Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire UK

Great hotel in a very central location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and theviews from the rooftop terrace
Cons: Nothing
Location: You are only a stones throw from all the major tourist attractions including the main terminus for the city sightseeing tour buses.
Fantastic little hotel right in the heart of the old town of Istanbul. The staff are really helpful and the rooftop terrace provides stunning views across the old city. The rooms are small but this is not unusual for city centre hotels and they are equipped with individual safes and iron/ironing board as well as minibar etc. Free wifi is available in the hotel too. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is lovely and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by to suit all tastes and pockets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Simply a great Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The Ambassador is very well located and near all Istanbul's major tourist attractions - the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Badilica Cisterns, the Palace and the grand Bazaar and Egyptian Spice markets are all within easy walking distance. We arrived after having driven back to Istanbul from the Gallipoli Peninsula. The reception was first rate - we were offered a refreshing cup of Apple Tea and a slice of cake. There was no rush as all efforts were focused on us and making us feel welcome. It was a wonderful reception. Our family room was clean and very comfortable and located on the fifth floor so adjacent to the rooftop breakfast area. Breakfast was easily the best we have had in Turkey. The selection and quality of fresh foods was simply superior to anything else we have experienced thus far and when mixed with the magnificent views of both the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, makes for a brilliant way to start the day of this amazing city. A special thank you to the staff who were outstanding. I was a little skeptical of the hotel's claim regarding 'repeat business' but can now attest that we would certainly, when next in Istanbul, look at staying at the Ambassador again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, Ca.

Nice Hotel ,close to the main attractions.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Very Clean, friendly staff.
the staff were extremely nice. the room is small but clean and updated. we enjoyed the stay at the ambassador hotel and I recommended totally. Walking distance to the Blue Mosque and to Aya Sofia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, US

Nice hotel close to most important attractions

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Personnel, cleaniness and breakfast
Location: Walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, transportation, restaurants and cafes
This hotel is located in the center of Sultanahmet, walking distance to the most important attractions, restaurants and transportation. Beautiful terrace where one can have breakfast and enjoy the view of Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Rooms are on the small size but one does not feel cramped. Personnel was extremely nice and accomodating. We had an issue with the air conditioner which was quickly addressed and fixed. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

An Outstanding value.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel is perfectly located. It was perfect.
Location: You are in the heart of Istanbul. I cannot say enough good things.
The hotel has an excellent breakfast and an extremely helpful staff. This hotel has the best location of any hotel you could want in Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location & fantastic roof top view

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Walking distance to all the top attractions . Plenty to do & see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights and had a great time. We would definately recommend it... It had wonderful views from the terrace and was walking distance to all the major sights... Breakfast and reception staff were always helpful and friendly.. The only thing i could say they need improvement on is the cleaning ladies.. They sometimes lacked in restocking essentials and left the bedsheet unchanged until asked to change.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Tourist Spot

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location when your a tourist is key, and this hotel is smack in the middle of several must see places in Istanbull
Close to the trams, restaurants and a number of the best tourist spots. This Hotel is steps away from the Blue Mosque. Staff were super helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooftop view, friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: great staff, modern look, great rooftop terrace with an amazing view of istanbul in my opinion, free wifi
Location: the location of the hotel isn't great as its at the end of a dead end street our transfer got lost and we arrived later than usual
Excellent staff, really friendly location of hotel is okay as its next to trams, shops, restaurants and in between the blue mosque and hadgia sofia, everything was a stone throw away breakfast was fresh and the rooftop view of istanbul was great view from our room wasn't great but it was shaded from the scorching heat
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Istanbul is a tourist trap.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Young service staffs are helpful and nice. Desk clerks and older (more senior and experienced) staffs need training on hosting and on servicing.
Cons: Endless issues. First try NOT to scam the guests would be a good start. Second, accept the local money and not priced everything in euro or in dollars
Location: Excellent location but beware of the "friendly souvenir and carpet shops." Tourist trap written all over the place. Non-tourist related folks are nice
Istanbul is a tourist trap, and this hotel is no different. Things are confusing, chaotic and way over priced with special targets on tourists. For example, a hotel arranged transport (or any other bus transportation) from the airport would cost north of 25 euros) per trip, while the same trip can be made by metro/ train to the same destination for 8 t (Turkish money). With an exchange of about 2t per dollar (USD), the train trip would have cost $4 (or about 2.70 euros). The train is comfortable, safe and easy to use (pretty much like the Paris metro except that it is above ground, less crowded, clean and no strikers). Anything that they have to deal with tourists are scams. A guy who worked at the tourism information office at the Istanbul airport was literally yelling at a European (northern) tourist for asking too many questions and for wanting to learn about travelling options to the Asian side of Istanbul. There are many "friendly" acquaintances at almost every corners who initially greet and welcome you and quickly guide the tourists to their "friend's shops" where everything is at least 5 times the normal price. Bottom line is when buying touristy souvenirs, start by negotiating with the first offer being less than 1/2 of what the seller suggested price. It is amazing that Turkey can get away scamming tourists like this. It is a real shame. Also beware of currency exchange office at the airport! The scam start early over there. Non-tourist related transactions are OK.