Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Difficult to find the location .

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Good experience for the tourist are coming first time in Istanbul . The stuff in the hotel are good to help for each guest .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel for major sights

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Good sea views from some rooms at the back of the hotel. Comparatively large rooms .
Cons: Provision of kettle etc along with box of tissues and range of complimentary named toiletries . Chairs and table in rooms.
Location: Good location. Just a few minutes walk to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia.
We had booked a double room with sea view. We were put into a triple which indeed had the good sea view but the third bed which we didn't need or want was jammed up against the window thereby blocking access to the window and detracting from the feel of the room . It also reduced the room size . It would have been nice to have had chairs and small table as somewhere to sit and enjoy the view but the space was taken by the unwanted extra bed..Bathroom starting to look jaded and one half empty bottle of an unnamed toiletry on the shelf to greet us didn't add to the ambience. Breakfast was reasonable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexander from Toronto

Perfect budget hotel!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose the hotel based on its overwhelming positive reviews and was not disappointing. On the contrary, the hotel exceeded my expectations! Upon arrival, I received a perfectly clean room with the wonderful view of Bosphorus! Staff are very professional and helpful. With pleasure will stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Holman from Victoria BC, Canada

Comfortable budget hotel in Sultanahmet

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Best part about the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. Emra, Nyazim (?) and Gigi did their best to ensure that our needs were met.
Cons: Showers leaking all over the bathroom floor was a minor concern for us. Better sealing around the floor edges of the shower would resolve it.
Location: The hotel is located only a 10-minute walk from the Blue Mosque and is close to the Ayasofyia, Underground cistern and other tourist sites.
Hotel Tulip House is located in the Sultanahmet, the old part of Istanbul, only about a 10 minute walk to the center of the Blue Mosque, the Ayasofya and other tourist areas. The hotel is located in a relatively run-down area of town (but remember that the city is thousands of years old), and we had a bit of difficulty finding it because some of the streets don't have signs. However the hotel itself is quite sufficient for budget-minded travelers. It's an old house that was converted into a hotel, has 16 rooms on 5 floors (climbing the 60 steps up to the 5th floor was OK for us, but could be difficult for others; there is no elevator). The rooms are spartan but serviceable. The breakfast fare was simple but ample. We had an economy room (either basement or 5th floor with slanted lower ceiling in part of the room), and it was fine except you don't get any view and there was an unpleasant odor in the basement room (we only spent one night in that room) and the showers leaked onto the bathroom floors. The rooms on the floors 2 - 4 have windows with view and some even have a small balcony. The bed was fine, and bed and bath linens were clean but well worn. Don't expect 5-star pampering, comfort and amenities. We found it quaint and enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JDogman from Australia

Fantastic Location, Fabulous Staff

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms were fantastic and extremely cheap. Well placed in the alleyways of the Old Town. Great to walk to streets and see kids running around and see Turkish people leading their normal day to day lives! Yet being so close to all the sites!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ivy from uk

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
good service, friendly and helpful staff, but difficult to find by taxi
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D. Martin from California

Cute and clean

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
My taxi driver had a difficult time finding the hotel amidst the tiny, winding streets of Istanbul, but I was glad he finally did because it was a great place to stay. The manager was very friendly and helpful, supplying me with a map of the surrounding areas. The room was comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity of the breakfast provided in the morning. The aircon did not work well, but other than that, I was very happy to find such a bright and cheery place to stay in Istanbul.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MichSpape from Helsinki

Outstanding

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, professional service
Cons: Would have liked a bath-tub in the bathroom!
Location: Very nice Sultanahmet location.
We stayed in two hotels in Istanbul, but due to some planning mishap, there was a night in between which was unaccounted for. A quick check on the internet and we found this hotel, which was nicely in our budget (£15-30 / night). For that price, this hotel is amazing: enormous room, luxuriously furnished, with large windows, a pristine bathroom, very polite and professional staff and a gigantic breakfast. Well recommended!
1 out of 5
by anonymous from Citizen of the world

just don't book Tulip House.

Posted Jul 20, 2012
The hotel is in a slum area. It is at least 4 stories high, maybe 5 without an elevator and the stairway to the top is a narrow spiral type.The manager walkede with us to the room which turned out to be an attic with a low ceiling and a roof window which made it feel like we were in an oven. By the time we reached the room my legs had muscle cramps and I was gasping for breath and sweating profusely.Even the manager who was a young,fit and slim man was sweating and panting,The thought of lugging our suitcases up those stairs terrified me in case I suffered a heart attack.We did not stay in this hotel.I decided to pay the first night's fee and look for another hotel with an elevator and in a friendlier area. We ended up in the Sirkeci suburb.This area is full of restaurants,shops and hotels.I would recommend Expedia should strike Tulip House off it's list of hotels.It is an absolute trap.