Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from london

Right in the thick of things!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: All said in the above
Cons: See above
Location: You are close to everything!
Well, it is not possible to be in a better location! We went straight up to the roof terrace, and wow!, what a view. The Blue Mosque was just right there. The waiter was very friendly and helpful, and we relaxed with two beers. The room was on the second floor, and had a comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. The bath was one of this knees to your chin jobs, so we just had showers. We are both over six foot, and getting in and out of the shower was difficult. The reception staff were without exception excellent, and eager to help. There was a cafe by the entrance to the Hotel. This was noisy two of the four nights that we were there. However, it did not hamper our enjoyment , but it could be a problem if you were on a business trip, and had to get up early for a meeting. I would stay at the Ambassador Hotel again. Thank You.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location and Breakfast

Posted Apr 15, 2014
My husband and I had an excellent stay here in Istanbul. Perfect location, great breakfast and friendly staff. The rooms were a bit small but didn't bother us, didn't spend much time in it anyway. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Female traveler from Los Angeles

In Sultanahmed-Great location, can't beat it

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location. I could walk back to hotel during the day (drop of jacket, change shoes, etc) and it would not eat a big chunk of time.
Location: I the heart of Sultanahmed. Can visit in 2 minutes walk: Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Archeology Museum, cistern museum.
Cute hotel. Half a block away from the Blue Mosque and the main street. Good breakfast selection, and the dinning room is on the roof with a view you cannot beat anywhere else. 1/2 block from tram stop. Staff is very very nice and very helpful. Rooms are small (New York style) but comfortable, you still have enough room for your bed and luggage. Bathrooms are also small and not all have a bathtub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mac

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Hotel staff are very nice. Hotel location is near tram station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from USA

Very nice, very friendly hotel - great service

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Kind, attentive service.
Cons: It's a little used in the room, but it's comfortable and nice.
Location: In the thick of it, in the middle of old Istanbul, hidden away on an alley off a side street. Hard to find, but quiet though central.
Hidden away off a side street, this quiet, small, friendly hotel takes care of its guests. It's not a 5 star international luxury resort, but it's a nice small, friendly place. The staff were amazing and took excellent care of me - brought me coffee and cake on arrival after a long flight from South America via Germany, and made me a breakfast of fruit at 4am on the day of my departure for Africa. Wonderful. Personal. Pleasant. Kind. Attentive. I recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, complimentary water, complimentary tea and cake, location and breakfast buffet.
Cons: A cleaner bathroom. Also, the staff should have followed up with us to see if the shower leak had been fixed but no one followed up.
Location: Central location; close to Blue Mosque (2 mins), Aya Sofia (2 mins), walking distance to the Grand Bazar (20-25 minutes) and 1 minute to train.
The hotel is a one minute walk to the train stop and 2 minutes to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. The tourist office is also a minute away. The breakfast was fantastic. We had a magnificent view of the Blue Mosque every morning during breakfast. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. There was a complimentary bottle of water every day and complimentary tea and cake every afternoon. The staff provided extra pillows and towels. We stayed for 6 nights, and we would have appreciated it if the bathroom could have been cleaned better; and when we informed the staff there was a leak from the shower, we were told it would be taken care of, but it wasn't. Water leaked onto the bathroom floor from the shower everyday. The air conditioner wasn't working very well so we had to keep the window open. The room was very small so don't bring a lot of luggage. Not enough hangars, and the ones provided were not very good. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

You won't find any better!

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Excellent customer service! Staff is friendly and helpful. Location can't get any better. Rooms are comfortable. Highly recomended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Scottish Borders

Good hotel in perfect location to explore city

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location and stunning views from the roof top terrace. Good facilities and service from staff who made sure we enjoyed stay. Excellent value.
Cons: View from bedroom was of an adjacent building being renovated at the moment. It didn't spoil stay however.
Location: In Sultanahmet close to tram stop, ideal for visiting the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, fish market as well as wider area
Hotel arranged transport from airport and were very friendly and helpful throughout our 5 night stay. The bedroom and public area were clean with breakfast being served on a terrace with beautiful views of the Blue Mosque and sea. A good range of fresh food was provided at breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending it ahead of more expensive larger hotels on the basis of the helpful staff and wonderful location ideal for exploring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tonz66 from Houston, Texas

Istanbul Historic District

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Close to all of the sites. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast and views from the rooftop.
Location: Basilica Cistern, 2 min walk, Haga Sophia, 5 min walk, Blue Mosque, 5 min walk, Grand Bazaar, 10 min walk, Spice Bazaar, 20 min walk
The hotel was s few steps from the tram line with several nice restaurants right next to it. Walking distance to all of the great sites.The people were great. Very friendly and helpful. Very hospitable. The breakfast buffet was great and the lady who makes you omelets or pancakes was also very nice. One of the staff, Sezgin, was there most mornings to take care of things during breakfast. he always greeted us and if he saw us getting up for more coffee, he would get it for us. The rooftop terrace has amazing views of the Haga Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay there again:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Very good staff and excellent location
Cons: Showers were a bit weak is the only complaint
Location: Right between the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, round the corner from the Basilica Cisterns and on tram line
Fabulous staff, everyone was helpful and friendly. Great location, really good included breakfast on the roof top terrace! Facilities were clean and modern.