they have substantially improved it since, or I have no idea what they are talking about, because breakfast is absolutely fine, right up to 5 star standards. There were some confusion at the beginning whether our booking is this side (Sura Design) or the one across the street (also Sura something, actually belonging to the same owner). I am glad we were on this side. It has more character and more importantly, its wonderful staff! The other side seems to think it's "real" 5 star and behaves accordingly, i.e. with "due arrogance". Highly recommended, Sura Design, that is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in the heart of the city.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The room we had had to be changed because of a rain storm and water damage. We were graciouly accommodated to their 5 star hotel across the street. The accommodations were comfortable. The pool a welcome relaxation oasis in a bustling city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location & great staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Quietness. Staff. Honey frame at Breakfast !
Cons: Room doors close themselves with a huge BANG - enough to wake up the dead ! Breakfast items are replenished when guests tell staff they are empty
Location: Most things in walking distance
We had a fantastic time at this hotel. All the staff we met were simply superb - especially the very helpful Guest Ralations lady.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Sutanahmet tram station

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel is safe, clean and excellent. If I visit Istanbul again, I'll stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Korea

Very good hotel close to tram station.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel is very very nice. It it close to tram station so you dont have to worry about your heavy carriers. Breakfast is also good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Lincolnshire

Ideally situated for a visit to Istanbul old town

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Position within the old town, good beds, good shower, friendly staff.
Well situated within walking distance of old town attractions and restaurants. Nice to be able to access the facilities in sister hotel across the road for the spa and outdoor swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fiona from Vancouver, BC

I felt very pampered!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: the atmosphere, decor, amenities.
Cons: nothing
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Walking distance to major attractions (blue mosque etc.)
A stunning hotel with a private balcony off the room and beautiful views and gardens. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful. I hope to stay there again soon.
2 out of 5
by LA guy from LA

NOT A REAL 5 STAR

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The hotel is just OK. Pros: GREAT LOCATION Decent breakfast Fast Internet Nice tea time Cons: The hotel is old and worn There is NO gym facility, it has been converted to a staff cafeteria. (Everyday that I walked to the sister hotel to use theirs it was "closed") The cleaning service does not fully clean the room everyday. (We had to ask for fresh towels and complimentary water several times) The staff is not particularly nice - they are not helpful in arranging a taxi or reservation for restaurants. Overall the hotel is just OK, by no means a real five star. Only go here if you get a great deal - and are planning on spending most of the day visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice and nearby many places

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: place very good
very good hotel and accomodation extra . was nearby many touristic sites and nearby train and metro station to take you to many places
1 out of 5
by jinny from london

Terrible experience

Posted Jun 5, 2014
I felt it's a terrible hotel I have ever been ! I arrived on time and checked in, however the room was completely different from the photo and it was in "half basement floor " as i booked for the delux suit room. The bad smelly and the wall veiw in addition the room was tiny ! I complainted and they explained it was overbooking by expedia system so my room's gone !! I booked in advanced and paid already , i cannot acceptable ! The staffs in the reception were unkind . My first Istanbul trip was nightmare .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Sura Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the room size you booked. Through reservation we provide a wide range of room categories (e.g. King Size Rooms, Twin Bed Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, ). This variety of room categories offers our guests different kind of rooms with different sizes and amenities for their personal needs and convenience. We are really sorry for this complicated. We are looking forward to always welcoming you back at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel. Kind regards, Zeynep İçellioğlu Public Relations Manager