Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sami from Qatar

Nice hotel close to everything in Taksim

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Cons: toilets bad smell
Location: great location in city center. near by restaurants, shopping district. Metro station is near by. many options of nightlife. Kabatash port is close.
Nice hotel, great location, less facilities. The only problem is the bad smell of toilets. takes longer time to do check in since only one person working on counter. luckily I got a balcony room viewing all Taksim square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut

They moved us to another hotel near the one booked

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location: Taksim street, famous for shopping and restaurants and good night life.
When we arrived at the hotel and they gave us our keys, we went to find rooms different than our booking (we booked ones with bosphorus view) and they were still uncleaned. This was at 2pm at the moment of check-in. When we went down to complain, they said they have another hotel nearby and they would give us good rooms there, and they did. The hotel we moved to, had rooms as promised with a view and it was a pleasant stay, but the whole commotion and time lost for that wasn't professional at all.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by steph from houston texas

poor hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived at the hotel to check in and was asked by front desk guy when i told him i needed to check in he replied why? The service went downhill from there.Hotel advertises having balcony that are furnished. There are no balconies. I pd for this and when I arrived was informed they had none available and there was nothing that could be done. Hotel advertises having a pool which they do not.Hotel was dirty and room was not very clean. The power in our room kept going out randomly so talked to the front desk and they sent someone who spoke no english. At 3 am our room started to smell like sewage. Luckily we were checking out at 330 to catch a flight. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The service was poor and it is just dorty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by asubhiz from Egypt

Grear Location...thats it

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in Taksim star hotel during the period from 30th Dec 2013 till 3rd Jan 2014. Starting with the good parts, i'd say the the hotel location is very good. Its very close to Taksim square and istiklal street (abt 3 min). Its close to Taksim Metro Station (around 2 min). The neighbourhood is very nice with lots of Shawerma and kebab restaurants, lots of supermarkets and Cafes. The Hotel itself is good, i stayed in the deluxe room with bosphorus view. The room was number 802. It was average in size with an LCD TV, a batroom, a queen-size bed and a minibar. The seaview was good and you could directly see the Lender's tower but you have to stand with an angle. On the other hand, the disabvantages included the fact that the TV did not have any channels but do a problem with the input cable, additionally the AC was only controlled from the reception so you had to call them to switch the AC from Cold to Hot and vice versa which was very annoying. The Bathroom door was a sliding door and never closed because it always slid back open. Other than that, the hotel was ok and its location was very good. I'd Recommend room 801 cause i beleive it will have a better view of the sea.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Duhoki from USA

not as described online

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was too small. There were no bar inside the hotel as mentioned on their website.
2 out of 5
by Ajit from USA

Deceptive advertising.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Location: Location was great!
The staff tried to assign me into a microscopic room with no windows even though I had specifically booked a 'Deluxe room with a Bosphorous view'. After a lot of arguments I got a deluxe room but with two twin size beds instead of the king size bed I had listed in my booking. They were obviously overbooked and on persisting I got a room with a King bed on the 2nd and 3rd nights. Also as others have pointed out, the rooms lack a microwave or coffee maker as mentioned in the ads. All rooms do not have the balcony (my room with the twin beds had an alcove but the room with the king had absolutely nothing). I heard other customers also quarreling with the front desk about their wrongly assigned rooms and so guess it is a routine practice. Definitely do not recommend it..
3 out of 5
by Alfiya from Ufa, Russia

Good hotel for short trip.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
The location is very nice. And if you are lucky you can get Bosphorus view. It depends on who is receptionist on duty. The hotel has recently been redecorated. The normal size rooms were divided. So now you can enjoy tiny luxury room. About 12 sq.m. This thing is really disappointed me. Cleaning is not bad. The staffs are very polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near to Taksim square.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Cons: Look&fill
Pool wasn't working and windows view isn't ok for 1XX rooms. The rest is ok and good placement for Taksim,
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Glenn from UK

Read the reviews before booking

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately I was very disappointed with my stay. To mention just a few items: no working lift; the view paid for did not exist; no kettle in room (staff recommended I went out and bought one; the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi described as "on site" were in fact in another hotel and could only be used if a very large fee was paid. The location is very central but sleep is virtually impossible due to the noise from outside. Anyway.. apart from that Istanbul was great. And hotels dot com were very professional in addressing my concerns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Misleading Publicity

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was very misleading to be told in the hotel publicity that we were paying for a 40 square metre room with a view of the Bosphorous. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that there was no such room;we could either have a tiny room with a tiny tiny view of the Bosphorous or the 40 sq metre room without the view.